We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Relaxing Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Afroessa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
New York City, New York
1 review
“Beautiful, Relaxing Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon here while we were in Santorini. The property has amazing caldera views, and from what we could tell, all rooms had some kind of terrace or patio on which to sit and relax. All of the staff were incredibly kind and helpful, and helped us organize transportation to/from the ports and airport, and coordinate a boat trip to the volcano. One thing to note is that Imerovigli is a bit of a walk from Fira (the main town) - we liked that, since it meant tons of peace and quiet, but just something to keep in mind. There is ample transportation (bus and taxi) between Fira and Imerovigli, however, and the walk itself is along a beautiful, completely car/bike-free old road along the caldera.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, all the rooms are excellently located, but we stayed in room 8, which was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
284
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed 4 nights during the 2nd week of May. This is a great place if you don't want to be around a lot of people & hustle, bustle of the town.We were also here before the tourist season really begins. 2 out of the 4 days we had beautiful weather; the other 2 were chilly, but didn't stop us from having fun! It's a nice stroll to the city with lots of great restaurants and shops. The views and sunsets are truly AMAZING!! - especially relaxing on our patio with a glass of wine.
The shower took getting used to. The city doesn't allow solar panels, so we had to turn on a water heater 10 minutes before we showered. :( You cannot drink the water out of the faucet; only drink bottled water.
Joanna is a doll!! We all hugged & kissed each other goodbye! Joanna found out it was my husband's birthday in the late afternoon when I asked her for a dinner suggestion. She said I should have told her the day before so could've baked him a cake! Instead she sent a bottle of wine to our room. She always greeted us, helped make reservations, etc. Eddie couldn't do enough for us - from carrying our luggage, directing us to certain places, & serving food. Hara was also helpful in the office.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to any pathways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at Afroessa. Loanna, the manager was wonderful! She made went out of her way to make us feel welcome our entire stay. Our room was spacious and clean with a small kitchen and a gorgeous view. The room, pool area, and property were much nicer than the two places the rest of our family stayed. We would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a great getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a private balcony as the other rooms are near the pool or main walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Well, you've read all the reviews, and 99% of them say it fantastic! and 99% of the reviews are correct, so there is no point in me telling you that the views are out of this world, the customer service is second to none, so al I can do is offer a little advice on how to get the best out of your stay.
We initially booked through a price comparison website, and it was a good deal, but when I spoke to Joanna, we got a more favourable deal, happy days.
Joanna asked us if we needed transport from the airport (€35) there are less than 40 taxis on the island, and at peak times are like gold dust ( €40 each way) so booked through Joanna, when we got to Santorini, our transport was waiting for us, happy days, it was an immaculately clean minibus, nice chap and very friendly. Got to the car park, 2 lads from the hotel waiting for us to carry our bags down, checked in, offered lots of advice on restaurants near by, trips and tours etc.
Our room was lovely, watched the sun set every night from our balcony with a nice glass of wine, FAB!
Had breakfast in the room most days, €10 for a continental breakfast, happy days, worth every cent.
Had a drink at the pool bar, Edi is a really nice young man, knocked up a jug of frozen cocktail and took a drink round to everyone round the pool, very nice!
Nipped into the new bar for a quick drink before we went for a meal, complimentary cheese, tomatoes, olives, bread etc, (very nice).
The cleaners did a fantastic job, and it was near lunchtime before they would ask if they could clean our room, thank goodness a hotel has finally worked out that we don't want our room cleaning at 9am every morning whilst I am on holiday.
Every time we passed reception, whoever was on duty, they would always come out and say hello, a very nice touch.
I know my review is a little wordy, but, I hope my tips will help you to book your stay at the Afroessa at the best price and get you there with the minimum of fuss. But for the avoidance of any doubt, the Afroessa is one of the friendliest and most relaxing hotels we have ever stayed and would return without a doubt.
Thank you Joanna and team, you are doing a fantastic job.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon and never wanted to leave. From the second we got out of the car we felt like we were stepping into a dream. The view is breathtaking and the location is private and romantic with the best view of the sunset anywhere on the island. Joanna made us feel welcome and like part of her family from the moment we arrived. She told us everything we needed to know about the island and even gave us tips for our next stop on the vacation. The view from our hotel bed was incredible and we loved staying right by the pool and having our own bartender at our disposal and breakfast on the balcony. The rest of the staff was also amazing and helped us with everything we could possibly want or need. If you're visiting Santorini look no further than Afroessa for your stay. You won't regret it and you'll never want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just stop looking and book now...if there are any rooms left. Of all the places my husband and I have traveled, this was by far and away our favorite stay EVER. Ioanna and her staff run a fabulous boutique hotel with quintessential Greek style and world-class service. Let me begin with the location. This hotel is an old winery they converted in 10 picturesque rooms built into the side of the cliff. It's right along the "Old Path" and it's about a 25-30 minute walk to Fira and about a 2 hr walk to Oia (we actually made it in 1:40-45 each way with photo stops and it makes for a perfect activity), but we thought it was ideal...it was quiet (away from all the tourists in Fira) and even though we were right on the path, it was low season so foot traffic past our room was minimal, and we loved our room location (room 6) -- but we were still easily accessible to great restaurants and coming from NYC we didn't mind walking at all. Ioanna and her staff take care of everything...they arranged our airport transfer, booked our catamaran tour, recommended restaurants and made reservations each night and booked our ATV rental. Each morning we called up for breakfast and a delicious spread arrived on our terrace 15 minutes later. In the afternoons, they open the poolside bar for happy hour, which we certainly took advantage of, but we always made sure to be back on our terrace with a glass of wine for the most incredible sunsets we've ever seen. Supposedly Oia is the place to be for sunset, but the location of this hotel just might have that town beat. It was truly perfection every night. Even though Afroessa was completely booked while we were there, it was quiet and completely relaxing...it often felt like we had the place to ourselves! I really can't say enough about our incredible stay at Afroessa, but I think the ultimate compliment is to say that despite our long list of travel destinations, we're already talking about when we'll be back!

Room Tip: For extra privacy, the higher up rooms are further from the pool area and Old Path so may be worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburgerhof, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have just come back from a truly great holiday on Santorini made extra special by staying at the Afroessa hotel. A beautiful "boutique" hotel where attention to detail really makes the difference. Ioanna and her team work tirelessly to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible, helping to book trips, cars and recommend good restaurants. The view from the hotel is amazing and in Imerovigli you are away from the crowds but close enough to both Fira and Oia to find great food, walks and scenery. I would recommend this hotel to my best friends and family - what better recommendation than that is there......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afroessa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.