We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timing is Everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skaros Rock

Skaros Rock
Imerovigli, Greece
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Santorini Full-Day Guided Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skaros was considered the most important of Santorini's five castle fortresses. The rock was inhabited in medieval times, because the fortress constructed there offered protection from pirates.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Timing is Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

While it may be tempting to watch the sunset from this outcrop, keep in mind your hike back! It isn't the easiest of climbs in the daylight. Go late afternoon so you can be back around dusk - just remember where you are! The sunset is unbelievable no matter where you are on that side of the island. I walked back up to the main path and just sat down for an hour and watched. Most people will do the same - just plop down wherever they are to watch the majesty.

Visited July 2012
1 Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I enjoyed the climb and the views immensely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was a challenge that was there and had to be done. Directly outside our hotel (Sunny Villas) was an immense rock on the ocean with a path to it that looped down and up to the other side. It was a fabulous view all by itself in the middle of the Aegean Sea surrounded by volcano and other islands. The views were fantastic the entire way. The wind was up and added to the ambiance. There were lizards, bees and other bugs, but nothing that bothered. Who doesn't want a mildly exerting climb with fantastic scenery the entire way. I certainly needed the exercise after all that Greek food :)

I would not do it when it was either wet or dark. I thought my children (6 and 8) were a little young for it. Bring water.

Visited April 2013
Thank Heironymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Grace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hike to Skaros Rock and the church clinging to the side of the massif tops my list of things to do in Santorini. My husband and I came here nearly 22 years ago on our honeymoon. This time we brought our daughter whose middle name is Santorini. We happened to run into the owner of the Blue Note Restaurant as we were looking for the beginning of the staircase. It sits on the west side of his restaurant. It took us about 45 minutes to walk one way to the rock. We went around 10 a.m. and returned by noon. We had plenty of time to experience the peace and tranquility of the church and the area's natural beauty. I'm confused by some of the other posts that talk about climbing the rock itself. I suppose that's possible. We found a path on the righthand side but decided it looked sketchy. We were happy to have followed the lefthand route to the church.

Visited March 2013
1 Thank ccrock08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It is a long climb but worth the it because of the views. I wouldn't do it in early evening for the sunset although many do because I wouldn't want to walk down in the dark. Early morning is pretty close to perfect too.

Visited September 2012
1 Thank JTully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good historical briefing of the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Provides a good insight into what medieval Santorini must have been like. However the authorities really must get their act together and provide safe guard rails at some parts of the walk and the site, to warn visitors of some dangers (rocks falling, no guard rails, big cliff)

Visited September 2012
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skaros Rock also viewed


Been to Skaros Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing