We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best view in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Afroessa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“the best view in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. The location of the hotel is very beautiful in terms of the view of the Caldera and over to Oia and the sunset. However it is about 25 minutes walk from town, so if you prefer to stay somewhere for the view, rather than being in the hustle and bustle, i would recommend hiring some means of transport e.g. scooter as we did. The rooms in the hotel were a bit dated, but that didn't matter as we spent most of our time by the beautiful pool, or wandering around either of the two main towns (Thira or Oia). There is no restaurant in the hotel (although breakfast is available at an additional cost), however there are some very nice restaurants within 10 minutes walk of the hotel. This is definitely a hotel for couples looking for an extremely peaceful and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
272
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

i arrived in the middle of august in the same hotel for one more time. we are a Greek couple and we visit the same hotel by far. it is very clean, very quit, and in the best place of kalntera with excellent view. the price is really worthy in compare with the nearest hotels. the managment is really friendlyand very helpful. of course i come in the next year, congradulations miss Gianna! dionisia

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wysall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Maria and I have travelled extensively throughout Greece, but had never been to Santorini until this year. We booked the Afroessa on the basis of reviews, like this one, and the hotel certainly lived up to them - so many thanks to the other kind reviewers who helped us to find an island and hotel that we will certainly return to again and again.

The hotel is beautifully positioned overlooking the caldera, the owner Ioanna and her staff are courteous, knowledgeable and pleasant, the weather fantastic. We had a great time and you will too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Afroessa is a wonderful hotel in Imerovigli, the views are second to none and the sunsets from our balcony were amazing - every night! Ioanna and the staff at the hotel are awesome, very helpful and knowledgeable. Ioanna helped us with anything and everything we asked her. Any recommendations she gave us, be it a tour guide, a place to hire quad bikes or a restaurant - they were all spot on! Compared to our other friends who stayed at different hotels on the island, Ioanna and Afroessa were by far the most helpful! She also organised pick up and drop off from the airport as well, which I highly recommend you do organise through the hotel. Taxis are not the most reliable here...

The hotel is fresh, clean and well looked after. You have all amenities you need, including free wifi in your room, as well as by the pool. The pool is great, big enough for a bit of a swim and very deep. This is not the case with all hotel pools in Imerovigli. The breakfast served is wonderful as well. I do recommend you eat at the hotel as it was difficult to find any breakfast places in Imerovigli, unless you're happy with toast only. Afroessa also has a simple all day menu of salads and sandwiches, great for lunch by the pool.

Afroessa is located on the outskirts of Imerovigli, which gives you uninterrupted views of the caldera, ocean, Oia and the marvellous sunsets. Where Afroessa ends, there's only rock. No other hotels below or in front of you. Imerovigli is really small, so being on the outskirts is not a problem or a long walk or anything like that. Due to the hotel being perched on the cliff there are some stairs you'll need to climb. Anyone with normal fitness levels can easily do it.

If we ever go back to Santorini, we will stay at Afroessa again for sure. We loved every second of our week there and we felt so very well looked after. Highly recommend this wonderful place!

Room Tip: Go for a room with your own balcony, or pay a little more for one of the apartments. All rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Santorini is the most amazingly unique island and Afroessa is in the best spot to make the most of all the island has to offer. Perched on the cliff edge of the highest area, the views are the best! We stayed in Oia for a few days afterwards and although we loved that as well, Afroessa had better views of the overall island and especially the sunset. It also has access to better walks- and you need to be prepared to walk/climb stairs if staying here. The walk to Fira is absolutely gorgeous as is the walk to Skaros rock. Service was excellent and highly recommend for energetic couples especially.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Imerovigli's height makes it the best place to see the view of the sea, caldera, the island and the sunset. It is a breathtaking view. Afroessa is a small hotel with 10 bedrooms each with that wonderful view. It is calm, lovely and owned by the amazing charming and knowledgable Ioanna. The breakfast and lunch is simple but very good. The pool area is small but perfect. I cannot add to other comments about how excellent it is. We stayed 4 nights and then went to another island. We returned to Santorini to take the flight home next day. When we walked into the Afroessa is was like coming home. It is good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is situated on the far edge of Imerovigli, which gives it an amazing view of the sea and Caldera. Additionally, the relatively high altitude you're at means you are able to enjoy the sunset into the sea above Oia every night from your balcony. There are a small total number of rooms but they all seem to have very good views. The room itself was spacious with a small living room area and kitchen. The room and especially common areas were very clean.The staff and owner were very friendly.

In the morning when the hotel has some shade, breakfast is offered on your balcony at a very reasonable price (we especially enjoyed the Greek yogurt with nuts and fruit). There is a small pool, which we did not use since we went to the beach most days. The hotel is a fair hike to Fira and can be tiring on the way back since it's mostly uphill. It's also fairly easy to get lost and end up taking meandering paths that lead to dead ends. For those who drive though, there's a parking lot just a few minutes walk from the hotel entrance. It is convenient to be able to drive to more distant places to eat, as the choices in Imerovigli itself are somewhat limited.

The weakest part of the trip was the wireless internet, which would often disconnect and whose signal could not reach most parts of our room. Then again, it's not always bad to be a little less connected while on vacation but there's definitely room for improvement on this front.

Overall, the experience was truly excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for couples looking for a romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afroessa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.