We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kallisto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kallisto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kallisto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views and great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am very picky person when it comes to hotel quality, but I can easily say that Kallisto met all my expectations. At many points even exceeded them :)

Let me begin with the views ... since this hotel is located on Caldera's highes point, the views are spectacular. (Let the pictures speak for themselves). Every morning we (me and my wife) had pleasure to wake up with amazing view of Caldera and eat our breakfast on huge patio.

Location, location, location.... this is personal preference but I usually don't want to stay on main tourist paths, where hotels are located too close to foot traffic (especially all those tourists from cruises wondering on other hotel premisses trying to take a "perfect photo"). This is why Imerovigli (where Kallisto is located) was better choice for me than Oia or Fira. We still had perfect walking distance to Fira with all benefits of close proximity to good restaurants (closest one is maybe 50 steps away) and grocery store, car/atv rental, bus top etc. Very very convenient location, quiet and relaxing.

Distance to other recommended attractions (by car) is:
to Oia - 15min
to Parissa Beach - 25min
to Megalohori - 20min
to Faros - 35min

Staff / Service .... what can I say... Julian (manager) is the engine of the whole operation :) He speaks Greek, English, German, some Polish and probably even more languages, but what is more important he is always there to help with any question or issue you might have. (Julian if you read this, ... ευχαριστώ πολύ )
Other crew members are equally nice, friendly and polite (thank you Elias for serving us those tasty breakfasts).

Hotel cleanliness ... perfect. Hotel is recently renovated, and you can see that everything is practically brand new. Towels, sheets changed daily.

To sum this up... I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone. You could probably find fancier ultra luxurious hotels on Santorini but I couldn't justify to spend almost double the price for minimal difference in quality ...and now I'm happy I didn't :)

Room Tip: I always complain when people post pictures of their rooms without telling which name/number of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian Z, Manager at Hotel Kallisto, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

Well, I don't really know what to say. I am speechless. I don't know how I could thank you for your warm compliments and your positive comments. Thank you very very much many times. I will be very glad to welcoming you again. It has been our greatest pleasure to have you here with us. I feel very sorry though that I gave you a small room due to full occupancy, but I do hope in the future you will give me the chance to upgrade you gratis in one of our large suites. Have a lovely winter and I send you all our warm island greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    17
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The place is magnificent, the view breathtaking. The best situation to be in Santorini, just 15 min.walk to Fira and the place is very quiet. The manager Julian is always make sure that everything is fine. All the employees are very nice and take care of U. The breakfast on the terrace with the view and with the nicest smile of Elias....a must. I will miss this place and for sure if I have a chance to go back, I will definitly go at the Kallisto. Thank to made my trip so pleasant xxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The place is just magnificent
The view from the hotel is breathtaking
Small hotel but rooms have all the needed amenities
The personnel is extremely friendly and make you feel like home
One of our best experiences for years

Room Tip: Try to get the maisonette no 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked for a standard Double room at Alexander Villas, however on the day of arrival was given a Superior Double Room at their sister hotel in Kallisto Hotel. Room 3. The view is spectacular. We have a small seating area in front of our room. The room is spacious enough for 2. The toilet amenities are nice with azzaro toiletries.. The place easily accessible to City of Fira. We rented an atv, hence no worries with transportation but the bus stop is just a minute walk. The breakfast is a variety of breads. The hotel is very nice and comfortable. Plus you also get to enjoy the amenities of Alexander Villas as well.. Imerovigli is the best place to stay in Santorini when it comes to budget and view.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this deluxe boutique Hotel for 4 nights. We did a lot of research before we picked this hotel and it fulfilled all our expectations. The Hotel has the most amazing view and you just need to call the friendly staff in the morning when you are ready for breakfast which you can enjoy either at your room or outside under the umbrellas with the breathtaking view. The Hotel also offer cheap but very good lunch.
It’s a quiet Hotel which never got crowded and the pool area is a very nice place to recharge your batteries. Rooms seems like they are brand new and everything is as you expect at a Hotel of this standard. The Manager Julian is very friendly and helpful and had a lot of insight regarding nice restaurants and things to do.
The Hotel also offer massages, pedicure, manicure etc. We both had a great massage at the Hotel. Check it out as the prices and quality is spot on.
We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: We had a room close to the pool area (there are 3 of those). We can highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian Z, Manager at Hotel Kallisto, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your warm comments, we higlhy appreciate it. It has been a pleasure too for us to have you here at Kallisto. Of course, we will be very glad to welcoming you back again. My kindest greetings to your family and of course your very beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fagerstrand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Absolute fantastic location and a better view then Fira/Firostefano. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The room was very good, spacious and clean. Very good breakfast and small thing to eat during the time with an exelent pool. We have been in Greece many times including Santorini and we ask ourselves, why didn't we discover this before?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is all about the view, everything else is just average.
Our room was okay but was damp and in desperate need of updating, we were actually under the pool and could hear every little noise from the pumps and pipe work, everyone's voice was amplified because of the cave like rooms- noisy American drunk tourists shouting and screaming at one in the morning which carried on for over an hour did not help, the management should keep a closer eye on this.
Breakfast was cakes and that's it.
Again the view was just amazing but the total package was not great at all, thankfully we were only there a few days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian Z, Manager at Hotel Kallisto, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to mention that we take into serious consideration all of our guests' comments.

Regarding the room, you mention it as damp and desperate in need of updating, but I also need to say that a major rennovation has been made 4 years ago, turning the hotel into a luxurious boutique design property.
Secondly, the room we accommodated you in and the rest members of your family is about 65 s.q, features a large bedroom, a spacious living room, marble floor, sound- proofed.
The hotel is at the highest spot in Imerovigli, and both the village as well as the hotel are very well-known for the harmony and calmness, away from the noisy city-center.

Considering the drunk tourists as you refer to, we are not talking about youngsters, but about mature adults about 50 years old, which all they did is having fun at the pool area and enjoying the view at night. The american tourists are our honourable guests as you of course, and they were not drunk at all, they were just chatting, smiling, catching the night views from our veranda and that was all about it. Besides, I was present there and I informed them not to chat that loud since you had your little kids and you were upset about.

The last one I need to mention is your comments considering our breakfast. Our breakfast does not really consists of "just cakes" as you mention, but also, croissants butter and chocolate, cheespies, ham, turkey, lots of marmelade flavours, yoghurt, juices, honey, fresh breads made every morning and of course, in the room you had a menu with a fully american breakfast, but as far as I am aware of you never made use of it. Your breakfast basis actually was a continental one.

Thank you,
My best regards and respect to you and your family.

Hotel Kallisto Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kallisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kallisto

Address: Imerovigli, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#19 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kallisto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kallisto Imerovigli Santorini HotelSantorini, the most beautiful Cycladic island, an island that emerged from the embrace of mother earth, an island that will spell every visitor with its unique beauty and character.Kallisto a 200 years old mansion, fully renovated in the year 2000 to be a luxury hotel. Keeping in mind the architectural tradition of Santorini, we have created a unique, luxury hotel that offers all the modern amenities. The excellent service, our fully-trained staff and the friendly atmosphere, combined with personal care and hospitality, welcomes you and invites you to discover the incomparable beauty of Santorini. Built in the highest point of Imerovigli village, Kallisto hotel offers to the guests incredible views of the Caldera and the endless blue of the Aegean sea. Focal point for daily escapes, since it's geographical position is just a few minutes away from the main places of interest of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kallisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kallisto Hotel Imerovigli
Hotel Kallisto Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kallisto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.