We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astra Suites

Save Saved
You added Astra Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astra Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 45, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A week in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

All the views from the hotel are breathtaking. The service from the staff is exceptional and personal. They really care if you're enjoying your stay. The cave-like rooms facing the Aegean are totally romantic, and having a custom ordered breakfast served on your terrace every morning is the height of luxury. We had a honeymoon suite with a jacuzzi on the very spacious, private terrace. The island itself may be the prettiest I've seen, and I've been to many.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraSuites, General Manager at Astra Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your breakfasts on your own private balcony, after all, it is the most important meal of the day and the best source of energy to start a full day exploring Santorini. And yes, we too believe it is the prettiest island around!! We do hope you can come back soon to enjoy the beauty of our little paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    772
    44
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
114
542
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Absolutely one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The service was great and the view fantastic. ..
An absolute pleasure to stay we enjoyed every minute and will return. The breakfast on the balcony was great and our two daughters loved the cave like room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon at the Astra Suites in mid-September. From the moment that we arrived we felt completely at ease, thanks to George and the rest of the wonderful staff. They greeted us with champagne, roses, and fruit in our poolside suite, and even surprised us on one of the last days of the trip with complimentary champagne and chocolates in the hotel spa. Most days we enjoyed lounging poolside, taking in the view and feeling totally relaxed, however, we also ventured out on a number of occasions. One day we rented an ATV to explore the island, and George arranged for the ATV and the keys to be waiting for us at the hotel. Another day we went on the sunset cruise, the Thalassa, as recommended by the hotel, and had an amazing time hiking on a volcano, swimming in a hotspring, and sailing into the sunset with a glass of wine and appetizers. All in all we couldn't have had a more perfect honeymoon and hope to return again in the future. Thank you again George and everyone at Astra!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Astra Suites for our honeymoon in October. As the Bride, I did not know where we were going on honeymoon and only found out as we checked in at the airport. I had not heard much about Santorini before so did not know what to expect.

My overall experience was awesome. It was one of the best weeks of my life and Astra Suites contributed to this greatly. From the moment we arrived, we were looked after like VIP guests in a friendly and helpful manner with pently of suggestions about where we should visit on the island during our stay and where we should dine. All of the suggestions turned out to be really worth it. What made this special was how passionate and knowledgable the staff were about the hotel and the trips and restaurants they recommended. They came accross as genuinely pleased to see us which was very welcoming.

The sutie itself was fantastic. The view was breathtaking and my favourite part of the day was relaxing with a glass of Santorini wine while watching the sunset with my husband on our balcony, a memory that will stay with me forever.

The beginning of the day was not so bad either with room service breakfast delivered to our room each day as part of our package, a nice thing to wake up to!

Overall, I would love to go back and relive this week we had. With a direct flight from Gatwick with Easyjet, I am surprised that Santorini is not more well known (or maybe it is just me that had not heard much about it). I would definately recommend it for anybody looking for a romantic break away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

All the staff were fantastic at Astra, they were so friendly, helpful and warm. We found our room stylish and spacious with a great balcony and a beautiful view, where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning. The location was also perfect, it was removed from the busy cruise ship chaos of Fira and Oia but wasn't too quiet. There is also an amazing restaurant close by called Anogi, which doesn't have a view but has really tasty locally inspired food. We loved our holiday, it was a great mix of relaxation, food and taking in the sights of Santorini.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Astra suites was one of the first developments in the area, when I first visited 20 years ago. I thought I'd give it another try after so many years and was so blissfully surprised: every detail had been taken care of.
We arrived late at night on an early winter weekend, and someone called my mobile to make sure I found my way right, just as the ferry was mooring at the port!
The room we were offered was a beauty, Junior Suite 106, and had two balconies, one ideal for breakfast in the shade and one for sunbathing in privacy.
We were greeted by George, who also gave us a set of notes with what to see and do on the island, highliting the places that were still open!
The breakfast was served to order in our room and everything was freshly cooked.
I am definately going back there, hopefully earlier than 20 more years from now!

Room Tip: Make sure you define the level of privacy you want, as there are some really isolated suites and roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a beautiful hotel in the perfect location in Santorini. The view was more exceptional than words can describe. We were so lucky to have Skaros Rock just in front of us. We could watch people take the trail up and around it and did so ourselves.
The hotel amenities were amazing. Your choice of breakfast on your terrace every day! Who could ask for anything more!
The staff at the hotel were so friendly and accommodating and always anxious to hear of our adventures of the day. I can't say enough about their friendliness and professionalism. George greeted us to the hotel with warmth and full of great information about the island.
Santorini is an amazing destination and we felt this hotel made it all the better. Although Fira is the town you hear of most when looking at Santorini, it is much busier and more commercialized. Astra Suites is close enough for an easy 15 minute walk on the footpath to Fira if that's where you'd like to go, but Astra is in such a peaceful location that you can relax and enjoy the heavenly view.
Don't hesitate to book this hotel for your trip to Santorini. You will NOT be disappointed. We were 3 friends travelling together and our room was more than spacious with 2 terraces. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astra Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Suites

Address: PO Box 45, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#1 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the highest point of Santorini’s steep cliffs at the legendary caldera, the Astra Suites complex enjoys the privilege of a magical panoramic view to the caldera and the immense Aegean Sea. It is the place where everything and everybody “conspire” to make you feel a VIP during your vacations. Twenty seven sumptuous Suites decorated in Cycladic style and 8 tempting suites with jacuzzi and private swimming pool welcome you to a hospitable environment where the discreet service of each individual guest is the complex’s basic instinct, and the protection of his private moments constitutes the staff’s basic priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Astra Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Hotel
Astra Apartments Imerovigli
Astra Apartments Santorini
Astra Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astra Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.