We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a magnificient boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afroessa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Afroessa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Afroessa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“What a magnificient boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

One a spur of the moment, while staying in Athens, we decided to go to Santorini for two nights. Hotels were booked in Fiera and Oia. Using Tripadvisor we found this and decided to make do. What a find! Turns out Fiera and Oia are too chocked with visitors and jaded shop owners to be enjoyable. Afroessa is located not far from Fiera but far enough not to attract the crowds. It has perhaps one of the most commanding views of the caldera anywhere on the island cliffs. The hotel is composed of about a dozen rooms (not sure the exact number) spilling down the cliff top. Each room is different and probably has a slightly different view. We were in room 8 located adjacent to the pool. Room was very comfortable. TV, AC, internet, refrigerator, kitchenette. Room was somewhat built into the hillside. Well appointed but difficult to describe although tasteful. view from the room windows, room terrace and the adjacent pool seating area was incredible and relaxing; sea, caldera, distant islands, white washed Oia. The staff were all very pleasant. Breakfast delivered to our terrace. There was even access to Greek restaurant delivery service that came to the hotel and was brought down by the staff (surprisingly reasonably priced). I simply cannot bestow enough accolades on this small hotel. I would definitely rate it my number one for future hotel stays on this island. However, it is rather expensive but in the range of others with similar views.

Room Tip: Pool area was small with limited seating area hence not a noisy place at all. Therefore, I would hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
270
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was the 5th (or maybe 6th?) time for me and my wife stay @ Afroessa.
Everything was as fine as the previous times. We love the rooms, the pool, the service, the hospitality of the staff and most of all the marvelous view of the unique Santorini's Caldera!

Santorini is a place you shouldn't miss in your life and Afrossa the place to stay

Looking forward to come back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had 4 nights at the Afroessa and loved every minute of it. After a few days in Mykonos it was the perfect antidote; real serenity with stunning views and scenery. The service from Joanna and staff is worth a special mention...it was superb, exceeded our expectations but was never imposing. The rooms (we stayed in two due to a complimentary upgrade) have great character and as someone who regularly stays in bland hotel chains, were a real treat. We ate in restaurants that were recommended by Joanna and had great meals, although it's almost impossible to beat breakfast from your own balcony overlooking the caldera. Overall it's somewhere we'll return and would enthusiastically recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of a long European trip and what a fantastic respite! The hotel is located in the quite town of Imerovigli, roughly between the more tourist-intense Fira and Oia. The peacefulness was so restful. The property itself is a vertical series of rooms with a pool at the bottom, hanging on a cliff. The sunset views are breathtaking. It is so much nicer to see the sunset OVER Oia than watching it IN Oia.

The room was quaint and charming. We had Room 8 right next to the pool. We enjoyed having easy access to the patio as well as an unobstructed view of the caldera. The room was a little rustic but for reasons due to being on an island. For instance, we could not drink the tap water nor flush toilet paper. Minor inconveniences that are a part of international travel.

One of the highlights of staying at Afroessa is the service. Both Ioanna and Eddie were amazing. SO friendly and accommodating and eager to do all that they could to ensure their guests were cared for and happy. Small things like little surprise snacks delivered pool-side in the afternoon, to big things like getting up at 5:30am to help us haul our luggage up the hill to meet the airport shuttle. I gave both Ioanna and Eddie hugs when we had to say good-bye.

This is the only hotel I have stayed at in Santorini -- and I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 7 totally relaxing days at Afroessa. The location is fantastic with the best balcony views we have ever seen. Forget going to Oia for sunset, this is THE place to be. All 10 rooms face the caldera with breathtaking views. We split our time between two rooms both of which were very clean and comfortable. Each room is decorated in its own style by Joanna, the owner and even has WiFi.

Joanna and her team were warm, welcoming and spoilt us rotten. We left feeling we had made new friends. Nothing was too much trouble from organising trips to delivering delicious breakfasts to our balcony or drinks and snacks to the comfy sun loungers by the small but adequate pool. The hotel is a peaceful oasis, with the feel of a boutique hotel, but within easy walking distance to restaurants, cafes and quiet bars. It is a pleasant 20 to 30 minute walk down the cliff path to Fira.

We had an amazing time at this very special place and can't wait to return. I can't recommend Afroessa highly enough but didn't really want to say it in case it gets so busy we can't stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

There is not much to say besides that this hotel is one of the best in Imerovigli, Santorini for:
- first class, swiftly & caring service
- very clean and amazing little houses -big thanks to the cleaning ladies-
(try to reserve the apartments e.g. no.7 as they are the best)

- wonderful and outstanding view from the terrace
- nice and chilly pool, just right for a cooling off
- rent a Quad to explore the island (about 35EUR/day)
- very nice restaurants nearby, try: mezzo, la maison, estia & Imerovigli Tavern

many thanks again to the afroessa team for you very nice hospitality:)

Room Tip: try the apartments, e.g. No 7 for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A lovely and not exhorbitant small hotel in a wonderful location with a fabulous view. With only 10 rooms it has the personalized feeling of an upscale inn and although it’s tucked in with numerous other hotels on the cliffs of Imerovigli, it didn’t interfere with the feeling of privacy and quiet. Our room was on the cliff path, but just a few people walking by, no problem. The room was in a charming semi-rustic style with many creative touches; we could have used more towel bars in the bath and storage space for our things, though. Shower was great and it was nice to have a living area. If we’d been there more than 4 days, we might have used the kitchen, but more likely the room service, which was so reasonable. One night we ordered wine and it came with a delicious appetizer plate. A lovely pool area, tranquil and pristinely clean. Best of all was Ioanna, the charming owner, who could not have been more welcoming or thoughtful. One day when our small breakfast had been forgotten, she immediately took personal responsibility and then refused to charge us for that breakfast or a subsequent one. We were not surprised, having made a number of arrangements with her before our arrival; she went the extra mile and got the arrangements for transfer from the airport and then later a rental car and had our ferry tickets to Naxos delivered to her so we didn’t have to pick them up elsewhere. This proved to be typical of how she did business, and on top of it all she was just a warm and personable hostess who always had time for any question or just to talk about our time on Santorini. And not to forget the willing Eddie, who was cheerfully on hand to help with the smallest problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afroessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroessa Hotel

Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#11 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Afroessa Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Afroessa." Afroessa hotel praises romance. Our guests experience the exceptional view from our "old canavas" rooms, set atop Santorini's hillside. The original site of a winery built in 1700, it was renovated in 1998 on its existing foundation. Our ten studios, each with its own unique archway are built on five levels, with their own magical view of the Caldera. Each studio is individually decorated giving each its own distinct character, yet maintaining the traditional style. The beds are built into the foundations and the furnishings and decorations chosen so as to enhance the warm and romantic feelings created by the surroundings. The priceless moments which you will experience during the enchanting sunsets from your balconies and the relaxing pool bar, with chill-out music will forever remain in your memories, reminding you of the serene calm and magic of Afroessa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Afroessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroessa Hotel Imerovigli
Afroessa Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afroessa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.