We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our entire vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altana Traditional Houses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Altana Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Altana Traditional Houses
Thira, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The highlight of our entire vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's easy to get caught up in the $1,000/night hotels in Oia so I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked the Altana. It turned out to be an amazing experience and one of the highlights of our entire vacation.

One thing you don't find in a lot of guides or reviews is that Imerovigli is the highest point of all the cliff-side towns. The Altana had some of the best views overlooking the main town of Fira and the rest of the island. While Oia is a nice place to stay, it's somewhat secluded by narrow winding roads to get to the northern tip of the island. Imerovigli has a couple good restaurants nearby and you could walk 20 minutes through town to get to everything in Fira (I would not recommend staying in Fira due to some of the clubs and crowds).

What really set the Altana apart though was the service. Cristos and Marius (sorry if I misspelled your names) were superb hosts and will make top notch cocktails customized to your tastes. They knew all the best places to go on the island and really helped us navigate all the tourist traps. Literally not one of their recommendations was bad, which left me wanting to do as many as possible in the four days we were there.

Overall a great experience and I look forward to going back one day.

Room Tip: Not many rooms, based on walking around they all should have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    9
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
110
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at Altana in June 2014 with our three kids and it was the highlight of our entire trip to Greece. The rooms are fine, not great, and the bathrooms could use an upgrade, but the service provided by Cristos and Marios is like nothing we've ever experienced. They sat down and spent an hour planning every aspect of our three days in Santorini and it was well worth it. They sent us to restaurants and beaches that we never would have found on our own. I cannot rave enough about these guys. They even recommended a great neighborhood to walk around in in Athens after we left. The pool at the hotel is great and the views are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is just amazing! To begin with, the cave apartments are lovely and spacious. But what really makes this hotel special are the owners Mario and Christos. The hospitality, warmth, and attention to detail is unmatched. we travelled to Santorini on a family vacation with my father, who is 80, and our children, 12 and 15. Mario and Christos were so lovely and so much fun that found ourselves ending each day in the reception area with them, talking and socializing while our kids enjoyed the various treats they made them each night. It was a glorious stay- I would never stay anywhere else on Santorini. It was hard to say goodbye.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night of our recent trip to Santorini and it was amazing. Great location - amazing accomodations but what makes this place so special is the owners (the twins) are exceptional, they really go out of their way to make sure your stay is special. They cooked us up some special appetizers at a whim and they were amazing. We didn't get a chance to try their 5 course dinner but based on what we did try we would highly recommed it. Everything about this place was special and it is highly recommended - just make sure you book well in advance - they are very popular!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I recently went on our honeymoon the beginning of this month. We started in Mykonos and then arrived for a 4 night stay at Altana. Wow! First, we debated back and forth on which part of the island to stay on. Imerovigli, to me, was the best! And where Altana sits, it's like you're on the very top. The brothers, Mario & Christos, well as you can see, everyone posting reviews is talking about them. They are INCREDIBLE! They went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for us (even before we arrived..little mix up with transportation, no fault of theirs, but they tried correcting it for us). Upon arriving, Christos presented us with a beautiful plate of snacks (all local of course) and some delish Vin Santo. We asked how to make the most of our next 4 days and he mapped the whole trip out for us! Everything was perfect! The island of Santorini is spectacular...Altana was the cherry on top. We can't thank the brothers enough for making our stay absolutely perfect. We are hoping to make the trip back for our 10 year! If you're looking for a hotel with breathtaking views, a way to COMPLETELY unwind (no TVs or clocks in the rooms) and to feel as though you are family, look no further than Altana Traditional Houses! