We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akrolithos Santorini

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Imerovigli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akrolithos Santorini
Save
You added Akrolithos Santorini to your Saves list
Main Pedestrian Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Words can't describe how we LOVE this hotel.

We arranged airport transfer from the hotel, and I'm glad we did because cars can only stop at the main road and someone from the hotel came and carried our luggages to thru the small steps.
Once we reached the hotel, we're stunned with the view! if I may say, even better than Oia. Oia is too crowded, too many visitors. But here, you have the real feel of Santorini and serenity in a package, and topped with the view of beautiful Caldera.

The best part was, Evi, upgraded our booking. From our private balcony, there's Caldera view. AND from our bedroom,there's a window that u have underwater view of the pool!! I think this is the only room that have this window.
We really enjoyed the breakfast by the pool. It's a decent breakfast, but could be better if only they could offer more variety on their daily menu. Their staffs are so friendly and warm.

all and all, It's really a perfect place to celebrate or 10th anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    6
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The adventure started when our taxi driver stopped on the way to this hotel from the airport. He told us he needed to call the hotel to get someone to come to meet us, as there was no way he could get close enough. That was the first we knew of the access issue, so we were a little surprised.

When the taxi eventually drove into a small parking area opposite the Santorini Sailing Centre, there was a 'boy' from the hotel duly despatched to meet us and carry our bags. It took around five minutes to get to Akrolithos along a winding pathway, with steps down, and up again, partly in the dark along unlit cobbled walkways.

The Manager was in our room to meet us, and to apologise for the mix up with the booking (our email had gone a week unanswered, which resulted in a double booking for the airport transfer and a lot of wasted time on our part trying to put it right before we flew). He told us he'd booked a table at a nearby restaurant about '50 metres by the boy'. When we emerged five minutes later to find it, 'the boy' was waiting to take us, and the reference became clear. It was just as well we had a guide because it was very dark and the sign announcing the restaurant was easily missable.

We had a fantastic meal to finish our arrival adventure on this beautiful island. It was like being in a movie.

We awoke for breakfast in the morning to see the stunning views over the Caldera. That's why everyone stays here in Imerovigli, and no one who has made that choice has ever regretted it.

After four days of traversing the cobbled ups and downs of the walkways, our leg muscles were ready for a break. The only food in the hotel is breakfast, and as good as it is, it's the same every day. Fruit with yogurt, a boiled egg, cheese and ham (one slice of each), a roll, tea or coffee, orange juice and a cake. By the third morning, they'd run out of marmalade. Having breakfast by the pool is a great experience, even if you need to endure the wind on a really blustery morning. But mostly, the sun was turned up high. And the views are ever present. The odd cruise ship drifted at anchor in the bay below, and on one morning a couple of very large yachts under sail. Spectacular.

You can get a drink in the pool bar from noon until 11 pm but there are no embellishments, like nuts.

To stay here as a base, you need to work out where to get the bus and then the island is yours to explore. A bus to Fira, and the main bus station, then provides access to the south and places like Kamari and its excellent beach and a 100 places to eat (14 or 15 minutes to get there from Fira). Fira itself is a great place to shop and eat, with the views over the Caldera just as good as further north. There's also a cable car to explore.

From the hotel, you can also go north to Oia, with its fabulous sunsets and lots more shops and eating options. You'll fight with a thousand tourists and queue for the bus back.

The hotel will arrange for a taxi if you can find anyone in the office, by which I mean the Manager. He's there a lot but we never quite figured out when with any consistency.

Whether you book Akrolithos or one of the dozens of other 'hotels' carved into the cliffside, you'll have the same access problem. The rooms / suites will all be cave-like with a bed that's likely to be wedged into the round bit at the end (which really makes it feel like a cave), so couples have to climb over each other. No sprung bed underneath the mattress, so a few nights here may make your back ache but it's actually okay. The sitting area (that makes it a suite) is also a little hard with only cushions to rest against the wall. But hey, you didn't come here to hang around in the room and watch BBC World News!

