We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunny Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunny Villas to your Saves list
Hotel Sunny Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spend a week here in early June of 2014. The Manager of the Hotel was great. His name is Andrea he made sure that my family were taken care of. We did not like our first room because the kids did not have big beds in them he solved the problem right a way and changed the room. The rooms are sufficient You are there because of the view. The View is amazing from this Hotel. The pool is nice. The staff is friendly. I saw all of Santorini I honestly think that the area where this Hotel is located has the best view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    67
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
39
194
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The view is breath taking, the rooms are traditional and always clean and the ambience is extremely quiet. Add to that an Amazing view of the sunset, the volcano etc WOW… On the other hand, IF YOU CANT GO UP AND DOWN THE STAIRS STAY AWAY FOM THIS HOTEL (counted their minimum=70 steps). But after all the view is worth it. The people are nice and very helpful. Imerovigli is a good location. some of us found it to be a little bit far but I didn't, it's just 6 min by bus from FIRA. the bus station is a little bit far from the hotel so you need to add to the stairs a 2 minute (relatively hard walk) up to the square before going down the stairs. The buses are so annoying and never on schedule but I guess that's something to complain about elsewhere haha but I think it's an important fact for people who don't want to waste a lot of time on the road (road to destination+bus wait+going up to the square+stairs to the room).

Room Tip: A regular room (not the superior one) will require taking additional stairs haha but down the hill i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We loved the view and location of this hotel. Be prepared for lots of stairs. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful and kind. Upon checkin, we were given a map and many wonderful recommendations for restaurants and day tours. When we told them that we were leaving very early the next morning, we were surprised to find our breakfast waiting in the refrigerator when we returned from dinner with a kind note. Would definitely recommend this hotel! It is very windy at night, so prepare for the noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel does have great views, as does the rest of Imerovigli. This is a steep price to pay for fairly shabby accommodations.
First off I had confirmed hotel transportation a few weeks before arrival, but when it came to actually setting it up a day before arrival I was told they no longer offered it. Not the end of the world as you can get a taxi there for 20 euro, but not a great start.
There is no direct access to the hotel by vehicle since it is on a cliff face so just be prepared to drag your suitcases down/up lots of steep steps, but overall the hotel was signed well and easy to find and this is to be expected at all hotels in this area.
When we got there were were told that we were upgraded for one night as the room we booked was no longer available. The junior suite was supposed to be a treat, and it could have been if it had been nice. As soon as the door was opened we were assailed with a strong odour
of must/mold. The suite was so deeply set into the cave there did not seem to be proper circulation coming from the far bathroom and that scent penetrated the whole room. We even went and bought a glade candle, and kept the fan running the whole time, but it did not seem to help. I would have been even more disappointed had we actually paid for this upgraded smellly room.
When we were brought to our proper room the smell was still faintly there but vastly diminished. The furnishings in both rooms could be looked at possibly as cute and eclectic, although extremely outdated. The beds were AWFUL! They were double beds and you could feel every spring in both beds we stayed in. Not conducive to a good nights sleep, and not what you expect when you are paying this price. They need new ones or even foam toppers. A/C worked very well in the smaller of the two rooms.Wi-fi was practically impossible to get a decent connection. Better signal sitting right outside the office.
The pool area is clean, but small and does not have chairs you can lay on.
The office hours are from 0800-1000, but they were not there many times during those hours which was inconvenient when wanting to make reservations for dinner or needing them for any other purpose. One man who worked there was friendly and seemed eager to please while the other was aloof and not overly helpful with anything.
The quantity at breakfast was adequate and served at a cute place called Mezzo right next door. However, the 3 pieces of fruit served each day of our stay was either completely green (banana), crunchy or rotten (apple/apricot). The breads were nice. We never did, but it seemed as though you could request extras of the stuff.
I was also disappointed that the hotel staff did not offer to arrange a little fruit (even if it wasn't good) or breads to drop off at our room the night before we left. We had to catch a flight to Athens very early in the morning and therefore could not eat the breakfast we paid for. While staying at other hotels on the trip, they all made sure we were getting what we paid for and went the extra mile. This was definitely not the case with this hotel.
I would recommend staying elsewhere while in Santorini.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We arrived late on a Saturday and our room wasn't available but Sunny Villas put us up in an upgraded junior suite at a nearby hotel. We then moved back to Sunny Villas and our room was more than adequate for our week long stay.
Pros: breakfast included at the nearby Mezzo restaurant-nice service there-coffee, orange juice, bread, cheese and meat, fruit and either yogurt with toppings or a hard boiled egg-basic but decent. Pool-about 10 feet by 12 feet with a handful of reclining sling type chairs and a small shaded area-perfect to relax and cool off after sightseeing. Location-quieter area but you can walk to Firastefani and Fira-takes about 30 minute to walk down many stairs but definitely not bad with good walking shoes. Oia is a longer walk north of Imerovigli-we never attempted it but rented an ATV for a day-highly recommended-we used Jimmy's rentals twice-well worth it! Customer service was good at the hotel-Andreas and Apostolos both are very helpful, we were able to get pool towels and extra toiletries when needed,dinner recommendations, and they booked our return transport to the airport for our 6:30am flight and it was on time-no stress-cost 20 euro-very reasonable for the 15 minute drive! Air conditioning worked well in the room when needed. Fantastic views from balconies of the sunset and Skaros Rock. Definitely walking distance to local bus and nearby market and bakery.
Cons: towels and toiletries are not great quality-some towels were very rough,others softer, shampoo and body soap did not get replaced when used-although we did get new ones when we asked so either bring your own or ask in advance. Wifi very sketchy-so be prepared to use it in the lobby, very unreliable in rooms and at the pool. Since we left at 5am for the airport, we checked out the night before and had to carry our own luggage up the approximate 40 steps to the taxi street level-although to be fair, we didn't ask them to wake up that early to help, but neither did they offer. Minor issues but just things to be aware of...
Room advice: We had room 103-above the office level and above main sidewalk level tourists walk from Oia to Fira. We were the room right next to the Mezzo restaurant so while we had two windows on that wall-we couldn't open them because it was too noisy with customers at the restaurant late at night, which was a shame. (also true of the window in our bathroom)Our balcony was just above the main sidewalk path so tourists walk by all day but it was fun to people watch! Advice-the room next door to us would've been better to avoid restaurant noise. FYI-LOTS of steps both up to the main street level of Imerovigli and down to the restaurant and pool-I used the flashlight app on my cell phone every night for safety to see the steps! Most places you stay in Imerovigli will have this issue. Wear comfortable walking shoes-this is not an area to stay with younger children or anyone with issues walking or doing steps! We loved that it was a quieter area with gorgeous views but there are fewer restaurants nearby, and no beaches close by so you will need to take the local bus, rent an ATV or car, or walk longer distances to get to places. Sunny Villas fit the bill as a comfortable, affordable place to stay in Imerovigli!

