We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves a better ranking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kallisto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kallisto to your Saves list
Hotel Kallisto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Deserves a better ranking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were initially a bit hesitant to book this hotel as the ranking on TripAdvisor was not that great... however, it was one of the most reasonably prices hotels in a convenient location, so we booked it anyway... and what a good choice! We absolutely loved the location of the hotel right between the (in my opinion) way-too-touristy and cramped Fira and Oia. The service was wonderful, and the hotel had absolutely AMAZING views of the Caldera! We walked multiple times from Fira -> Oia route, and I truly believe this hotel/Imerovigli is located at THE most scenic point of the whole shoreline. You have a unblocked view of the Caldera all for yoursef, and no swamps of tourists walking next to your hotel trying to take photos, and it is only a 25 min walk to Fira. The whole time in Santorini, I was feeling so happy about this hidden gem that we found, and feeling sorry for those paying much higher for hotels in Fira and not getting any views...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at the Kallisto from September 30th through October 4th. Could not have been happier with our choice. Julian and his staff made the stay very comfortable, thoughtful and enjoyable. The staff truly want to accomodate you and anticipate things you need. The room had plenty of space, amenitites and Santorini charm. It was tremendously clean and bright in the sitting area; and felt private, even with shared balconies. The hotel's geographic convenience in terms of access to Thira, public transportation and the rest of Imerovigli is unbeatable for the price. We also appreciated the ability to have airport transport pre-arranged through Julian and other assistance with our stay. I would reccomend Kallisto to anyone; especially folks who think they might prefer staying in the more congested Oia or Thira locales.

Room Tip: Our room was at the bottom level, which has a steep staircase to navigate. May want to ask when mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Kallisto for 8 nights from September 21st until September 29th. I must say that these were the most fabulous vacations for us, and one of the reasons is also the quality of Kallisto...
Everything is just perfect at Kallisto. We booked the maisonette no.8, and everything was even better than what we reviewed in internet and expected. The room was spacious, with a large living room and a good second floor bedroom. The room was always very clean and the service made it everyday after we went out.
The breakfast is also wonderful, served in the room or by the pool.
The view from the terrace is unique, and I must say it was the best we could have in the entire Santorini. The staff were very friendly and always helpful, Julian and Ilia especially. I would say they were just like old friends to us.
To conclude, Kallisto Hotel is a wonderful place for every kind of vacation and strongly advised...
Thank you Kallisto!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from our stay in Santorini. We stayed at Kallisto and even though I have seen mixed reviews here and there, we really enjoyed our stay. The location for us was great. What we look for in a holiday is to explore different places and culture. So we weren't at the hotel that much. It's about a 20 minute walk to Fira. You walk through Firostefani and the views throughout are amazing. We did a lot of walking and you can catch the bus from Imerovigli. The bus stop is about a 2 minute walk so only around the corner from hotel. We walked to Fira everyday instead though as all buses stop at Fira so you would have had to get on a different bus to get to your location. We found it saved money and you can just enjoy the views as you walk.

We were instantly upgraded to Room 8 before we arrived. Room 8 was the right one by the pool. Rooms were cleaned everyday. The free breakfast that was provided we enjoyed. If you want variety you need to say. The basic continental comes with some bread rolls which are warm, selection of fruit, slice of cake, natural greek yogurt, honeys and jam. You can request for either coffee or tea and you get orange juice as well. You can ask for ham and cheese but you just need to let them know. I believe there may be croissants you can ask for too but we never did.

We didn't have any problems here and Julian was an excellent host. I'm a very organised person so had a couple of tours booked already. I know that Julian would have been able to help if we needed advice on what places to go to on the island. He was very attentive and asked us a few questions about ourselves.

