We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Afroessa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The owners built and run this hotel and it shows. Their professionalism and dedication to their guests creates the perfect setting to fully absorb the stunning views.
The Afroessa is at the right hand end of the hotels at the top of the Caldera View 'Ridge' so you look out at an unspoilt natural view.
When you walk past other hotels you see many people just sat on their terraces staring at the views. It is addictive and we found ourselves getting up in the middle of the night just to check it out.
To fully enjoy it you need the quiet enjoyment provided by staff such as Joanna and her team. Memorable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
274
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Afroessa for 3 nights and we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location is quite good as it is situated quite close to Fira and Oia. The staff in the hotel were very nice and helpful. They gave us very good suggestions on places to visit, beaches to swim etc. The view from the hotel is simply amazing, best views can be enjoyed from the poolside. All amenities are available near the hotel - pharmacy, super market, car and bike hires, taverns (Anoghi tavern situated 3 minutes away is highly recommended) etc. We had continental breakfast included in our room rates, which was quite decent. The landscape around the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are quite traditional and cute, which ensures a very authentic Santorini experience. We had booked the 'room with sea view balcony', the only thing that we did not expect was that the balcony wasn't in a private enclosure but instead out in the open and all people passing could watch us, but this seems to be the common architecture across Santorini, so cannot really complain. Overall, I would recommend this hotel highly as it ticked most of the boxes for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

An excellent hotel and Ioanna and her crew were great. Imerovigli was also a great location. Having stayed in Santorini before, it was nice staying a bit quieter place (compared to Fira and Oia). Just a 20ish minute walk downhill to Fira or a short bus/transfer ride to Oia or Fira. The rooms were great and would stay here again the next time I'm in Santorini.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Words wont do this gem any justice. Its truly wonderful in all respects. Thank you to Johanna and all the lovely staff here. Its always an absolute pleasure to stay.
Thank you once again, from Vince and G adventures

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel took our breath away. After much walking and sightseeing on Santorini, I am confident that the Afroessa offers one of the best views, if not the best view, on the island. We enjoyed a beautiful sunset from our balcony every night; one night with complimentary glasses of wine and snacks offered to us by the owner.

The hotel itself was kept meticulously clean, and its white-washed style is picturesque. Our room (No. 1) was both large and charming. It included a kitchenette with a fridge, which allowed us to make our own breakfasts and lunches. We also made much use of the large, breezy balcony each day.

The pool was refreshing and the lounge chairs were comfortable.

The staff was very helpful. They provided us with a hand drawn map of the village, arranged a tour of the volcano and hot springs for us, and allowed us to store our bags and use the pool while we awaited our evening ferry departure.

The only downside of this hotel was that it made all subsequent hotels seem disappointing!

Note: The Afroessa was difficult to find from the public bus station. Also, the public buses run behind and only infrequently to the port where one catches the ferry. Therefore, even though I am a big fan of public transportation, I would DEFINITELY recommend arranging an airport shuttle.

Room Tip: Go for room number one! It's the highest up and the farthest from the pool, but it also seemed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 12 nights staying at Afroessa Hotel on our honeymoon and can honestly say it was the most perfect choice for our trip. The location in Imerovigli is great, the view of the Caldera and sunset from our balcony was stunning, second to none on the island, and there are some lovely local restaurants. The local area is very peaceful and relaxed, but it is a nice 30 min stroll away from the main town in Fira if you want something more lively - we didn't hire a car or scooter for the whole time we were on the island and got on fine with walking and using the excellent bus service around the island to places like Oia and Perissa.
The main plus point about this hotel however is the personal service provided by Joanna and the whole staff at the hotel. It has a small, intimate feel and everyone was so helpful - the rooms are immaculately clean, the bar staff by the pool are great, and Joanna gave us some consistently excellent recommendations for things to do and places to eat, and was more than happy to make bookings and reservations for us.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough for the perfect views, the wonderful staff and the great experience you will have if you choose it. 5 stars!

Room Tip: Our room (2) had an amazing view from the balcony but all face out onto the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London mum
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked the Afroessa after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and were full of hope that it'd be as good as all the write-ups said. It was. Completely and utterly. The Afroessa has the most breathtaking views of the Caldera and no matter where else we were told to see the sunset from (Oia, Fira or even to the south of the island), there was no better place than from the balcony of our room at the Afroessa. Stunning, quiet and uninterrupted views (we also saw a green shooting star on our last night - hope you see one, too!). Not only was the room amazing, but Ioanna and her team were fabulous, too - there to give great advice on what to do/how to make the best of your time there/what to do instead. The Afroessa truly deserves its great ratings. I wanna go back! And you will, too!!!!!

Room Tip: We didn't see any of the other rooms but were in room 7 (a suite) and it was definitely worth ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afroessa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.