We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay and reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vallais Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vallais Villa to your Saves list
Vallais Villa
Imerovigli | Greece, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay and reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I have a nice stay there for 4 nite in White Suite (room #3). I would say its the best room in Vallais.
Firstly, its the only 1 with a separate dining room with simple kitchen faciilites, so smell from cooking would not spoil the bedroom. Secondly, its the only 1 with 2 Terraces, and really private and separated, unlike the others which can shaking hands with your neighbour. Thirdly, its not on the lobby level. There are another 3 rooms (1 is the 2 bedroom suite) on the lobby level. The lobby level is facing the public pedestrain so their terraces are always having people passing by, or maybe blocked during sunset (if some tourist stand at the road to see sunset).
Vallais is a small family owned apartment, so you cant expect any hotel services. At the time of stay, only 1 staff (the owner's son) on the shift and 1 cleaning lady only. Tholos & Astra is just downstairs, they really have a crew of staffs wearing uniform, and even with a small restaurant, but their price is double. So i dont think its a fair comparison. You cant expect too much for this cheap price. Another hotel (Grace) is charging triple (e3xx) per nite, but remember they share the same sunset view but need walk down hundreds of stair. Vallais is at the highest level in Imerovigli, so no need to worry about too much steps and stairs to take.
Stay in Imerovigli do have advantage over Fira & Oia, if you like quiet stay. Sunset in Oia, you need to stand with a lot of crowd. Not romantic at all. Imerovilgi is the only remaining location can see sunset. Imerovigli have ample carparking space than Oia. (we drive)
A group of 5 American girls from the neighbouring hotel is annoying. They speak loudly and i heard clearly, "My home have sunset everyday, Nothing worth to see"...then they keep partying, taking photo themselves with flash, while the whole island is waiting the sunset silently. (the neighbour hotel is keep having American) so good luck!
Do booking by email communication, they will confirm the discount price at email. But dont expect any pick up or car rental arrangement, they are just a small family, a local citizen. So booking other things with them wont have advantage or special discount.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
147
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

My husband and I booked 8 nights at the Vallais Villas (from May 30 - June 7, 2009). Specifically, we booked the White Suite (Room #3) for the two of us and our six month old daughter. When we arrived, Lucas helped us with our luggage down all the stairs (which included a stroller and 6 other suitcases and bags), which was greatly appreciated as it required herculian strength. We were impressed that our room (and the patio) was not just clean, it was literally imaculate and had a breathtaking view to watch the sunset each night.

It is true as past reviewers have noted that the hotel is not exactly walking distance to Fira or Oia. We did the walk to Fira (about 2 kilometres) and it is a fun and beautiful cliffside path. It is downhill on the way to Fira, with the uphill walk back to the Villas a bit more challenging, but we did it wearing our 20 lbs baby in a carrier so take that for what it is worth and do the walk (it is worth it!).

We would note that Vallias Villas in Imerovigli is probably the best place to stay on the island. Oia is too far from Fira and Fira is touristy and literally overrun with cruise ship passengers most of the day. Imerovigli is a 5 euro cab ride to Fira or 1.40 euro bus ride which is really not a big deal. We took the bus often during the day when we weren't walking and it was very reliable and comfortable and in the evenings, we took cabs. We saw the entire island including Oia, Fira, Kamari, Perissa, Amoudi, etc. without having to rent a car (which we didn't want to do because then we would need a car seat for the baby).

We also found a great grocery store on the main road towards Fira (about 7 minute walk from Vallais Villas) which had local delicacies and lots of wine, and also, an amazing bakery just down the road from there.

On the subject of bakery, we did try the breakfast at Vallais Villas (you just call and order it the night before, you can even leave a message on the voicemail) and it costs 8 euros per person. Truthfully, the breakfast was very basic (breads and cakes and coffee) and for around the same price, we bought fresh breads and fruits and eggs, coffee, etc and our made our own since we had the kitchen and then ate it every morning on our balcony.

Past reviewers have mentioned issues with WIFI, tv and the jacuzzi. With respect to WIFI and TV, they are working to rectify the problem (WIFI worked for us but it is true we had to be close to the office). If WIFI is important, just ask to be put in the rooms above or to the side of the office - WIFI worked from both rooms. With respect to the jacuzzi, just ask Lucas and he will turn up the heat for you!

On the subject of asking, Lucas and Lia would literally do anything you ask them to to make your stay perfect. They recommended restaurants (such as Imerovigli Tavern which was great), tours (we did a day long boat tour they recommended and booked for us and it was fantastic) and even found us an amazing pediatrician in Santorini when our daughter got sick.

