We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Imerovigli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Artemis Villas
Save
You added Artemis Villas to your Saves list
Imerovigli, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Balham, London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had 10 nights at Artemis for our honeymoon, and it was the most amazing holiday we’ve had. We had tried to book one of the deluxe suites, but they were fully booked. We weren’t disappointed with our lovely room though which had (what we thought) was the best terrace in the hotel. We were picked up from the port (complimentary transfer) and upon arrival Chris welcomed us and gave us an overview of the island. We were settled on our terrace with a complementary welcome drink and snacks, and the service just got better from there. The hotel has the best view of anywhere on the island. The sunsets are breath-taking every evening, and what’s better is you can enjoy them with numerous free cocktails brought to you by the super friendly staff! The pool area is never very busy so you’ll always get a lounger, and again we were spoilt with endless free water and ice creams and other treats whilst we sunbathed. The lunches are delicious – you must try the chicken salad made by the lovely Sonja, and the tzatziki is the best we had while in Greece.

There are many fantastic restaurants nearby for dinner in Imerovigli and Firostefani, and I would recommend the beautiful walk along the coast to Fira (takes 20-30 mins). It’s a great opportunity to nosey at all the other hotels on the cliff side, and to take photos of the stunning scenery. We hired a car to explore the beaches (my favourites were perivolos and kamari), and the historic town of Akrotiri. You have to go to Oia for diner, it’s absolutely stunning with little white washed houses and cobbled streets. Just a warning – don’t book a “sunset” restaurant near the castle, it’s not relaxing for as soon as the sun sets you are surrounded by tourists taking photos.

Back to Artemis – one night we couldn’t get a taxi to Fira (we were being lazy) so Chris and Angela dropped us off. They also upgraded us for our last 2 nights to the white suite which was beautiful and very spacious. The service is absolutely second to none, and when we return to Santorini we won’t consider staying anywhere else. Thanks for such a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    30
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
304
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Kaldera= the volcanic cliff* of the main town of Santorini!( *have a look at the web).
My sons got married in Santorini last year (the younger), on 2011(the eldest) and had the chance to see the Artemis Villas! Angeliki & Christos are very nice people and excellent hosts!
The view from the verandas of the Villas to Kaldera and to the volcanic islands -right opposite- is a unique experience! Service is also fantastic!
Whoever you are, if you have not visited Santorini, try to be there and stay at the Artemis Villas!

Room Tip: All villas overlook Kaldera!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

In preparing for our visit to Santorini, we read TA reviews extensively and evaluated a number of options before ultimately deciding upon Artermis Villas. As mentioned already by many other reviewers, Chris and Angela have created a 5 star experience for their guests. Why?
1- Staff: never without a smile, always engaging us, proactive in their service, a well-oiled team.
2- Location: quiet, relaxing, tremendous sunset views from our balcony. We valued quiet and views over convenience so keep in mind that Fira is a good 30 minute walk away.
3- Value: in our opinion, you won't find a better value (location, service, experience).
Chris and Angela: AMAZING. Great hosts during our stay and always went out of their way to help. Willing to book and change restaurant reservations, airport transfers, etc..

A few things to keep in mind:
Rooms are smaller, fewer amenities so if this is important to you, then you might consider another location. For us, it was perfect and the happy hour each day is a excellent extra.
Jacuzzi on the balcony - we had in our minds that it'd be used daily but we we ended up only using once. Don't let this influence your decision either way and focus on your overall experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I just came back from our holiday in santorini last week and we stayed in Artemis Villas. Hats off to Chris and Angela as well as to all the staff as they were so accommodating and very polite. The place is very quiet and relaxing away from the hustle and bustle of lots of tourists. The views from room 114 was just amazing! Restaurants nearby are so close we didn't have problems looking for place to eat. We love Mezzo restaurant. Food was superb! Angela was very helpful if we needed directions to go to places. Breakfast was lovely as well. Overall it was an unforgettable experience staying in artemis villas as apart from the views, the rooms were kept clean and tidy. Only negative side is that we cannot stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Well it's exactly one year to the day that I asked my fiancee to marry me whilst staying at Artemis Villas. We have only the most amazing and fondest memories of this luxury accommodation. Angela and Chris are very welcoming hosts and we would always return here to visit. Truly outstanding and good value for money........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just got back from our honeymoon on the beautiful island of Santorini, and this hotel gave us everything we were hoping for and more. It starts with the owners Chris & Angela, who are so kind and helpful. Being so far across the world can be intimidating if you aren't an experienced traveler, but these 2 made sure that all of our questions were answered and could not have been better.

