We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel

Save Saved
You added Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Private Dinner
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exceptional in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We cannot emphasise just how impressed we were with every single aspect of this hotel. It was faultless. The hotel is in a stunning location. The views are second to none. The hotel itself was absolutely beautiful - the interior design of the bedroom/restaurant was so tasteful and comfortable. The sun loungers were fantastic and the quality of the towels and sheets were exceptional. The hotel is spotless. The food is of a very high standard and coupled with the views, rivals most of the restaurants in santorini. The service - we have never come across this level of service before. The staff were as someone else commented, very attentive without being intrusive in the slightest. Mihail, Ioanna, Vladimir, Dimitri and everyone else we came across (I am sorry I cannot remember all the names) were such lovely people and fantastic at their jobs. You could tell they were passionate about their industry. The manager Ximena was a delightful person. Always available to assist with anything. She had such a calm presence and made everything look so effortless but she must have been working around the clock to manage a hotel of this standard. Christine and Justina and all front of house/reception were also so helpful. What can we say except thank you for making it such a wonderful holiday. Your hard work does not go unnoticed. Incredible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not only is the Iconic hotel and the surrounding area beautiful, but the staff at Iconic is fantastic as well. They always make you feel like you are at home on a beautiful island. They are willing to help out and accommodate you in every way. The General Manager, Ximena, especially goes out of her way to make sure that your stay is perfect. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello from beautiful Santorini,

Thank you for sharing this thoughtful review and the warm words.

We are here to provide long-lasting and memorable experiences for our valued guests and I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in our tranquil surroundings. I was pleased to share your compliments with my dedicated team, they do their utmost to exceed expectations each day and reading comments like yours is highly motivating.

It was a delight hosting you at Iconic Santorini and I look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back to our haven of tranquility in the future.

With best wishes!

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The previous reviews described the wonderful hotel very well. It is a boutique "cave" hotel recently constructed/renovated. Thanks to the great management by Mrs. Ximena Diaz (General Manager) and the staff, the hotel was spotless clean EVERYWHERE, the service was attentive and thoughtful without any intrusiveness, and the food... oh my... the food (including the free breakfast and dinners at the restaurant on site) was among the BEST we have had in three continents: fresh ingredients, healthy yet delicious, elegantly presented without pretense. (As a side note: their breakfast croissants and the sweet treats that came with the daily turn-down service were MUCH better than the bakery items we had in Paris and Munich.)

The hotel restaurant is not open to public. We enjoyed dinners there every night during our stay, twice in a private room reserved for guests and once on the balcony with six other friends, all with the beautiful sunset views of the caldera. We ate lunches outside the hotel because of our daytime explorations but wished we could have had lunches at the hotel.

The hotel staff showed amazing attention to details and willingness to help: spotlessly clean rooms (and even the steps outside), great shower, luxurious bath and shower amenities (Aesop brand), an extremely comfortable bed, a dehumidifier, a quiet air-conditioner in the room, and last, but not the least, very helpful sightseeing advice, tireless help with walking directions and transportation arrangement, thoughtful gestures including a nice, personalized welcome letter and a chocolate cake upon our arrival (for newly weds).

To summarize: The rooms were VERY comfortable, the views memorizing, the service warm and impeccable, the food and drinks delicious. All these made our stay most memorable.

Thank you, Iconic!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Greetings from Iconic Santorini,

Firstly, I would like to thank you kindly for taking the time to share this amazing feedback!

It gives me utmost pleasure sharing such positive comments with my dedicated staff, a dedicated group of hospitality-minded individuals who go the extra mile each day to not only meet, but exceed all expectations of our valued guests.

With the wide choice of dining options around the island, Chef Kostas and his team are truly honoured and most thankful for the wonderful compliments regarding their culinary efforts. We were happy to serve dinner to you on each night of your stay and pleased that you were able to enjoy the intimacy of our private dining room on two separate occasions.

Our attention to the finer details is a vital element in ensuring guests of our residences can focus on pure relaxation and winding away timeless days of luxury. I'm thrilled that you found the allocated residence and various amenities to your liking, making the most of the unforgettable sleep experience of the COCO-MAT 4-layer bedding program, along with the pampering and luxurious Aesop bath products.

Once again, my sincere thanks for this motivating review and very best wishes from the whole Iconic team!

Best personal regards,

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There really is nothing like this hotel; the amazing location of Santorini with the impressionable views. I really have never seen anything more breathtaking. The staff was very nice, welcoming, and attentive. Don't even get me started about the food, I mean I would be so happy to go to bed because that would mean breakfast was coming soon. The food was fresh and delicious. The rooms are splendid. Just everything about this hotel is absolutely amazing. I am currently having withdrawals from this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Kalispera from Iconic Santorini!

