We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arc Houses

Save Saved
You added Arc Houses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arc Houses
Malteza Square, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Mumbai
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We fell in love with Santorini during our trip, and one of the key reasons was Arc Houses. Ours was a last-minute trip in peak season (Aug 2012), and as expected all good places in Oia were booked out when we planned the trip. We stumbled upon this place in Imerovigli and booked it, going by the tripadvisor reviews.

When we reached this place, we were blown away by the excellent view of the Caldera from the property, as well as by the warmth of the host - Flora. We had booked a 2-bedroom suite with a small balcony overlooking the sea. The rooms were actually quite small, and one bedroom was actually like an attic above the living room. The other bedroom was further inside with no ventilation. Thankfully none of us were claustrophobic and we were happy to overlook the slight disappointment of the rooms, given everything else.

Flora was a very gracious and helpful host - she helped us make bookings and plan our days. While we loved Arc Houses, we ended up spending most of our evenings at Oia, and found that part of the town to be more action-packed and happening. But if one wants to go slightly away from the crowd, Imerovigli and Arc Houses offer a great option. We wish we had more time, and had a spare evening to just soak in a sun-set at the balcony there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    29
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
119
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visit Greece every year and look forward to spending some time at Arc Houses. It is a special place to stay.
Firstly, the owner, Flora, is a wonderful host who radiates warmth. She is sensitive to the needs of her guests and goes out of her way to help them.
The suites themselves, with their barrel-shaped ceilings, are individually furnished to a high standard and are spotlessly clean. Bed linen is of a high quality and the mattresses are very comfortable.
This year we stayed in the Cave room on our arrival, and the Thira suite on our way back from visiting other islands. Although the cave room has only a partial view of the caldera, it more than makes up for this with its charm and cosiness. Anyway, the rooftop terrace is accessible to everyone with its beautiful far reaching views. The sunset seen from here is amazing.The Thira suite is spacious, well equipped and tastefully furnished.
We would highly recommend Arc Houses, congratulations to Flora on getting it so right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed three nights at Arc Houses. Was impressed by the view and also the service from Flora and Peggy.they were really helpful, tell us where to rent a car and which one is the best half day cruise trip. There are only five suites , so please book now if you plan to go to Santorini.

Room Tip: Mediterranean is the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived in the evening (dark) and were greeted by Flora who's wonderful hospitality helped made our 4 day stay here memorable. But the most amazing thing about the ArcHouses (and many others on this side of Santorini it must be said) is the breathtaking views. We wake up on the morning after our arrival and the vista literally takes your breath away. You go to many of the other Greek Islands to unwind, in our view, you go to Santorini for the views, which means it doesn't really make sense to stay anywhere else on Santorini except the Western side. We would return from our day excursions (hired a car and explored etc) and just sat on the balcony (with refreshments we purchased just a minutes walk away at a minimart nearby) and soaked it in.
Also worth a mention is Peggy, who does all the housekeeping - does a superb job, went way beyond and very helpful.

Room Tip: insist on a terrace with a view of the Caldera
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a great spot for couples travelling to Santorini. The location is perfect as it is far removed from the busy pace of Fira, although close enough to walk should you desire - lots of great restaurants along the way! Flora is very hospitable and extremely helpful. Her guided map and suggestions were an asset in navigating planning. Upon arrival, the porter met us to pick up our bags and bring us to the hotel. We were greeted by a refreshing drink and Flora's charming demeanour. The housekeeping was very good and timely. Our cave room did have a view, however, this was supplemented by the rooftop terrace (a great spot to catch the Oia sunset!)
Overall, a highlight of our honeymoon!
Laura & David

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

santorini island is beatiful but the place you stay is very important
arc houses is the hotel to choose
everything to know about the island is given by your hotel
And the famous sunset can be seen from your terrace

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very nice and comfy. The owner is very friendly and helpful. A spectacular view of the caldera, of course. On the whole, Imerovigli or Firostefani are the places to stay in Santorini: Fira is too loud, crowded, and expensive, Oia, does not have as much to offer, and is far away, and anything not on the caldera is not worth bothering - that view is the main reason to come to Santorini in the first place.

Room Tip: It has to have a caldera view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arc Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arc Houses

Address: Malteza Square, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#19 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCHouses hotel is situated in Imerovigli - known for the breathtaking view to the Caldera - at the highest point of the settlement. The hotel lies 50m. from the church of Panagia Maltesa ( Maltese ) and 1.8 km from Fira, the capital of the island. The hotel offers magnificent views of the volcano, the Aegean Sea and the, undoubtedly, most famous sunset in the world.The ARCHouses complex is a mixture of traditional cycladic and modern architecture. The architect and householder of Archouses, Mrs. Flora Nastouli, has designed all spaces with much love giving attention to every detail. The fine structural lines and the quality of materials used (linen & silk) create an elegant and luxurious ambience that adds extra comfort in your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arc Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Arc Hotel Imerovigli
Arc Houses Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arc Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.