We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kallisto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kallisto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Kallisto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli Santorini, Imerovigli, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Master Suite for 5 nights in June 2012. The room and hotel facilities were absolutely gorgeous and it was by far the best accommodation we had on our Europe trip. The room was very luxurious and huge with marble floors, lovely furniture and an outdoor private balcony area where breakfast was served. Just up the stairs from the room is the relaxing pool area with a bar and the view from there is spectacular.
The location is also great as it is a 10 min's stroll into Fira but it was still far enough out of the hussle and bussle of Fira town so it was very quiet and relaxing. We hired a bike and found the location of the hotel ideal for exploring the island.
The staff here are very hospitable and friendly. The man who drove us to the airport at 5am still did it with a smile on his face.
We had actually purchased a deal for the Alexander Villas (the sister hotel), however upon arrival we were given the option to stay at either Kallisto or Alexander Villas. After much deliberation, we decided on Kallisto. We really appreciate been given the option to stay in the Master Suite and thank Kallisto for a perfect Santorini stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    16
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

my boyfriend and I stayed last august in this hotel. we enjoyed it so much! the staff was very friendly and helpful, and they even drove us to the airport the last day. the room was so beautiful and we were really surprised because it was much bigger than we expected. the bed was on a separate floor and we had everything in the room we needed. we took our breakfast in the room but you can also take it outside and enjoy the most stunning view! you can see nearly the entire island!!! the view is pretty awesome! the hotel is situated about 20 minutes (walk) from the capital town but that didn't made any difference because it's a very nice walk and you will find some really good restaurants! I can only recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Santorini is one of my favorite places on earth. And our stay at the Kallisto was beyond expectations. From the moment we checked in I knew there was something special about this hotel. The staff is wonderful ... caring, attentive and truly want you to have a great time. I have never been treated with such respect and care ... congratulations on your service, It will always be remembered. The room was spacious and the breakfast bountiful ... fresh fruit, yogurt with honey, muffins, croissants, as well as eggs, etc. I cannot say enough good tings about Kallisto ... I look forward to returning with my partner again and again and again ... I hope they have room for us next time. :-)
Eυχαριστώ πολύ to the staff of Kallisto Hotel!

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife, baby and I stayed here for 10 days in September 2013. We had the Master Suite which was nice and spacious with its own kitchenette and terrace, both helpful for a long-stay with a baby. Rooms were nice, a little overly furnished and bathtub could have been bigger but expectations are high for Santorini where ratings are generally 4-5 stars for quite a few places. Facilities were nice and there is a lots of tanning and pool space for the amount of units. And yes, the view is fantastic.

The part that makes the hotel is the service. Everything from the bellmen who came out to meet our cab up the street to bring our luggage to the daily breakfast brought to our patio to the cleaning lady to the front deck. Everyone is courteous, works hard to go the extra mile and gives service with a smile. Our little family enjoyed it very much and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the great reviews. The location for us was ideally located between Fira and Oia. Fira is a 10 minute walk on a clifftop pathway. It is a very easy and pleasant walk onto Fira. We found the location great and the views are spectacular from anywhere in the hotel.

This was one of 3 hotels we booked on our trip through the greek islands and it was the reservation we had the most expectations for. We were ultimately a bit disappointed.

Firstly, let me say that I would have given this hotel 2 stars if not for the manager Julian. He was very helpful and went out of his way to try to help. He is an asset to the hotel as are the barman and room services guys. 1st class. The other staff were indifferent and not overly helpful; I always got the feeling that I was bothering them.

Pros

Great location
Great views
Julian and the pool staff are great
Better than average room meal menu. We were pleasantly surprised with the choice

Cons

Being at the top of the hill, it is a bit windy
No water on Day #3 of our stay
VIP Suite is directly underneath the pool lounge which can get noisy
Another guest complained his camera was stolen from his room


So why did I give this just 3 stars?

When we arrived we were instantly offered an upgrade to the VIP Suite. Needless to say, we didn't argue. It is a beautiful room with a very private balcony on the caldera. It was breathtaking. When we went inside, we noticed the floor was damp, we thought that it had just been mopped.