I would like to thank you for the lovely feedback following your stay in our haven of tranquility.

My dedicated team is here to provide unforgettable moments and we are all very pleased to hear that you have returned home with some wonderful lasting memories of our distinctive boutique cave hotel.

Chef Kostas was happy to receive the compliments regarding his cooking and is always happy to see valued guests taking pleasure from his freshly-prepared creations.

I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the island in the future, rest assured we will take care of your withdrawals and provide you with yet another timeless experience.

With warm wishes!

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 4 unforgettable days in this hotel:
- best view (on the island) to caldera from all the rooms;
- splendid beds!!! Impossible to leave them!;
- great idea to serve you the breakfast on your terrace not matter what time you get up;
- best cuisine on the island (the hotel restaurant was the place where we ate better then in any restaurant we tried in Fira, Imerovigli and Oia for those 4 days; my husband is a french chief cook by the way);
- everything is extremely stylish (including vessels, glasses, staff uniform etc. - refine touch of charming Ximena, the hotel general manager);
- very friendly staff (and beautiful :)).
Very much advised!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing and all of them have a charming view to caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Kalimera from the village of Imerovigli!

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your experience following a stay in our boutique cave hotel!

I was pleased to share your comments with my committed team, who appreciate the kind feedback as their primary goal is to exceed all expectations of our valued guests.

It gives me great pleasure that you enjoyed the sublime sleep experience which our all-natural, 4-layer COCO-MAT bedding provides, as well as our delightful daily breakfast. Thank you in addition for the great compliment regarding the inspired culinary creations of our talented local island chef, who takes great pride to source the very best ingredients and products for his delicious daily offerings.

Having you stay with us with a true pleasure and I certainly hope to see you back at Iconic Santorini at some point in the future.

My best wishes,

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had such a wonderful stay at Iconic, and were so sad when we finally had to go home! The hotel was exquisite, with beautiful views of the caldera. We spent a lot of time lazing on the deck chairs and soaking in the sun, and the hotel staff regularly came round to check if we needed anything to eat/drink. The service was really fantastic and we felt pampered by the staff. The rooms were also cosy and clean, with a very comfortable bed, and great Aesop bath products. Would definitely stay here again if we return to santorini!

Room Tip: We started with the Room I for two nights, which was comfortable and a good size. However, after two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings from Iconic Santorini,

My sincere thanks for your posting, I am delighted that your stay with us was a most enjoyable one!

It was a pleasure meeting and hosting you in our distinctive boutique cave hotel, I was glad to see you taking full advantage of the serene atmosphere and mesmerizing caldera views. My dedicated team is committed to providing attentive service and going beyond expectation, ensuring that our valued guests can focus on timeless days of relaxation, as such receiving comments like this is extremely motivating to them.

The oversize and all-natural COCO-MAT 4-layer beds were specifically incorporated into our residences to ensure valued guests of Iconic Santorini enjoy a heavenly sleep experience, while the luxurious Aesop bath products are ideal for rejuvenation and pampering.

Thanks again for choosing to spend your vacation in our haven of tranquility, if you return to the island please let us know as it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

My best wishes,

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One word describe's our experience at the Iconic ...." Perfection"
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
Our room was AMAZING views were STUNNING and the staff were WONDERFUL
We'll be back !!!!!Mark&Lisa

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena D, General Manager at Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good morning from the stunning island of Santorini!

Thank you kindly for the positive and motivating review, your warm words are highly appreciated by the entire Iconic team!

I am truly thrilled that you had a wonderful experience, enjoying the comforts of your residence and the warm Hellenic hospitality of my dedicated staff.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the tranquility of our boutique cave hotel at some point in the future.

Warm wishes!

Ximena Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel

Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A timeless experience awaits guests of the Iconic Santorini, a unique boutique cave hotel located in the picturesque Greek island village of Imerovigli. Situated on a spectacular hillside setting and literally carved from Santorini’s volcanic caldera wall, this tranquil retreat offers breathtaking views of the azure waters below from each of the five hotel levels. Every room or suite is distinct and all provide personal veranda seating high above the majestic wonders of this ancient volcanic island rising from the Aegean Sea below. First class service and luxury amenities combine with unparalleled serenity and magnificent views to create a truly unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icons Hotel Imerovigli
Iconic Santorini, a Boutique Cave Hotel Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.