We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heliotopos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Heliotopos Hotel to your Saves list
Heliotopos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli, Imerovigli 84 700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Imerovigli
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique & Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This beautiful hotel had the most amazing staff of our entire trip. Warm and inviting! The hotel is so unique and cozy. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The views were absolutely breathtaking, every night we relaxed and watched the sunset from our balcony. Every night we also took a walk into town through the back walk way, about 30 minute walk. Worth every step as you oversee a view of the Sea and other sights. We highly recommend this hotel. Very charming!

Room Tip: All rooms have views, we stayed in the room with the cozy bed in a cove, with a window looking out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    37
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
55
137
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pfafftown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What a great, amazing view and exceptional service. I was recommended to the Heliotapas and I was not disappointed. My wife and 2 daughters (age 20 and 14) had adjoining rooms and were amazed by our sunsets and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great experience with staff here, really helped us with our trip and travel - just above and beyond great hospitality (helped us plan our last day so we could maximize our trip and still get to our flight). Amazing views. Great location.

The only drawback I thought was the room, in particular the bathroom. We were only there for two nights but the bathroom was really sub-par and smelly (maybe we got the bad room...regardless, it was pretty unpleasant, so we kept the door shut at all times and opened windows to air the place out).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Words are not enough to describe our experience in this lovely family run hotel! It was perfect. The views are worth a million words, the hospitality of all the staff members was incredible. From the moment I made the booking I felt I was going to stay at a close friends house. Nora and Eleni made sure we had to adjoining rooms and they were ready for our arrival and organised our transfer from the port. Our Luggage was taken to our rooms and we were provided with maps and directions for the walk to Fira. The breakfast was traditional homemade greek food and was delicious. We went to Oia for the sunset but there was no need as the sunset from our balcony was just as good if not better. The only minor comment would be that the bathroom was a little damp but that is only a small complaint compared to the beauty and hospitality of this wonderful boutique hotel! Thank you for making our stay in Santorini so memorable. I will be back!!!!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I'd better start by saying we stayed here in the off season (Feb 2014). It was very quiet, yet the weather was gorgeous. About 18 - 20 degrees C every day.

We chose this hotel after the place we had initially booked and paid for in Fira advised us the day before we were scheduled to arrive that they were closed for renovations and had booked us into another place in the main town. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise as the stay at Hotel Heliotopos was just perfect. It is a short taxi ride from the airport (we paid 20 Euro for a cab fare). When we turned up, the congenial host was not expecting us at all (owing to the hastiness of the booking). Despite being caught "on the hop", they graciously checked us in and asked us our plans. We mainly planned to chill and walk. Kostas, the owner, then gave us a book on the history of Santorini, a beautiful walking map and advised us on the best places to walk. We spent the next few days walking along the rugged coastline, enjoying the views and the gorgeous food in the very few Taverns and Cafes that had remained open during the season.

Breakfasts at Heliotopos were a joy. The woman who served us gave us fresh orange juice every morning and when we had finished one, immediately offered another. Breakfasts always included beautiful Greek specialties like Spanakopita or tyropites as well as a beautiful selection of breads. The coffee wasn't great (instant?)...but that was a small quibble and we drank several cups without complaining at all.

The room was split over two levels, very spacious and clean. I have read the other reviews about the bathrooms, and whilst it was pokey and water was sprayed around liberally during showers, it was perfectly adequate for our needs.

WiFi reception was great too.

In the evening, the breakfast space was converted to an atmospheric cafe (as it really looks like a cave in the side of a hill). Unfortunately, we did not avail ourselves of that, and regret we didn't.

Santorini at that time of the year is very quiet, and most of the restaurants and taverns were closed. Without a car, it was quite difficult to find something close by to eat. We got around this by having a late lunch in Fira (a 20 minute very scenic walk away) and then wine and nibbles in our room overlooking the caldera whilst the sun went down. Perfect. However, if you are someone who wants a big meal at night time, perhaps the hotel would do this in the cafe? In Summer this would not be a problem as there were so many taverns nearby.

This is a great place to unwind and enjoy the fabulous views from your hotel room or the terraces outside your hotel room door.

On our last day, we hired a car, which the good staff at Heliotopos organised for us. The car was dropped off at our hotel, and then we spent the day exploring the rest of the island, before dropping it off at the airport, to make our way back to Athens.

We loved our stay in Santorini and in future, we will try and stay here before flying back to Australia following a European sojourn on account of the place, the people, the culture, the food and the feel (as well as knocking a few extra hours off the return flight).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed five nights at the hotel and overall we're very pleased. While not a five star hotel, our accommodations were very good. We stayed in a two story room that was very clean, spacious and well appointed with a lovely balcony view of the caldera and sunset. The staff is super - very considerate and welcoming and extremely helpful - really nice people. The only area where a bit of improvement is due would be the breakfast. We found it a bit sparse. Of course,our room had a stove and refrigerator and we could have made our own. However, all things considered, this hotel is a very good value and we had a lovely stay. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We immediately felt immersed in the Greek Isle life. The architecture of the hotel is very interesting, with fantastic views. We loved everything about the setting, especially the locals travelling the paths by donkey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Heliotopos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliotopos Hotel

Address: Imerovigli, Imerovigli 84 700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#23 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heliotopos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heliotopos is a unique boutique hotel complex in the traditional dome style, with one or two storey suites and studio apartments. Built on the foundations of old island structures it has been constructed to reflect the beauty of Santorini's architecture. Located at the highest point of the crater-top (the rim of the Caldera) it offers an extraordinary, breathtaking view of the volcano, the sea and the surrounding islets from every point of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Heliotopos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliotopos Hotel Imerovigli
Heliotopos Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heliotopos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.