We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great experience !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Afroessa Hotel to your Saves list
Afroessa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Limburgerhof, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A truly great experience !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have just come back from a truly great holiday on Santorini made extra special by staying at the Afroessa hotel. A beautiful "boutique" hotel where attention to detail really makes the difference. Ioanna and her team work tirelessly to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible, helping to book trips, cars and recommend good restaurants. The view from the hotel is amazing and in Imerovigli you are away from the crowds but close enough to both Fira and Oia to find great food, walks and scenery. I would recommend this hotel to my best friends and family - what better recommendation than that is there......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
301
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Afroessa I'm convinced must be one of the best hotels on Santorini. The view is without question stunning, not to mention the facilities and the rooms, which were equally stunning.

The service provided by the staff was phenominal. We arrived at a crazy 6am in the morning and the staff there worked wonders to ensure we were well looked after after a very long flight. They went above and beyond what I would have expected.

We travelled to Oia and believe me when I say, booking in Imerovigli was one of the best decisions we made on our trip. Views without the hordes of crowds. Loved every moment and would stay again at the hotel in a heartbeat.

Thanks Afroessa for everything!

-Matt & Kristy

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Joanna and her staff were very helpful, booking a different restaurant every night and suggesting ones with a view, carrying our suitcases, and always there for anything we needed. There are only 10 rooms and we ate breakfast each morning on the little verandah outside our room. As Fira and Oia get very busy around lunch time with day visitors off the cruise ships, we were very happy to come back to our Imerovigli and have a delicious Tuna salad on our balcony, that the Afroessa staff made for us. We would of had dinner there also as the view is so lovely, but they only do breakfast and light lunch. Pool area rooms could be less private in high season.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better than down by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We just returned home from spending four nights at Afroessa and as others have said, the hotel is amazing. When arriving, as we awestruck as we reached the entrance of the hotel (at the top of the cliffs) and saw the view of the caldera for the first time. It really is one of the most beautiful places we've ever been, and Afroessa is built quaintly into the side of the cliffs and takes full advantage of the location. The hotel is on the smaller side (10 rooms total) and each room is unique. We stayed in a "studio" room, which was a little small, but more than adequate for a couple, with a comfortable bed and a cool/modern design, though the best part is waking up in the morning and opening your windows to look out over the caldera. Beyond that, the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating and make you feel at home right away. Joanna and Eddie were the best, always happy to answer questions, make dinner reservations or bring food or drinks to you in the room or by the pool. They even welcomed us with a complimentary glass of wine when we arrived, which made the first sunset there all the more incredible. Overall, Afroessa was definitely one of the best stays of our vacation and will be highly recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Overall, it's hard to find a caldera facing hotel at this price point but over priced for the level of quality

On the plus side, the hotel has a great view of the caldera. Also, it's location makes access to Thira / Oia fairly easy

However, the service we received was not that great. Although we had told the hotel we were arriving at 6.00 am after 24hrs of flying there was no one to check us in until the cleaning staff arrived after a few hours. Calling the 2 after-hours emergency numbers also made no difference as no one picked up. Not happy start!. Also, the hot water quality was patchy at best (even after leaving the boiler on for a long period before hand)

As a tip, ensure you organise transport (this was organised via a local hire agency which was cheaper) as public transport isn't that regular in case you want to get around Santorini

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Afroessa Hotel. The staff and owner were incredibly friendly and helpful. They made reservations for us for dinner, gave advise on what activities are worth doing and organised a rental ATV for us. The hotels location in Imerovigli was ideal, on the old road between Oia and Fira and much quieter than both. The views from the hotel are spectacular and we spent every evening on our balcony watching sunset. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Santorini!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The sunset in Santorini is magical and the Afroessa hotel was the perfect place to watch it from. Such a lovely place to stay. We has a beautiful little balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Even though the hotel was full, it always felt like it was our private pool. Guests came and went very quietly, so it all felt very personal. We stayed in room 10. It was small but it had everything we needed - safe, hairdryer, fridge, aircon, even an electric blanket should you need it. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Joanna, the owner, was simply super. She made every guest feel special. She is very proud of her hotel and it shows in every detail. The omelette breakfast was to die for, with homemade bread, local feta and freshly squeezed orange juice. A great start to the day. We cannot rate this hotel enough. If you want a real rest from the stresses and strains of life, this is the place to stay. We stayed for a week and found just enough things to do to balance sightseeing and truly relaxing. Take a walk to Oia along the coast or take the cable car from Fira down to the harbour. Be prepared for a hot hike if you visit the volcano and don't go to the hot springs unless you are a good swimmer.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea and the sunset. There is not a bad room or view. Room 10 is small but p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#11 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Escapio, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afroessa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.