We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent find !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kallisto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kallisto to your Saves list
Hotel Kallisto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An excellent find !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel was really a stroke of luck, having no idea about Santorini and not knowing many people who had visited in recent years, we took pot luck and opted for Hotel Kallisto. It was from start to finish a near perfect stay. We arrived late on the first evening and found a most helpful man in the poolside bar that instantly prepared us a fresh and delicious Greek salad washed down with a very nice cold bottle of Greek white wine. This wonderful man has been at Kallisto for twenty years and was there day and night, always on hand - I called him the Night Owl! (Be warned the local wine is good but white is generally better as the conditions in Santorini are better suited to that of white wine.)
The hotel is set high up on the Island, above Fira in Imerovigli. Apparently two words (Imero is day and Vigli means to watch), harking back to its Pirates origins, when they used to watch out for pirates. This Island does have a great history dating back 3,600 years!
Although Kallisto does not have its own restaurant, it is close to many excellent restaurants (the two to recommend our La Maison and Mezzo both five mins walk away). Kallisto offers a very good pool side menu which they serve throughout the day and night for nights you feel like just staying in!
Our room was huge, I think we may have had the largest apartment, with a sitting room filled with fascinating furniture including an old fashioned gramophone. We had a cool and large bedroom and a shower with a bath. The only downsides were the mattress was rock solid - maybe the hotel should invest in mattress toppers! and the bathroom, meant to be a wet room, was almost permanently wet! I think Kallisto would do well to sort out the plumbing and make sure the bathrooms dry faster as I nearly fell over a number of times in the bathroom in my fiip flops on the still wet floor. These are small points however, in every other way this hotel was quite simply wonderful. The most kind and helpful staff ever, always at hand and smiling and helpful. Occasionally they didn't understand my garbled English! The breakfast was served each morning on the terrace outside our bedroom with glorious views of the Caldera. There was a wonderful relaxed atmosphere and plenty of space to set up for the afternoon, either beside the pool where there was always a towel on hand. Or further down a few steps where you could literally spend the whole day, undisturbed reading a book, with the glorious views right there in front of you and a cold frappe at hand or anything you want, always available.
Fira is only a short walk away (about twenty minutes walking slowly) on the most delightful path that is unencumbered by traffic and just full of people stopping to admire the incredible views. This hotel is so well positioned, you feel at once part of the spirit of Santorini without being disturbed by the more busy aspects of tourist life in Fira.
I recommend a visit here wholeheartedly. Good tips in general are : hire a quad bike and zoom your way around the Island, or a car, if you prefer the more gentle approach. Visit the wine regions - we discovered a series of vineyards that did excellent wine tasting, and complimentary food to the wine - plus outstanding views - there is almost no where on this island when you don't get an extraordinary sunset - from different aspects. The local restaurants are very close and of a very high standard so don't be put off by Kallisto not having its own restaurant. And if you go on a cruise I would recommend the more private cruises (ie the Catamaran ) as we went on a public one which was much cheaper but involved lots of queues and waiting around in the heat.
Thank you Hotel Kallisto for a very special visit - we could not have been happier staying in your wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: In Santorini they are quite casual about the room you have booked - its not surprising to arrive ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic location with superb views, we were sent to this hotel due to our first chosen hotel cancelling on us at the last minute. We were promised a junior suite here at Kallisto however they too cancelled our arrangement upon our arrival & put us in a neighbouring apartment which was not of a very good standard. We enjoyed our stay but this practice in Santorini of cancelling bookings & moving people seems common practice, it causes stress & hassle and a bit of ill feeling. We also paid for airport transfers via Expedia but the hotel denied knowledge of this, we had to make our own taxi arrangements.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We will definitely go back to this hotel. We were a bit hesitant when booking because a few poor review but I am so happy we did. Julian made out experience fantastic. Not only did he pick us up and. Drop us off from the airport he made sure we had everything we needed to make the most out of our trip to the island. The view was breathtaking from our room and I especially enjoyed the breakfast service right outside our rooms on the patio what a fabulous way to start the day. The views were beautiful and the rooms spacious.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Perched high above the sea with panoramic views of the caldera this establishment is the ideal place for a romantic holiday.
Because of a problem with the reservation we were upgraded to the Junior suite by an ever so helpful and considerate hotel management. A very spacious and luxurious apartment with its own terrace overlooking the caldera and its own private access to the swimming pool.
Breakfast would be served every morning in our balcony and in the evenings you could enjoy your pre-dinner aperitif either there or at the bar by the swimming pool watching the marvelous sunsets of santorini.