The best seats are on your balcony overlooking the pool area and the Caldera. There was a path in front of our balcony along which all and sundry pass, from other hotels as well. It's a friendly place, so it really doesn't feel wrong. We imagine most of the other suites have balconies which are a little more private but it really didn't matter.

The toilet was on a permanent flush until we discovered that a quick tap on the 'handle' sorted that out but we were imagining an all night torrent until we worked out the solution. Shower worked well and water was hot whenever we needed it. But Santorini is definitely not short of heat.

Air conditioning unit in the room was easy to operate and worked well.

There was an essential fridge, in which they'd kindly left two small bottles of still water. A quick read of the useful guest notes reminded us that the water was undrinkable, so you really need to use bottled water even to brush your teeth.

TV was small but newish, with 3 channels in English. Wardrobe, two drawers under the bed (the mattress sits on top of this wooden base, which is why it's a little hard). The room is well serviced and clean.

There are a handful of shops around when you've found your way back to the road but you need to be careful on the steep slopes as the traffic comes close because there are no pavements. We tried one of the local restaurants in this area but didn't have a great experience. That was atypical because the food everywhere on the island is excellent. We decided to grab some fresh bread and cheese etc. in one of the three small grocery stores, then realised whilst shopping we had a problem. There was nothing in the room like utensils, plates etc. No kettle, and no cups. None of the shops sold cutlery so we improvised. Fresh bread that we could break. Small individual containers of Lurpak, that we could dip the bread in. And cheese that was already sliced! With beer and coke in cans that you could pull open, we were all set. If only we'd known, we could have 'borrowed' some plastic knives and forks from Easy Jet.

The staff at Akrolithos are all terrific and very very helpful, as everyone is on this fantastic island. The Manager speaks good enough English but did hand his mobile to me once to speak to his wife because he didn't understand what I was saying. And it turned out he'd forgotten to book our transfer to the airport, which his wife duly did and we left an hour later than planned. So the arrangements for arriving and leaving were flawed by language problems but it all worked out well in the end. I've always felt it wrong to expect the rest of the world to speak English and normally try to learn a little of the language. No chance here, couldn't even begin to get my head around Greek and English really is spoken pretty well by most people you're likely to meet in shops, restaurants and collecting your fare on buses.

So is this experience worth it? Absolutely. Is Akrolithos a safe bet for a cliffside venue? Definitely. It's a great little complex with a super team of people, who all go out of their way to help you. Just double check on all the arrangements! Or be better than me and learn Greek. For Fred and Wilma, this would have been a luxury break. For all of us non Flintstones, it's an experience we should relish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here and really enjoyed the amazing views, friendly helpful staff and the overall location. Would not be ideal if you don't like heights or steps but for us it was almost perfect. I could probably describe the odd fault or minor improvement but for a short stay it's a special place. If I get chance will add some photo to help communicate the amazing views.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in August, it was the most beautiful hotel of our 3 week European holiday. Staff are all very nice and helpful, beautiful room with a balcony, and possibly the best sun baking view!! It's location is perfect, you can walk to some great taverns and rent a quad or car just around the corner. Very very well priced for its location and quality. There is a fantastic sunset view point right near the hotel as well. I would highly recommend this place, it made our santorini trip the highlight! And the pool is also so amazing!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akrolithos Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akrolithos Santorini

Address: Main Pedestrian Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akrolithos is perched on the cliff side of Imerovigli, only 15 minutes walk from Fira town, the capital of Santorini island. The wonderful location provides its guests spectacular views of the Volcano, the Caldera & the Aegean Sea! Akrolithos consists of 12 rooms & suites with traditional design & Cycladic architecture, just 10 km from Santorini's Airport <> and 12 km from Port <>. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akrolithos Santorini Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akrolithos Santorini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.