Room Tip: Higher levels-more stairs but quieter-don't stay in the rooms right next to the Mezzo restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel had superb reviews, which made me think I had chosen a great hotel. I must say that this hotel, like the majority of hotels, all have a great view anyway. This was really my main reason for choosing this hotel. After so many stairs (as is the case in many of the Greek islands to get to your hotel), we got the reception office only to see no one there (office was locked). We waited for almost an hour until someone finally arrived. By this time, we were pretty irritated already. We got a room next to the reception, which was nice. We stayed there 3 nights and not once did they ever put toiletries as you would expect from any hotel (shampoo, soap, etc.). All they really did was make the bed, clean the restroom real quick, take out trash and probably mop. Most everything else was the same. Our room at times would be cleaned at 2pm. The reception staff was friendly, but I think it takes more than that to make this hotel outstanding as many here wrote. Next time we will opt for Oia, much better view, hotels, crowd and places to eat, but not come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wonderful views, good rooms, some small and others larger. Helpful people working there. Lovely little restaurant attached called Mezzo for really good traditional food and near other good restaurants like La Maltese which was sumptuously more upscale. There are two towns on Santorini and they are heaving with tourists, Imerovigli is between them so it in not as crowded. You can hop on a bus or take a taxi anywhere so you don't have to rent a car and on those little winding roads you don't want to!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunny Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny Villas

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#15 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#23 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunny Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sunny Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunny Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.