When taking a shower, we realised that the shower enclosure was leaky and water ran onto the bathroom floor. The only problem is that the floor does not slope towards the floor drain. We rolled up the hotel towels to try to trap the water in the bathroom with only moderate success. Hence, the wet floors when we arrived.

We also had a bunch of Aussies in the hotel at the same time and the pool bar area (obviously) got a bit rowdy. The roof in our room is concrete and every sound from above resonated into our bedroom. This is not the hotel's fault but could explain why the VIP Suite was conveniently available when we arrived.

We also booked with Expedia and were given a 90 Euro credit with the booking to be used at the hotel spa. When we went to redeem the spa credit, we were told that the spa closed in August. Julian offered us a bottle of champagne instead. We didn't mind but it just seemed odd that a hotel would offer a spa credit when the spa was already closed.

Knowing that we had a limited stay, we had to insist on the champagne (to replace the 90 Euro spa credit when we booked) and when it arrived at was cheap, Italian and Spumante which was delivered to our room warm. On a trip to Jimmy's general store a few blocks away the next day, I found it on the shelf for 8 Euros. We felt a bit cheated.

Also, on Day#3, the water was cut to our room when my wife was in the middle of her shower. This was our check out day and she wanted to shower before taking the ferry to Mykonos. This was more of a pain than a complaint.


As I said, this is not a bad hotel, maybe we just hit some bad luck or set our expectations too high. The experience could have been better but it was not bad. Julian is great and if we did go back it would only be because of him.

Room Tip: The suite underneath the pool lounge area can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian Z, Manager at Hotel Kallisto, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Guests' comments and observations are always welcomed.
Te begin with, I would deeply like to thank you for your warm compliments towards my colleagues and me personally. We always try hard to do our best offering our services 24hrs - 7days all along the season.

Now, regarding your reservation, you had booked a superior room through Expedia.com. Official rate of the Superior 290,00Euro. We accommodated you in our VIP (Master) suite with official rate 800,00 Euro. On your entering the room, I previously informed you that the floor had just been mopped. It is not that water was leaking from the bathroom. I need to admit that water runs out the bathtub only when having a shower. So, definitely we are going to fix this out. It's a minor problem. I highly appreciate your contribution in making us improve.

Secondly, you refered to our honorable guests from Australia as " a bunch of Aussies". To tell you the truth I feel very sad when reading such phrases, which create an atmosphere of discrimination and racism among our international guests. Everyone here is welcomed regardless of his/her national origin. I know you were a bit annoyed, because our respected Australians guests used to gather all together by the veranda and had fun. I feel sorry for any annoyance and incovenience. They were more than happy because their best friend would get married.

Additionally, that room was not offered to you in order to deter you from making complaints regarding our Australians guests. I feel sorry, but you were not the only guest in the hotel. The hotel was full of guests in the middle of September. We could had well offered you the superior room by the pool area. The VIP room was only offered as a complimentary upgrade. We usually use to do so, when guests are on a honeymoon.

Now, regarding our Spa services, I feel very sorry about. We did not do that on purpose. I consider I was very frank towards you reporting that our Spa department was closed at the end of August, without presenting any other groundless justifications. It is totally my personal fault, cause I should had removed in advance our spa complimentary offer for the period of September, which was adverstised on Expedia.com. Let me clarify that spa treatment was a gratis offer, you did not pay extra for that. Kindly, accept my apologies.

Now, the champagne you mention, I feel very surprised, allow me to say that this is exclusively imported fom Italy. Jimmy's market has never had this kind of champagne. I know the guys there and I usually use to shop there. Actually, you will not find it being sold generally in Santorini. Most probably, you are mistaking it with another kind.

As far as the water supply concerned in the room, there was just a few minutes cut due to the fall of a safety button on the electric panel. Water supply was restored immediately since the first moment you informed us. This incident can well happen in any hotel of the world.

You also refer to a stolen camera from a room. I really wonder when did this happen???? I feel very puzzled about. Excuse me, but your comment is more than unfair towards our hotel. Such an incident never happened and I am very confident to say that we have never been having such incidents in our hotel. Besides, no one came to the office to report the loss of a camera. Don't you think such a serious incident would have come under my consideration immediately?? Sir, you know very well, besides you saw me on your own, that I am present at the hotel all along the day, till late at night. So, it really surprises me how you heard about such loss of a camera.

