We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, Serenity and Privacy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iliovasilema Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Iliovasilema Suites to your Saves list
Iliovasilema Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli 84 700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Imerovigli
Foster City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beauty, Serenity and Privacy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The last stop on our trip to Athens, Crete and Santorini was this amazing hotel overlooking the caldera. It has 17 rooms and each has distinct character. Outside many of the rooms is a lovely lap pool. You couldn't ask for a better view or a warmer reception. Breakfast (croissants, rolls and coffee) are served on the balcony outside your room. It is not centrally located, but you can walk for Thira in 30 minutes or take a cab. I'm not sure about the cost or value, because we used Asimina tours to book the entire trip and we loved every place we stayed and felt the trip was very reasonable for what we spent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up. They have the best views and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    52
    13
    10
    11
See reviews for
20
187
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Even thogh the travel books say different the hotel location has the best sunset view.
The staff is super nice and helpfull.
The breakfast was very nice but the best thing is can eat it in you own balcony overlooking the whole island.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had an amazing vacation here. The hotel is located in Imerovigli...which gives you the best view of the sunsets! The hotel and room was very clean and the staff so warm and helpful in making reservations and recommendations whenever we needed. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wonderful hotel in a great location. Friendly staff. Clean rooms, great view. Would stay again and highly recommend. The staff was very helpful with making dinner reservations as well as suggesting activities for my friends and I.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Arrived home last night from a week staying here. What a fantastic place; the island, the area and of course the hotel, and mostly due to the backdrop, the most amazing view I have ever seen!

The hotel is located in Imerovigli, the highest point of the island of Santorini. The buildings are cleverly built into the rock and all designed to maximise the views over the sea and other islands or volcano. The moment you arrive at Iliovasillema, you see the view and it just doesn't get old. Breakfast is served on the balconies, all overlooking the sea, the sun beds, pool and bar providing further platforms to see the view, you can't stop taking pictures and gawping! And there is so much going on down below on the sea. Cruise ships in and out, catamarans, sailing boats and watching people attempting to climb, what we nicknamed 'The Rock', the rock opposite the hotel, a great climb providing even more spectacular views….can I say it enough times?! Views, views, views! You really cannot take a bad pic!!

So, the hotel? We thought the location was excellent. Imerovigli is a quiet area, seemingly popular with honeymooners, although I went with a friend and we loved it (Whilst I'm on that, if you go with a platonic friend - you either share a double bed or pay 50 euros a night for a roll out bed which we thought was ridiculous and declined! Seems very expensive and may exclude the singletons out there from choosing this hotel) - there are a few lovely restaurants (try Agnogi - we went there twice and loved it - especially the grilled prawns!!) and you are either a sweaty but pretty walk from Fira or a bus ride from anywhere. The buses run every 20 mins or so, they are very reasonably priced and so convenient. about a 20 min bus ride to beautiful and very popular Oia.

Oia is the place billed as the place to see the best sunset, but having seen sunsets at both, we preferred Imerovigli. Oia gets very busy and overheated by the way, Imerovigli being quieter and cooler because of the winds.

We had what must have been the most basic room. It was immaculately clean and the breakfast was served outside. The rooms all overlap a bit and you have people crossing over ash others balconies etc, but we found it didn't bother us, the other guests (for the most part) being very friendly and considerate. We found the mini bar to be massively overpriced and ended up buying water etc from the nearby mini market (3 euro for 6 litre bottles was well worth the walk - especially in that heat!!)

We enjoyed our little breakfasts, but there is no variety, you have exactly the same everyday. I didn't ask the name of the lady who served our breakfast all week (curly hair and limited English), but she was LOVELY! We found her to be so friendly and considerate.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful, Elina has rightfully had some great reviews on here, she is very helpful, cute sense of humour and will give you advice on all the best places to go and how to get there. We think his name was Harry, but the blonder chap who did the transfers to and from the airport and lugged massive cases up and down those mental stairs, was another really lovely person; very friendly.

And whilst i'm on it; those stairs…..good luck!!

All in all, I cannot recommend the hotel and area enough - and thats having had the most basic room in the hotel. Very worthy of a visit!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a great location and I really appreciated having such a clean and beautiful room. The staff is very friendly and their service very prompt. These things are very important when traveling with children. Will go again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent seven wonderful days in this excellent suites. Imerovigli and the Iliovasillema suites are more quiet than Thyra and guaratee perfect recreation. Iliovasillema is also really ideal for exploring the island of Santorin. By bus we reached all points of interest. Thyra is in walking distance and its also a nice experience to walk to Oia. The team is sooo friendly and Elina cares for here guests in an amazing way. Thanks to all of you and especially to Elina !
We hope to come back again someday - Santorin is a small paradise.

Room Tip: rooms are cave like - fine feeling
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#13 of 45 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
1.7 mi away
Csky Hotel
Csky Hotel
#23 of 45 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kallisto
Hotel Kallisto
#39 of 45 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#15 of 45 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#30 of 45 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliovasilema Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliovasilema Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84 700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#21 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iliovasilema Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Imerovigli, one of the most beautiful villages of Santorini Island, you will find the ILIOVASILEMA HOTEL APARTMENTS ("Iliovasilema" is the Greek word for "sunset"). Iliovasilema is situated on the enchanting and world famous Caldera. Built 350m above sea level, offers to its guests the most fascinating view of the volcano and the little islands of the Aegean Sea, as well as of the dazzling sunset. Iliovasilema was initially built in year 1996, has been renovated and remodeled in year 2002 and still grows, following always the rules and the tradition of the Cycladic architecture! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Iliovasilema Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iliovasillema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Hotel Imerovigli
Iliovasilema Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iliovasilema Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.