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I just recently stayed at Altana as part of our honeymoon, and we simply can't imagine our trip without it! The hotel is beautiful, charming, and offers all amenities one would want, but more than that, it offers Marios & Christos - the delightful twin brothers who run the place. With the twins, you will receive impeccable service, and personalized guidance for your trip to Santorini. They are seriously some of the kindest, friendliest people I've ever met. Upon arrival, Christos invited us to the lobby where he treated us to a taste of vinsanto (the traditional wine local to Santorini) and spent at least an hour taking us through a map of the island, asking us about our preferences, and tailoring his recommendations for our stay. He gave us pointers for restaurants, transportation, activities, etc, and let me say that every single tip he gave was SPOT ON. Not only were all of his restaurant and activity recommendations honest, but he also gently and accurately steered us away from some of the more touristy options. Anytime that we had a request, he was quick to offer a solution or his personal help. For example, when we decided to rent a car one day, he immediately called multiple rental car agencies to obtain quotes for us and had our chosen car delivered to the hotel within an hour. Aside from their friendliness and helpfulness, they have done a fantastic job with the property itself. The hotel is actually a renovated mansion built in the 1700s perched on a beautiful area of cliffside between Thira (noisy, busy tourist town) and Oia (slightly less noisy, busy tourist town) and being one of the highest points on the island, the views of the sea and caldera are spectacular and can be enjoyed from the terrace of any room/pool/lobby area where breakfast is served. Speaking of breakfast, the offerings (included with your stay) were fantastic. Each morning there was a spread of pastries, fruit, cheese, cereal, milk, yogurt, honey, and local jams. Additionally, another of the staff, Roberto, will make you a fantastic cup of french press coffee. The rooms themselves are absolutely adorable - clean, comfortable, and the decor is antique/eclectic and very much suits the hotel and the island. When my husband and I stayed at other more modern, commercialized hotels later in our stay, we both found ourselves missing the charm and personalization of Altana! I suppose the one concern we had going into our stay was the location in Imerovigli, one of the smaller villages on the island, but in retrospect we are so glad we stayed there. Thira and Oia are entirely too busy and noisy. We definitely spent time in those places (for restaurants, shopping) but they are both easily accessible. It is a short - and beautiful - walk (20-25 mins) from the hotel to Thira, and about 2-3 hour hike to Oia, which you simply must do if you are physically able. It took us 3 hours, but that was in large part due to the fact that my husband is very much into photography so there were many stops along the way for photo-taking. Heading back to the hotel from Oia, you can easily take the bus which is 1.60 euro/person, and it happens to be the most reliable and frequent bus route on the island. Just tell the driver to stop in Imerovigli on the way back to Thira and he will drop you ~3-5 mins from the hotel. Our only complaint about the hotel is that we fear it may have ruined us for life!!! I have a feeling I'll compare every hotel and B&B to it and no other will ever measure up! We can't encourage you enough to choose this spot and to take the recommendations for spending time on the island from Marios and Christos! They will not disappoint!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. We stayed in the Superior Apartment and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon, and staying at Altana was one of the absolute best things our travel agent arranged! This boutique hotel is like no place we have ever stayed. There are only a handful of rooms here, so the service provided by the owners (twin brothers Mario and Christos) is top notch. We were greeted with Vinsanto wine (wine made on the island with dried raisins-- soo good) and given information about the place and also some very good dinner recommendations (Christos recommended the fig and pork tenderloin at next-door Mezzo restaurant. One of the best things I ate all week!). We appreciated the honest advice on things to do and things NOT to do while on Santorini (ie the sunset on Oia is overrated, many other places to catch the beautiful sunset without being shoulder to shoulder with hundreds of other tourists!). And the breakfast each morning was stellar- I read a review from someone saying she went to bed every night looking forward to breakfast the next morning-- totally know the feeling! The breakfast was fresh, simple, amazing food. Organic honeydew melon one morning (I don't even like honeydew back in the US but out here, omg..must have), tomatoes, creme fraiche, lots of fresh pastries, cherry jam, very yummy Greek coffee, etc. The rooms were also comfortable, very clean, and each had a great view of the caldera. Being in Santorini, and especially staying at this beautiful hotel, feels like living in a postcard. This hotel is pricey, but is without a doubt was worth every penny to us. It's location was also prime in our opinion- about a 20 minute walk to Fira, and a beautiful 2 hour walk to Oia (or short bus ride). Imerovigli is not too crowded, accessible to larger parts of the island, but still in walking distance to wonderful restaurants. If you come here, you may not even want to leave the Altana at all! We hope to be back at the Altana for an anniversary one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altana Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altana Traditional Houses

Address: Thira, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Altana Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altana Traditional Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Altana Traditional Hotel
Hotel Altana Traditional
Altana Traditional Houses Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altana Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.