We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best views of santorini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arc Houses

Save Saved
You added Arc Houses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arc Houses
Malteza Square, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the best views of santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Amazing place to stay in the highest point of santorini with breathtaking views. Rooms were very clean and quaint with a lot of attention to detail with decor. Air cond and wifi were good. Small staff group who are all lovely and helpful. Great location- hotel is back from the main walking path so ultra private but still close enough to restauraunts, supermarket, bus stop etc plus only a 20 min walk into Fira. We hired quads and explored the whole island and definitely think imerovigli is the central place to stay with the best sunset views!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    28
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
116
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The staffs were friendly and helpful. At the time we arrived, it was early in the morning, so the room isn't ready for check-in yet. But they prepared another room for us to have some rest, till they have our room ready. I thought they probably have lots of vacant rooms, but turns out it wasn't the case, and the temp room we stayed in also had someone come on that day. I really appreciate their help even though it wasn't that easy for them to manage.

The room was clean and comfortable. Good thing is that there is a cooktop which you can prepare some food if you want.

The view was also quite nice from the room.

Location is not bad, but not good either. Most of the places you want to go is not around. But it is okay because you need a car anyway even if you stay in other places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in the Stone room in early June for a week and it was amazing! Imerovigli is the perfect, quiet place to stay and the Archouses is in one of the highest spots with a wonderful unobstructed view! We walked from Fira to Oia and were able to see a lot of hotels. We were glad we chose Archouses because it's much more private than other places as it is off the road and a bit off the main foot path so you can sit on your private balcony undisturbed and look at the beautiful view.
The most important feature to me in a hotel is cleanliness and Flora's team kept our room immaculate! We didn't even see any bugs.
Flora was great, very welcoming and was able to give us great information about places to see and wonderful restaurant recommendations. (Seriously, listen to her!) We were also close to a small market and bakery and were able to make great breakfast in the mornings in our little but very functional kitchenette.
There's no pool but we didn't feel it was important. You should be able to climb stairs fairly easily to stay here but that's probably true for every place on the island. The biggest danger when staying here is that your room is so comfortable and the view from your balcony is so amazing that you won't want to leave to see the rest of the island!
We had an incredible stay at Archouses and hope to return someday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I chose to stay at Arc Houses because of the excellent reviews on Trip Adviser and I was not disappointed.
My wife and I were immediately upgraded to a superior room with a stunning view when we arrived as it remained unoccupied. This was completely free of charge by Flora the owner who was an absolutely excellent hostess and very friendly lady. Flora helped make our 7 night stay on Santorini a brilliant one and she also took the time to help us by making many excellent recommendations for restaurants and interesting places to visit.
She was always spot on with all her recommendations as her knowledge of the island is second to none.
I would certainly recommend anyone thinking of travelling to Santorini to stay at Arc Houses as the location is perfect for all trips around the island.
Our Room was cleaned to perfection every day and with a fresh change of bed linen. The views from the hotel terraces are spectacular and waking up each morning to such wonderful views of the caldera was like a dream.
I have only great things to say about our stay at Arc Houses and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Thank you Flora and well done on a very well run hotel. All the staff I came across were very friendly and always helpful and kind.
Don't hesitate..book it and you won't regret it.
Brian & Caroline

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Would highly recommend. Perfect location between busy Fira and crowded Oia. Hotel was gorgous and had great service. Views were to die for. Very comfortable rooms with a private feel. Quiet, peaceful, close walk to restaurants with a market nearby so no problem to not have breakfast included or room service. Would stay there again! Loved the decor and recommendations by the owner Flora. She is so friendly and welcoming!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went to ArcHouses during the last summer and we loved it.
The service is excellent, the rooms are really cozy and clean and the breakfast at the balcony with that amazing view is extraordinary.
Additionally, the houses' place is really good, it is quiet and at the same time it is near the center, more or less 30 minutes by walking.
I recommend ArcHouses to anyone that want to spend a romantic vacations in Santorini.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We fell in love with Santorini during our trip, and one of the key reasons was Arc Houses. Ours was a last-minute trip in peak season (Aug 2012), and as expected all good places in Oia were booked out when we planned the trip. We stumbled upon this place in Imerovigli and booked it, going by the tripadvisor reviews.

When we reached this place, we were blown away by the excellent view of the Caldera from the property, as well as by the warmth of the host - Flora. We had booked a 2-bedroom suite with a small balcony overlooking the sea. The rooms were actually quite small, and one bedroom was actually like an attic above the living room. The other bedroom was further inside with no ventilation. Thankfully none of us were claustrophobic and we were happy to overlook the slight disappointment of the rooms, given everything else.

Flora was a very gracious and helpful host - she helped us make bookings and plan our days. While we loved Arc Houses, we ended up spending most of our evenings at Oia, and found that part of the town to be more action-packed and happening. But if one wants to go slightly away from the crowd, Imerovigli and Arc Houses offer a great option. We wish we had more time, and had a spare evening to just soak in a sun-set at the balcony there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arc Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arc Houses

Address: Malteza Square, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#19 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCHouses hotel is situated in Imerovigli - known for the breathtaking view to the Caldera - at the highest point of the settlement. The hotel lies 50m. from the church of Panagia Maltesa ( Maltese ) and 1.8 km from Fira, the capital of the island. The hotel offers magnificent views of the volcano, the Aegean Sea and the, undoubtedly, most famous sunset in the world.The ARCHouses complex is a mixture of traditional cycladic and modern architecture. The architect and householder of Archouses, Mrs. Flora Nastouli, has designed all spaces with much love giving attention to every detail. The fine structural lines and the quality of materials used (linen & silk) create an elegant and luxurious ambience that adds extra comfort in your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arc Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Arc Hotel Imerovigli
Arc Houses Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arc Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.