We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little corner of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altana Traditional Houses

Save Saved
You added Altana Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altana Traditional Houses
Thira, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A little corner of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

It's hard to describe how wonderful our stay was at Altana this past May.We had a gorgeous and very spacious suite with incredible panoramic views of the island. In walking distance (about 25 minutes) to the capital, Fira, Altana is situated in the quaint town of Imerovigli - an ideal spot for quiet sunset views and less touristy exploration of the local culture since its far enough away from the cruise ship traffic.

Cristos, Mario and their staff went above and beyond when it came to meeting our needs during our stay. Every detail was well thought out and they were kind enough to share their story with us in addition to helping us navigate our itinerary for each day, provide tips for hidden restaurant gems and really maximize our time in Santorini. We hope we are fortunate enough to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    8
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
101
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

There are so many nice things to write about Altana itself, its owners and the staff in general, that we literally don't know how to write this review and what to leave out of it! Therefore, in as few words as possible, it goes like this:

The twin brothers, Christos and Marios, were very helpful from the beginning of the whole process, in terms of answering our questions via email or telephone and providing any information requested. Things got even better when we met them in person, since they are genuinely nice guys who send out positive vibes effortlessly and obviously love what they are doing.

Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome and we were presented with maps of the island and pretty much all the necessary, customised "inside information" from our hosts, as to dos and don’ts while in Santorini. A word to the wise: just follow their suggestions and you won't regret it!

We stayed at the honeymoon suite and I can honestly say that this is THE place if you want to enjoy the sunset and the breathtaking views from probably the best private spot in the whole island, and generally spoil yourself silly, e.g. by relaxing in your own jacuzzi while drinking one the owners' wicked cocktails!

The communal places of the hotel are great too. A visit to the rooftop pool is a must-do and the Kafeneon at the entrance is so cosy and picturesque that often tourists passing by cannot resist the urge of at least taking a closer look, if not actually deviating from their original plans so as to have a drink in it.

We could go on writing page after page, but you get the picture anyway. So, last but by no means least, we should point out that everyone at Altana, owners and staff alike, give their 101% and are always there to help you in any way they possibly can. We know it all sounds a bit too-good-to-be-true sort of thing, but Altana has really set the standard for any hotel we may stay at in the future.

All in all, Altana is a fantastic choice for anyone wanting to avoid the hustle and bustle of Fira and Oia, without staying too far from them at the same time. If we ever go to Santorini again, we know for sure where we're gonna stay. Εις το επανιδείν λοιπόν!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The brothers of Altana got it right, and have a knack for design. I have never stayed at a more beautiful inn in my entire life. Mario and Cristos were so helpful and knowledgeable about the area and gave each guest a warm reception. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The views can't be matched, the service can't be beat. Marco and Christos run one of the friendliest hotels in one of the most breathtaking settings in Europe. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable, though the hard surfaces mean you're not waltzing on lush ground. Nevertheless, this doesn't factor in one bit to your pleasure. Wake up and be wowed by the views, enjoy the small infinity pool, sun bathe and eat at the delectable restaurants near by. Above all else, take the time to speak with Marco and Christos as you won't be disappointed with the conversations you strike.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

From arrival we received a warm family experience, with Mario and Chris welcoming us into their home. The accommodation was faultless and in our opinion the best views in santorini. We were in a VIP room from the beginning which was amazing then we were offered to move into the honeymoon sweet. We had a jacuzzi in our room, from which the views were incredible. Very romantic.

Best customer service I have ever experienced, they helped us booked our next destination. (If you read this mario and chris, your island recommendation was perfect and has been one of the highlights of our honeymoon)

Santorini is beautiful, Christos, Mario and Altana made our honeymoon special. Thanks again guys.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I had no idea what my hotel was before I went to Santorini because my travel agent had booked everything for me. WOW, did she make a good call!! Christos and Mario (twin brothers) who own the hotel are by far the most awesome hosts I have ever dealt with. Every single site they sent us to was amazing. We learned very quickly that we are way better off following their direction than to make choices on our own. Every night after a day of exploring it was like coming home. No matter what time you got back to the hotel, one of the brothers was there to greet you. And, with genuine interest on what your day consisted of.

I literally spent about 5 hours of one of my days on the island just sitting outside the hotel with Christos learning all about his family history and how they came to own the hotel. I don't think I have ever been so enambored with a story before. His parents bought the hotel in the 70's because his mother fell in love with the stairway. That same stairway is still used today. It is a focal point from the sidewalk outside. He explained the history of the island, the earthquakes that almost destroyed it, its growth into the tourist site it is now, and what its future entails. He even broke out an ancient book which showed pictures of his hotel which dated back to the 1920's. It was interesting to sit and watch the people walk by out front. A vast majority of them stopped to look at the hotel because of its street appeal.

Our room was perfect, the views were amazing and the service impecable. The hotel is situated so each room has its own privacy. The pool it the "highest pool on the island" which makes the views unbelievable while you are out there.

Santorini was one of the most picturesque places I have ever seen. It seemed like every corner you turned there was something more awesome to see. You combine that with Christos and Mario as your hosts and you end up the the PERFECT vacation. When I go back to the island I will without a doubt stay at the Altana.

Room Tip: All rooms have an awesome view. Our room was right above the bar/reception area which was good beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

From the moment we were met by christos, to the end of our visit, we were treated with the utmost care and service! Our hosts Christos and Mario were on top of it, taking care of any reservations we needed and had the perfect recommendations for restaurants, attractions, shopping, etc. it was clear that they truly cared about our satisfaction . Besides that they make excellent appetizers and drinks! The breakfast was superb.....all fresh local ingredients...nothing but the best. The additional staff was courteous and kind. Did I mention the views? The iconic blue dome was right outside our patio! And the sunsets were to die for! No need to go to Oia! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altana Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altana Traditional Houses

Address: Thira, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Altana Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altana Traditional Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Altana Traditional Hotel
Hotel Altana Traditional
Altana Traditional Houses Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altana Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.