We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to Stay in Santorini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astra Suites

Save Saved
You added Astra Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astra Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 45, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
TOP 25 Hotels Worldwide
Ranked #2 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
“The Only Place to Stay in Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Perfect location, great facilities, fabulously attentive staff. Great location in Imerovigli. Good walk to the heart of Fira while being tucked away from the hustle and bustle of any touristy areas. George and his staff made everything pleasant and easy. Everything at the highest quality from food to service to views.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    757
    44
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
110
533
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The people working at Astra were the most warm, helpful, welcoming people we encountered in all the hotels we stayed at. The hotel was so gorgeous and the breakfast each morning was the best breakfast we had in two weeks. We ate at the restaurant one night and had the steak and it was probably top 5 steaks of our lives, and definitely the best meal in all of Greece and Italy. All around an excellent place to stay, and santorini was amazing too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just wonderful. This was a magnificent spot with amazing views and incredible sunset. Once there you never have to leave. We ate at the outdoor restaurant and at the pool, food was perfect. Breakfast was delivered to our room-always on time and highest quality. ALL of the Astra staff members were friendly and accomodating. Our suite was perfect. very comfortable for 3 of us and clean. Kostas our new friend at the pool bar is the best! He watched out for all of us and did whatever he could to make our days and nights memorable. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were recommended to stay in Imerovigli as it has the best views of the caldera sunsets...theAstra came most highly recommended for the friendliness of the staff and accommodations. The hotel delivered on all accounts. The views are breath-taking, the location is perfect (in btwn Fira and Oiia) and most importantly, the staff treated us like royalty. We were on our honeymoon and they delivered (champagne, wine upon arrival, chocolates, etc. pool is great and the restaurant food (which we decided to have delivered to our private balcony in our suite) was fantastic.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

As so many have said, the place is absolutely stunning. Not going to lie, Santorini is loaded with spectacular vistas from every corner, but the Astra Suites location and setting just seemed above and beyond almost any other. To start the staff has been trained to perfection and were flawless. From pickup at the ferry to the time we left, nothing seemed to be out of line. We were greeted by each person we encountered with their names and an introduction, were given a thorough overview of Santorini upon arrival, which really came in so handy. Our room was a Junior Suite overlooking the pool area. The bathroom was a bit tight, but very nice. Bed was very comfortable, the AC was great, and it was quite hot. As in all of Santorini, most of the balconies are not truly private in that they tend to sit next to pathways, but you really never think twice about it. You have this gorgeous view to concern yourself with. Pool area was perfect, small but never truly full. The barman was super nice and made great drinks. Pool area really shines at sunset, just a great photo each night. Ate at the restaurant one night, was outstanding. Only a handful of tables, and the view and setting are unbelievable. Staff, Christina and Costa, and food were topnotch. Few tips: The walk to Fira is about 30min, but it is not an easy walk. It is however, spectacular. Recommend it one night for a walk to dinner, but the walk back is mostly uphill, so take a cab or bus. They don't take AMEX, which bothers me to no end for a hotel with so many Americans, but more annoyingly give a lame excuse as to why (essentially that no one on Santorini accepts it, but we used ours daily). I recommend a car rental. The hotel also setup a car rental for us, which meant they brought a car to us, and we left the keys at the desk our last day, just so simple. But the island has much to explore, and a car just makes it so easy. Lastly, the breakfast was easily the best i have had in a hotel, and sitting out on a balcony eating each morning was perfection. I have hard time believing anyone would be disappointed at a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter, nh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is what we heard from our driver before arriving and from a number of folks every time we told them where we were staying. (Thank you True Greece for hooking us up at Astra Suites!!). The location is stunning, the views fabulous--this is the place to see the sun rise and the sunset. The staff was great. Breakfast in the am was fabulous--room service every day promptly on time and baked goods still warm from the oven. The food in both the restaurant and the bar was of the highest quality (try the Mediteranean sandwich). Service could not have been better--especially at the bar with our new Greek friend Kostas. Rooms are comfortable and clean, classic for Europe. We had a small suite and it was just right for me and my daughter. Thanks to all of our servers, especially Kostas who even hiked with the dad in our group in the am! The Astra Suites was the best! Keep up the great job and thanks for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

OK, this was to be a very special trip. And judging from the number of shots from our balcony that I posted on Facebook, it would appear that the view alone made our visit to Imerovigli a success. I echo what others have said about Astra service. George and Helen will suggest emphatically without patronizing. It's their island, of course, not mine, but how did they figure out my particular tastes so quickly and accurately? The recommendations (restaurants, sights, how much time to plan, etc.) were spot on -- and we had a great time. And the view! (Oh, I guess I'm repeating myself.)

One word of warning -- we did a lot of walking with lots of climbing stairs. We wanted exercise and we got it in spades. If you are not moderately fit and are expecting to use taxis and buses, it won't be as much fun. Santorini can be hot so be prepared. Of course, you could just hang on your balcony or at the pool and enjoy the view. (Oh, sorry.)

Almost ended without singing the praises of the breakfasts. Lots of choices, opportunity to consume quantity *and* quality, and, from the balcony, the added pleasure of the (drum roll ....... ) ____<fill in>.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#1 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astra Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.