Thank you to Julian for being a good host and to Ilias/Elias for serving our breakfast every morning. It's a great team here and we will back to stay if we ever come back to Santorini.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is difficult to rate this hotel. Undoubtedly, this hotel’s location is absolutely great. Fantastic views, in a quiet spot, yet not far from the main street-in other hotels in the area you need to climb stairs etc. The outside space is fantastic, especially the pool area because of the breathtaking views. This fantastic area is the biggest advantage and biggest disadvantage of the hotel:
All rooms are not the same. There are rooms by the pool area, maisonettes in Cycladic style- which I find really great- double rooms beneath the pool that are somehow similar to the former but are situated inside the caves and the suites also beneath the pool area that have different decor. The rooms by the pool are fantastic but very close to the pool; so people are swimming just outside your door. Other rooms are under the pool area, which means you can hear people, the pools’ tubes and chairs moving above your head etc. Not very clear and loud but you can’t say it is quiet either. The truth is that management has tried to do sth about this, the pool is open from 10.00 and the bar closes by 00.00. I guess there is nothing else they can do. Can they?
If you read some reviews, you will notice that far too many people –like us- get an upgrade. If they find a flaw, the answer from management is that “they got an upgrade” and that the “room has been renovated” and that it is “x meters long”. Actually the suites are spacious and are full of expensive antiques. I wish they had spent less in impressive stuff and more to other things. So to the plus side, our room had lots of space, a queen size bed, a nice shower, slippers, safe deposit box and other amenities as it is usual for its class. On the other hand, our bathroom, too, had water on the floor all the time. Our room, too, was musty. Our breakfast, too, was poor.
Especially the latter, it can easily be fixed. And when they told us we should have asked for it, I have to say that continental breakfast was practically announced to us upon arrival, that there was no form in our room where we could choose the type of breakfast you prefer, also during breakfast all trays had the same things. Anyhow I do not want to ask for it, I expect a better breakfast in such a hotel in the first place. Our bathtub also had some small holes in it that needed to be fixed. It is details like this that a guest will watch, especially when they stay in such an expensive hotel. This does not mean we did not like the hotel in general, but it certainly made our stay less brilliant than expected.
Bottom line is we got a huge room with nice décor and views and we enjoyed them both, but in which we had to splash every time we entered the bathroom, we could hear strange noises from upstairs, it was a bit musty and in the final morning we left almost hungry without being able to use the pool either as it wasn’t 10 am yet.
I hope they will consider the reviews here and use them to their benefit because this hotel has such potential and they look like people who love their business. If they did we would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: prefer the maisonettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have read some of the negative comments posted by some people on Tripadvisor, and they are really silly and untrue. The Hotel Kallisto is a first class establishment. We stayed there at the beginning of September 2013, and we enjoyed it thoroughly. All the staff are exceptionally helpful and wonderful. The facilities are all excellent, and the location of the hotel is the best in the island. there was no need to rent a car because the bus stop is nearby. We stayed with our 2 and a half year old toddler, and every need was catered for. The food was all delicious, and Julian (Ioulianos) the manager is extremely efficient, and provides excellent dining recommendations. Tips : get the big master room. lots of lovely space.

Room Tip: the big master suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located at one of the prime locations on the island, it has a very nice view about sunset and the ocean view is fantastic. Room service breakfast at our little balcony is what we enjoyed the most. Hotel helped & suggested the ATV rental at downtown, but there is actually one store within walking distance (Would suggest you rent from the nearby store, so u can return the bike whenever you want) Highly recommended you to rent on coz it's not the most convenience location on the island. Bus is available, but it's not frequent... so remember to bring your driver license!! The interior of the room is a bit outdated, but it's still quite comfy. The only problem is the piping system in the bathroom.... we had water come out from the other pipes when we were taking shower, so the floor was wet every night. Depends on how long did u take your shower, the longer u took, the larger floor area got wet. Kindly remind due to there are no fresh water available on the island, except Oia, everywhere on the island has slightly salty water from the tap (non drinkable).

Room Tip: Can request room closer to the main building, so less walk is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kallisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kallisto

Address: Imerovigli, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kallisto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kallisto Imerovigli Santorini HotelSantorini, the most beautiful Cycladic island, an island that emerged from the embrace of mother earth, an island that will spell every visitor with its unique beauty and character.Kallisto a 200 years old mansion, fully renovated in the year 2000 to be a luxury hotel. Keeping in mind the architectural tradition of Santorini, we have created a unique, luxury hotel that offers all the modern amenities. The excellent service, our fully-trained staff and the friendly atmosphere, combined with personal care and hospitality, welcomes you and invites you to discover the incomparable beauty of Santorini. Built in the highest point of Imerovigli village, Kallisto hotel offers to the guests incredible views of the Caldera and the endless blue of the Aegean sea. Focal point for daily escapes, since it's geographical position is just a few minutes away from the main places of interest of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kallisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kallisto Hotel Imerovigli
Hotel Kallisto Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kallisto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.