We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing and welcoming place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heliotopos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Heliotopos Hotel to your Saves list
Heliotopos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Imerovigli 84 700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Imerovigli
Virginia
1 review
“Wonderfully relaxing and welcoming place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

The hotel is placed overlooking Caldera and the sunset is beautiful. No need to travel to Oia for that. Just relax on your own patio or at the pool and enjoy the view.
The hotel staff is extremely helpful and there is no need to prepare in advance for this trip. All the information you need will be waiting for you there. We will definitely go back to this hotel.
The food in Imerovigli is wonderful. Just follow the recommendations of the hotel staff.
We warmly recommend this hotel. One word of advice: you cannot get lost on the island. Just ask around and you can get anywhere. Not to mention that you can see from one end of the island to another.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    33
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
50
126
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed on several islands in the Cyclades and we absolutely loved staying in Santorini at the Heliotopos. The views are even more spectacular than the pictures show. The whole place has a very traditional feel to it. The staff makes you feel right at home with the delicious breakfast and the extremely helpful staff. The friendly atmosphere is almost contagious and even the guests are friendly to all the other visitors from all over the world.
The staff made sure to go out of their way and make our anniversary special :)

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The service at this hotel was excellent. Since the moment we got there, we were treated very well and they make you feel like you're at home. They made special reservations at restaurants, arranged for a rental car, gave us suggestions, recommendations and ideas to enjoy our stay at Santorini. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is absolutely delicious. Our room was great, it was always very clean and had beautiful views. I think this hotel is in a good location because it's between the two major cities of Fira and Oia, so you can go one way or the other. Our final positive note of their excellent service was when we left behind our iPhone (charging at the hotel), they found it for us and mailed it to us at our hotel in Athens, next day!!! We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

I booked this hotel after searching the internet for a romantic getaway for my husband and I who lead very hectic lives in the UK not spending much time together. This hotel had good testimonials on its web site and was voted the no 1 romantic hotel in Greece. This was far from our experience of Heliotopos. We arrived and was taken to our room which was down many, many flights of stairs to a room that I can only describe as basic. The bathroom was far from inviting with water pressure that hardly soaked the skin and no bath. and no storage. The beds were hard as were the pillows. There was no real storage for clothes or underwear other than a small cupboard, so you mostly had to keep stuff in your case. The worst thing for us was the private balcony which was far from private. We had a pedestrian walkway literally within a foot of our balcony area. So you could not eat outside, sunbath outside or even have yours doors open for fear of someone walking past and gawping in. This hotel is advertised as exclusively private. The long walk back up to reception is tiresome in the heat and the breakfast was served inside as opposed to outside looking over the view which was the only good thing about the place. The breakfast was ok but nothing to rave about as many have in their testimonials. The pool is smaller than it looks already on their website with room for only 2/3 sunbeds. This was in our opinion a 2/3 star hotel and did not warrant the 1600 euro price tag for the week. It was so bad we cut short our holiday and left after one day, as Santorini itself is probably one of the ugliest, quietest non- romantic places we have ever visited. The beach was over the other side of the island, the traffic was horrendous and the beach was like sitting in a gravel car park. We think it is only fair to let people know our experience so you can think again before booking this destination or hotel. I wish someone had done the same for us I ended it up in tears at Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Heliotopos Hotel is located in Imerovigli (a great location if you want to get away from the busy-ness of Fira), which is about 35 minutes walk on the pedestrian path to Fira. Our room had a balcony and windows facing the caldera, islands, beautiful blue water, and amazing sunsets. The rooms included a kitchenette. The room itself was spacious and clean, but minimally furnished, and could probably have used more comfortable furniture. The staff were very helpful in offering tips on where to go and what to do, as well as arranging taxis and booking excursions. The hotel offers a limited menu of snacks and beverages, as well as provides breakfast each morning. There is also a small pool and free access to internet for guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

A boutique hotel (<20 rooms), the advantage of the same is that the very affable Manager, Yiota knows all the guests personally and you can take her advice anytime. Excellent kitchenette , nice swimming pool overlooking the sea, however the bathroom's could be better. The free internet access + free Wifi is a great bonus.

If one wants privacy and a great view, Imerovigli is the place to stay (best sunset view in Santorini) , however if you want the night life too and shopping then Oia might be a better spot.

Hire a car or a ATV to move around though the public transport is quite good and cabs are available easily at the main spots.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Even if you're not getting married, this is one of the most spectacular, romantic places on earth.

For those of you looking for a destination wedding, give Heliotopos serious consideration. Situated right on the caldera, with a stunning view of the world renown Santorini sunset, this hotel is located in the smaller village of Imerovigli. It's midway between Fira and Oia and has less of the tourist travel...but still is within walking distance of all the nightlife and restaurants.

Lila coordinated our wedding and we could not have asked for a better wedding planner. She was so attentive to every detail. She was an excellent communicator throughout the process and made sure everything went according to plan. She approaches everything with the heart and eye of an artist. She even helped cook our wedding dinner - making us traditional Grecian delicacies and her special beer bread. She and the staff at Heliotopos gave us our fairytale wedding. In the week that we stayed in Santorini, she became family to us.

If you're just looking for a fabulous place to stay, it's hard to do better than Heliotopos. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The cave rooms are romantic and secluded - you feel like you have your own private villa with many of the rooms. The food...fantastic!

We highly recommend this hotel to others and we'll definitely be back for an anniversary trip or two! Morgan and Iain Muirhead

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heliotopos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliotopos Hotel

Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 84 700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#20 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heliotopos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heliotopos is a unique boutique hotel complex in the traditional dome style, with one or two storey suites and studio apartments. Built on the foundations of old island structures it has been constructed to reflect the beauty of Santorini's architecture. Located at the highest point of the crater-top (the rim of the Caldera) it offers an extraordinary, breathtaking view of the volcano, the sea and the surrounding islets from every point of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Heliotopos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliotopos Hotel Imerovigli
Heliotopos Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heliotopos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.