Close to all local amenities and a number of restaurants with panoramic views of the caldera this hotel is the ideal place for a perfect and romantic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were initially a bit hesitant to book this hotel as the ranking on TripAdvisor was not that great... however, it was one of the most reasonably prices hotels in a convenient location, so we booked it anyway... and what a good choice! We absolutely loved the location of the hotel right between the (in my opinion) way-too-touristy and cramped Fira and Oia. The service was wonderful, and the hotel had absolutely AMAZING views of the Caldera! We walked multiple times from Fira -> Oia route, and I truly believe this hotel/Imerovigli is located at THE most scenic point of the whole shoreline. You have a unblocked view of the Caldera all for yoursef, and no swamps of tourists walking next to your hotel trying to take photos, and it is only a 25 min walk to Fira. The whole time in Santorini, I was feeling so happy about this hidden gem that we found, and feeling sorry for those paying much higher for hotels in Fira and not getting any views...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at the Kallisto from September 30th through October 4th. Could not have been happier with our choice. Julian and his staff made the stay very comfortable, thoughtful and enjoyable. The staff truly want to accomodate you and anticipate things you need. The room had plenty of space, amenitites and Santorini charm. It was tremendously clean and bright in the sitting area; and felt private, even with shared balconies. The hotel's geographic convenience in terms of access to Thira, public transportation and the rest of Imerovigli is unbeatable for the price. We also appreciated the ability to have airport transport pre-arranged through Julian and other assistance with our stay. I would reccomend Kallisto to anyone; especially folks who think they might prefer staying in the more congested Oia or Thira locales.

Room Tip: Our room was at the bottom level, which has a steep staircase to navigate. May want to ask when mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Kallisto for 8 nights from September 21st until September 29th. I must say that these were the most fabulous vacations for us, and one of the reasons is also the quality of Kallisto...
Everything is just perfect at Kallisto. We booked the maisonette no.8, and everything was even better than what we reviewed in internet and expected. The room was spacious, with a large living room and a good second floor bedroom. The room was always very clean and the service made it everyday after we went out.
The breakfast is also wonderful, served in the room or by the pool.
The view from the terrace is unique, and I must say it was the best we could have in the entire Santorini. The staff were very friendly and always helpful, Julian and Ilia especially. I would say they were just like old friends to us.
To conclude, Kallisto Hotel is a wonderful place for every kind of vacation and strongly advised...
Thank you Kallisto!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kallisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kallisto

Address: Imerovigli, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kallisto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kallisto Imerovigli Santorini HotelSantorini, the most beautiful Cycladic island, an island that emerged from the embrace of mother earth, an island that will spell every visitor with its unique beauty and character.Kallisto a 200 years old mansion, fully renovated in the year 2000 to be a luxury hotel. Keeping in mind the architectural tradition of Santorini, we have created a unique, luxury hotel that offers all the modern amenities. The excellent service, our fully-trained staff and the friendly atmosphere, combined with personal care and hospitality, welcomes you and invites you to discover the incomparable beauty of Santorini. Built in the highest point of Imerovigli village, Kallisto hotel offers to the guests incredible views of the Caldera and the endless blue of the Aegean sea. Focal point for daily escapes, since it's geographical position is just a few minutes away from the main places of interest of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kallisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kallisto Hotel Imerovigli
Hotel Kallisto Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kallisto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.