We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam artists, stay far away!Particularly for a wedding!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Maltese Estate Villa

Save Saved
You added La Maltese Estate Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maltese Estate Villa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Scam artists, stay far away!Particularly for a wedding!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We did not stay there.We went there for a wedding.The reception was there. I needed to contact the bride before the wedding,left a message,but was not passed on to the bride.First hint of what was to come!
At first view, the place is indeed beautiful, flowing long white sheets in the wind, wonderful sunsets in the caldera, soft-spoken staff dressed in white like in some yoga or spa retreat.Those were first impressions and they were positive.
The reception though was a disaster.I felt sorry for the newlyweds and their families,who came from overseas to have a beautiful Santorini wedding, paid a lot of money for the reception only to be taken by this establishment.
The service was ridiculous. We were there from about 6.30 and dinner did not begin until 9 and even then, some people were getting their awful appetizers while others were being served dinner.Dinner did not finish until about 11.30pm. and most of it was left untouched by the guests, who decided,en masse to go to Fera town and have some souvlaki for dinner. Everyone was famished.The bride had asked for tomato soup and we got tomato juice.She had asked for fish and they presented guests with a thin jelly concoction of about 1 almond size sliver of fish on it. She had asked for stuffed tomatoes,the traditional Greek way,she got tomatoes stuffed with only onions which nobody touched.She asked for fillet mignon, she got raw meat served, blood dripping which nobody touched, and which they refused to cook a bit more. The bartender refused to mix drinks and served only drinks straight (no limit, but the person likely was not a real bartender,that is why he did not serve mixes or else he would have)
All of a sudden most staff,at the reception,was no longer nice or accommodating,but absent and mouthy when around.
They allowed about 1 hour of music, they had lost the microphone so no speeches until it was found 2 hours later, and they did not play the music the newlyweds agreed to play.
What a disaster! Especially when these people got prepaid in full by the newlyweds and from what I heard, they had paid an awful lot of money for nothing but hot air....
It is very overpriced, there are other much better places around as I saw,at much less money and better food and service.This place is overpriced and there is no good food or service after you pay your money. WE subsequently talked to other couples that had a similar wedding experience there but it was too late for our friends wedding which they will remember for all the wrong reasons.This place is apparently favoured by wedding planners from overseas,who I am sure get a big cut or else they would not be promoting this dump.Everything is prepaid,so they dont care,so anyone getting married, take my advice,stay away.....You will regret it if you dont!I dont understand any of the positive reviews on the hotel, their expectations must be very,very low or they have no travel experience,I dont know what else to say...

To the newlyweds who had their weddings there, I am sorry for the awful experience you had, but speaking from my heart, your guests will not blame you and are thankful to you for including them to your wedding. The blame falls entirely on the maltese hotel and the wedding planners who should do a more accurate hotel search for such important occasions.

Room Tip: This hotel does weddings 3-4 times a week so regular guests would likely not get peace if they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    34
    15
    9
    24
See reviews for
26
110
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our room has a good view of the caldera, clean and comfortable, all the basic necessities was provided, i give this hotel a 4 stars.
The waitstaff are friendly and accommodating, they let you feel your home
Breakfast food hmmmm are limited , and often i ended up knocking at the kitchen door at 7AM to wake up the stay in cook for my coffee.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

La Maltese should never have been rated by the small luxury hotels network. We were suckered in by the relation, and our experience was the opposite of luxury. Not only was our room not available, not only was there a foul odor in the room they gave us (that did not have a view which we booked), they booked the common areas for weddings, and left paying guests with no use of the pool or outdoor areas. 3 of the 4 nights we were there they hosted weddings. The sales department will sell anything, but trying to get them to credit your account is impossible. We were promised a credit 2 months ago, and they are completely unresponsive. AVOID!!! Your health and vacation are worth more than a low price!!!

Room Tip: choose NO room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just want to confirm Mr Allen story as we were the honeymoon couple, being booked out was a blessing, also we had pre-booked the special menu for our second night which was all confirmed and when we turned up they said they were no longer doing it, although I have no complaints that they booked us into a superior hotel and paid for the dinner in our hotel that they couldn't provide I would never stay in this hotel ever in my life

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Re: Amit G comment. The same happened to us. We had booked 2 suites as one couple were on honeymoon. On arrival we were told the same - sorry we are double booked. That was the best thing that could have happened to us. The situation of La Maltese is bad and although it looks good in the photographs you will be disappointed to see the place with your own eyes. What about the power cables that cross the sea view and the building works next door or the very tired look inside. They are careful not to show those. Fortunately we were moved to a REAL 5 Star Hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strombeek-Bever, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

For 3 days we have been enjoying La Maltese thanks to the brilliant staff!
The host welcomed us as if we knew her for years. She is the type of person who is friendly but not in a "played way"; you can feel she is honest!
We stayed in the suite with semi private pool which was very nice! Very clean, nicely furnished. The only thing we missed was wardrobe space as the present wardrobe is a bit tiny.
Although our room didn't have caldera vieuw the large balcony is just two steps away from where you enjoy the breathtaking view while enjoying a delicious breakfast!
Breakfast was a blessing; all fresh and well prepared. We loved the fresh fruits!
We had dinner twice and want to recommend it to everyone. The chef is brilliant and food just nice!!
It was the beginning of our stay at the cyclades and were more than happy to start at La Maltese!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room with semi private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had booked two of their 2 bedroom suites so that our entire family could stay there. ( 4 adults and 4 kids). It was a prepaid rate with no cancellation directly booked through the hotel. Upon arrival at the hotel at 9 pm at night after a long days travel, we were informed they had no rooms for us due to an error in their booking system. ( they had know of the error for several days but no-one had bothered to contact us). Eventually at 11.40 pm they shift half our family to another hotel a mile away and give us a single room with the most uncomfortable sofa bed to sleep on.

In the morning they agree to reimburse us back some of the money but we are told that we will see the credit in a couple of days. We end up staying at the hotel for 2 more days as in the middle of August there were no other options in Santorini. It has now been almost a month since we stayed there and we are still waiting for our refund. They refuse to answer to emails.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maltese Estate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maltese Estate Villa

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#23 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maltese Estate Villa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Maltese Estate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maltese Hotel And Restaurant
La Maltese Estate Villa Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maltese Estate Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;