Finally, judging from your comments overall, it seems you had more a good time than a bad one. Certainly, I would like you to give us the chance to accommodate you once again. I will be here next season, so I am expecting you again to offer you another enjoyable and relaxing stay in one of our suites. In case you decide to book with us, I will certainly upgrade you in our executive suite which is as large as the VIP one and features all comforts and standards of a 5* property. It might be an alternative experience. Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Kallisto.

With all my respect and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am very picky person when it comes to hotel quality, but I can easily say that Kallisto met all my expectations. At many points even exceeded them :)

Let me begin with the views ... since this hotel is located on Caldera's highes point, the views are spectacular. (Let the pictures speak for themselves). Every morning we (me and my wife) had pleasure to wake up with amazing view of Caldera and eat our breakfast on huge patio.

Location, location, location.... this is personal preference but I usually don't want to stay on main tourist paths, where hotels are located too close to foot traffic (especially all those tourists from cruises wondering on other hotel premisses trying to take a "perfect photo"). This is why Imerovigli (where Kallisto is located) was better choice for me than Oia or Fira. We still had perfect walking distance to Fira with all benefits of close proximity to good restaurants (closest one is maybe 50 steps away) and grocery store, car/atv rental, bus top etc. Very very convenient location, quiet and relaxing.

Distance to other recommended attractions (by car) is:
to Oia - 15min
to Parissa Beach - 25min
to Megalohori - 20min
to Faros - 35min

Staff / Service .... what can I say... Julian (manager) is the engine of the whole operation :) He speaks Greek, English, German, some Polish and probably even more languages, but what is more important he is always there to help with any question or issue you might have. (Julian if you read this, ... ευχαριστώ πολύ )
Other crew members are equally nice, friendly and polite (thank you Elias for serving us those tasty breakfasts).

Hotel cleanliness ... perfect. Hotel is recently renovated, and you can see that everything is practically brand new. Towels, sheets changed daily.

To sum this up... I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone. You could probably find fancier ultra luxurious hotels on Santorini but I couldn't justify to spend almost double the price for minimal difference in quality ...and now I'm happy I didn't :)

Room Tip: I always complain when people post pictures of their rooms without telling which name/number of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian Z, Manager at Hotel Kallisto, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

Well, I don't really know what to say. I am speechless. I don't know how I could thank you for your warm compliments and your positive comments. Thank you very very much many times. I will be very glad to welcoming you again. It has been our greatest pleasure to have you here with us. I feel very sorry though that I gave you a small room due to full occupancy, but I do hope in the future you will give me the chance to upgrade you gratis in one of our large suites. Have a lovely winter and I send you all our warm island greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The place is magnificent, the view breathtaking. The best situation to be in Santorini, just 15 min.walk to Fira and the place is very quiet. The manager Julian is always make sure that everything is fine. All the employees are very nice and take care of U. The breakfast on the terrace with the view and with the nicest smile of Elias....a must. I will miss this place and for sure if I have a chance to go back, I will definitly go at the Kallisto. Thank to made my trip so pleasant xxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kallisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kallisto

Also Known As:
Kallisto Hotel Imerovigli
Hotel Kallisto Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece
Address: Imerovigli Santorini, Imerovigli, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#19 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kallisto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kallisto Imerovigli Santorini HotelSantorini, the most beautiful Cycladic island, an island that emerged from the embrace of mother earth, an island that will spell every visitor with its unique beauty and character.Kallisto a 200 years old mansion, fully renovated in the year 2000 to be a luxury hotel. Keeping in mind the architectural tradition of Santorini, we have created a unique, luxury hotel that offers all the modern amenities. The excellent service, our fully-trained staff and the friendly atmosphere, combined with personal care and hospitality, welcomes you and invites you to discover the incomparable beauty of Santorini. Built in the highest point of Imerovigli village, Kallisto hotel offers to the guests incredible views of the Caldera and the endless blue of the Aegean sea. Focal point for daily escapes, since it's geographical position is just a few minutes away from the main places of interest of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kallisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kallisto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.