Then we get to the views! WOW! You are literally sitting on the side of the cliff, so the ocean is directly below, and with the caldera perfectly positioned in front of you, it's pretty jaw dropping. So much of our time was spent just sitting on our balcony and appreciating where we were and what we were seeing. Every night between 8-9, we would sit in the jacuzzi and watch the sun set, which is something that can't really be explained but has to be experienced. It creates this tranquil, almost surreal atmosphere that really hit hard every single night.

The room we stayed in (Superior Studio w/ jacuzzi) was pretty small, but it didn't bother us at all. We were there to take in the views and be outside exploring, not sitting in a hotel room! It was RIDICULOUSLY hot during the day, so the small air conditioner above the bed was exactly what we needed when coming back to the room, or laying down for the night.

The only negative I would bring up (which isn't even a negative, just a fact of the island) is that you will be needing comfortable walking shoes and need to be in relatively good shape to get around, especially maneuvering around the hotel area...because of the fact it's built into the cliffs, there are lots of steps that you'll be regularly climbing up and down. My wife and I are young and active, so it didn't really bother us, but we commented a lot that it might be difficult for older travelers.

The last thing I'll mention is the actual location of the hotel (Imerovigli) because that was one of my biggest question marks before arriving. Were we staying in the right area?? I think after seeing almost all of the island and towns, the answer is yes...Imerovigli is less populated, which means quiet and peaceful. From what I saw, it has the prime spot for watching the sunset and the best view of the caldera. The 2 main towns on the island are Fira (15 minute walk along an incredibly scenic pathway) and Oia (20 minute bus ride, costs $1.80 and is actually a really nice bus!)...

All in all, couldn't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just returned from a week-long honeymoon at Artemis and we found it absolutely charming. The owners (we dealt mainly with Chris) are so incredibly friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Every member of staff is smiling and unfailingly polite.

It is worth pointing out, in case the rave reviews are misleading, that this isn't a hotel with world-class amenities. You won't find a spa or gym, bar or restaurant. But who needs them - they serve a delicious breakfast on your balcony every day, free happy hour cocktails during sunset, generous sized snacks and salads for most of the day... We certainly never went hungry (and developed a borderline addiction to their tzatziki....). The pool is smallish but clean and a good temperature, and there are a dozen sun loungers on the terrace should you want to use them (beware that only 4 or so of them are under shade).

We had been given a generous amount to put towards spa treatments as part of our wedding gift, and Chris pointed us in the direction of the Avaton hotel and spa (5 minutes away), where we spent a very happy afternoon being pampered. There are a handful of very nice restaurants within 5 minutes but for bigger variety you'd need to do the 20 minute coastal path walk to Fira.

What really sells this hotel, however, is the views. Wow. I've been to many beautiful places all over the world and the view from our balcony was one of the best I've ever seen. It was like having front row seats to the famous sunset every night. This is important, as if you walk along the coastal path towards Fira for less than 5 minutes, you turn a corner and can't see the sunset anymore. Had we booked at any of the hotels in that direction, we would have missed out. If you look on google maps, aim to stay north or level with Skaros, the old settlement on the hill, and that way you'll see the sunset over Oia.

In an ideal world, there's a couple of things we would have changed about the room - the bed was alongside one wall meaning my husband had to clamber over me to get out at night, and was next to an internal window into the bathroom, so any nighttime toilet trips had to be in the dark to avoid waking each other with the light! A shower curtain may have been helpful too as it was very difficult to avoid splashing all over the floor. But these feel like petty niggles really, particularly when Greece is all about old-fashioned charm, and didn't detract from a wonderful week with fabulous friendly service.

In short, if you require 5* amenities and sleek modern style, this is not the hotel for you. But, in all honesty, if that's what you're looking for, Santorini and its charming rustic style may not be for you either.

Room Tip: Rooms with jacuzzi on the terrace are great, although we were too sunburned to make the most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Villas

Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#8 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Artemis Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Artemis Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.