Vallais Villas provided an amazing experience for us and we wholeheartedly recommend it - we can't wait to go back!

p.s. we flew Athens Airways from Athens to Santorini and back. It cost less than Aegean or Olympic and they had propeller planes (we flew in a very comfortable regional jet). It was a 30 minute flight and very pleasant - we would definitely recommend it.

p.p.s. subway service between Athens airport and downtown Athens is not operational as they are adding subway stops. We were told that it will not be operational until at least August 2009. There is a bus but during the day it was mobbed. Do your research!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Comfortable rooms, perfect view, good service - what else do you need to get of Santorini?=) In Vallais Villa you can find all this.
Only one disappointment - the Americans from the neighbouring hotel were a little bit loud when we tried to have a small meditation during watching an incredible delight of the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

The views from the room were stunning and the room was very nice and clean. The staff was very nice (everyone we met in Greece were unbelievably nice and helpful). The issues I had were:
1. The hotel advertises WiFi internet but it does not work in the room. If you happen to be in the room right next to the office, you can catch the WiFi if you sit outside on your balcony, otherwise you have to sit in or just outside the office to catch it. I booked this hotel because I needed WiFi so this was a huge problem for me to go down and sit outside the office whenever I needed to get on the internet.
2. The hotel advertises breakfast, but this was never offered to us. It would have been nice to have breakfast served on the balcony as advertised. It was a little disappointing to see the guests of every other hotel in the area enjoying their room service breakfasts every morning.
3. The TV didn't work. We were not able to get any channels (some came in very fuzzy, but were unwatchable). I know you don't go on vacation to watch TV, but it's nice to have the option, especially when satellite TV is one of the amenities offered.
4. The staff was gone almost the entire day before we were to leave. We wasted most of our last day waiting for them (they were supposed to be back 'in one hour' for 4-5 hours) so we could finalize our bill and arrange a car service to the airport for our very early flight the next morning.
5. The kitchen supplies were not very intuitive. We had to ask for bowls, and there were no little touches like napkins, salt/pepper, etc. We've stayed in other apartments that not only left these items but also greeted us with a bottle of olive oil and/or wine. It wasn't advertised, but it would have been a nice welcoming touch to at least have some napkins or condiments.
6. The jacuzzi tub, as many others have mentioned, was lukewarm at best.
7. The hotel is NOT within walking distance from Fira OR Oia, as other reviews have mentioned. It is possible, but it is quite a trek (especially to Oia).For a nice scenic walk along the caldera it is fine, but not for every day getting around town. We ended up renting a car, which we hadn't planned on, and they were shocked than anyone would say that Imerovigli was walking distance to either town. Plan on catching the bus or renting a car, unless you enjoy sweating in the heat all the way up that hill on a narrow (heavily trafficked) winding road back to the hotel. We didn't find the closest grocery to be very well stocked, so again, we had a bit of a trek every time we needed groceries.
8. We weren't given the room we booked. It had the same amenities, but I worked with Lia to book a specific room and when I arrived it was a different room. Again, not a huge deal since we still loved the room, but it was a shock.
9. The hotel website advertises a 10% discount to internet users, which makes it seem like the 10% is on top of the advertised prices. I guess it is already built in to the prices, because we did not receive this discount...not sure why they would even mention it if the listed prices are already discounted.

If the view hadn't been so stunning, I would have been extremely disappointed (especially for the price we paid).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent and I am so glad that we decided to stay there. I must say that we had the BEST views and if I were to return to Santorini I would definitely pick the same hotel again. The view of the Caldera was just incredible and very surreal. I think this hotel probably had the best location in all of Thera. Unfortunately we could not catch the sunset as we went to Oia to see it but we were told that the views from the hotel were even better than Oia. Lucas and Lea (the siblings that run the place) provided us excellent service and the facility was spotless. We loved having our breakfast on the balcony. The bathrooms were clean and well furnished. Rooms had a great ambiance and the beds comfortable. We hope to return there someday and hope to stay at the Vallais Villa.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

The hotel was recommended through a family member. We found the staff extremely friendly and willing to do the extra bit to make us comfortable. The views are absolutely stunning. The rooms are high quality with inroom kitchen, modern bathrooms. nearby supermarket and restaurant options make it easy for food and drink. Breakfast can also be ordered into the room. i would strongly recommend it

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Quaint and charming establishment that is perched cliffside. Our room was rustic yet very clean, with an outdoor jacuzzi tub and excellent balcony with views of the volcano, Thirassa island. Set out hereunder are some comments that I would like to make about the villa:
a. Excellent location and outstanding view.
b. Cold jacuzzi tub
c. Absent to non-existent staff from time to time, making communication difficult to very irritating.

Weighing up the plus and minuses, I would rate my experiece as neutral to okay, save for the issues with jacuzzi and missing staff at times.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vallais Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallais Villa

Address: Imerovigli | Greece, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Imerovigli, one of the most beautiful villages of Santorini, there are "VALLAIS VILLA" apartments, just 350 meters above sea."VALLAIS VILLA" consists of traditional furnished apartments with a unique view! From your private balcony you will have the opportunity to enjoy the unlimited view over the caldera, volcano, Thirassia, Oia, Akrotiri, the small islands of the Aegean sea and of course the enchanting sunset "VALLAIS VILLA" consists of 7 equipped studios & suite ready to accept 2 to 6 persons.Each has its own fully equipped kitchen refrigerator, toast-roaster, coffee-machine.Also they have music, telephone, a TV. with 2 satellite channels, A/C, safety box,free wifi, DockWe will be happy to offer you everyday service and cleanliness in a friendly and cozy atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Vallais Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallais Villa Hotel Imerovigli
Vallais Villa Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallais Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.