We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmatched Experience in Santorini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altana Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Altana Traditional Houses to your Saves list
Altana Traditional Houses
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   , Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unmatched Experience in Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Christos and Marios, you guys are amazing. You made our trip.

Our stay in Santorini could have been much different. Our first trip to Greece, and our first stop was the Altana Traditional Suites, we didn't know what to expect. The trip up the hill on our way to Imerovigli took us through winding streets with more ATVs and scooters than we had ever seen; we passed by Fira, where the crowds and energy were just as overwhelming; and suddenly we stop at an unassuming pathway. A short walk through and we walk out to the most amazing view either of us had ever seen. Altana is perched atop the cliffs of Imerovigli, with an incredible view of the caldera, pictures really don't do it justice.

We stumbled down the steps to the "front desk" which is really more of a bar in the common room, where we were greeted by Christos. Christos and Marios were the most attentive and friendly hosts; it was like we were sitting in their living room every time we stopped in. Over the course of our stay we got to know them, and had some great conversations over drinks at their fantastic bar. They bring fruits and vegetables from their family farm, and we were treated to some amazing mixology from Marios while Christos whipped up a "snack" that turned into a feast of sandwiches, fresh vegetables, and a delicious dip.

The rooms we stayed in were both beautiful, and they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite after our first night (i challenge you to find a better view from a *shower* anywhere). Very tastefully decorated, and the views are just incredible. Under the guidance of Christos, we got an ATV and explored the island. He basically planned our trip for us, it was amazing! We would go down at breakfast and talk to him and Marios about what we were thinking for the day, and soak up their suggestions, then hit the road to fill our days as much as possible. We completely fell in love with Santorini, and Altana in particular, in no small part due to these two amazing hosts. I can't recommend this place enough, I'm shamelessly promoting it with everyone I know.

My only regret is that we didn't have more time.

Room Tip: Any room is well worth it. Don't hesitate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    9
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
133
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We paid €450 per night and we're extremely disappointed and felt ripped off. Last thing you expected is that a honeymoon suite have a double bed! Me and my new wife could barely fit on the bed. Very obvious oversight on their behalf as you can imagine the bed is essential for any honeymoon.


There was nothing luxurious about this €450 per night honeymoon suite. Air conditioner was more like a fan, the bathroom had a funny smelt the whole tim and all the amenities were very basic. They didn't even have room service so it felt very much like a bed and breakfast. Even the "free breakfast" was just jams and bread.

The view was lovely but the room, price and how basic everything was was really disappointing. I could have got a whole lot more with the price we paid.

We felt absolutely ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Altana - completely authentic, displaying it's historic roots at every turn, traditional style mixed with the warmest of Greek welcomes from Christos and Marios. Unbeatable views over the Calderas...! Thanks so much for a wonderful couple of days ....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altana_T_H, Owner at Altana Traditional Houses, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We want to take this opportunity to thank all our guests, visitors and friends of Altana, for their support, love and...reviews of course!! We are nearing the end of our 30th season and we are delighted to have enjoyed all this positive energy but also all the information and feedback that helps us as we strive to be better every year! ...Always keeping the Altana spirit alive, a huge THANK YOU and our BEST WISHES to all the travelers that have made all these years very special indeed!!

Christos, Marios & the whole Altana Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned from 4 amazing nights at Altana Suites. Starting off with probably the best location on the island, with breathtaking views and spectacular sunsets. Altana has managed to create a unique balance of luxury and sopistication, with all the charm and history that comes with this historic old captains house, everything from the charming decor to the fresh herbs and perfectly chosen pieces scattered throughout the property. What takes this to another level is the service from all the staff. Mario and Chris made our stay a delight from their spot on recommendations for everything from restaurants to museums, their exquisite cocktail creations and their genuine hospitality and charm. A truly special place. Ross & Alana

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

6 nights in Altana were exactly what we needed to emerge in the beauties, culture and purity of the island of Santorini!
Santorini is without a doubt the "Queen of Aegean Sea". The dramatic views of the Calderas, the gastronomy with the numerous fantastic local products, the culture and history you see while walking around the island and discovering its rich past, the crystal clear water of the seas...

However, what made us write this review and made these holidays special, was the hospitality, passion, warmth and friendliness of Christos and Marios who are the bright stars of Altana.
They are the owners, managers, friends and everything else they need to be to make your stay, an unforgettable one!

Altana is a perfect choice if you want to get the Real Santorini Experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Where do I begin? So much to say about Altana Traditional Houses but I think its charm is in the owners, the twins Marios and Christos who embody what it means to be a warm and welcoming host and provide some great hospitality - always taking time out to chat to their guests even though they had a million things to do, always making sure our needs were taken care of from the transport to giving us recommendations of restaurants and sights to offering us their killer home made drinks! Not to mention they have such lovely and friendly staff who were always helpful with a smile. It really made a difference and I am very grateful!
In terms of location, you can't ask for a better place to stay in Santorini. As others before me have said, the views are breathtaking and go on for miles and miles. The pool was so refreshing and the rooms are quite charming. My friend and I stayed in the 2 bedroom suite and we had so much space - we had our own bathroom and our own double beds with a huge living area which had 2 day beds. Very very comfortable and relaxing. I am definitely coming back next summer!!!! Thanks again Marios and Christos... you guys are awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have to admit, I am a Santorini fun - and when I think of Santorini, only Imerovigli comes to mind. Please don't get me wrong: Oia is beautiful, Firostefani is picturesque, Fira is vibrant, but Imerovigli is the real thing... It's quiet, still traditional, but most of all it's right on top: it is the only spot where you can actually see the whole island: Acrotiri on the left, Oia on the right and Palia Kameni (and the volcano) right in the middle - after all Santorini is all about the view, right? And Altana has the best view on the island - doesn't matter which veranda you stand on (not true: the one from the honeymoon suite is simply breathtaking...). The suites are so tastefully decorated, the mattresses so comfy, the bathrooms so modern and clean - it simply doesn't get any better!! Well actually it does: wait until you try Christos' and Marios' hospitality... Those two are gifted, so friendly and helpful, yet so professional and reliable - congrats boys! You have a real jewel there!

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon Suite or the one with the outdoor Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
0.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.7 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#14 of 45 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#2 of 45 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#27 of 45 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreams Luxury Suites
Dreams Luxury Suites
#6 of 45 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#3 of 77 in Fira
5.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altana Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altana Traditional Houses

Address: , Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#4 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#5 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Altana Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming boutique hotel brings centuries-old style, history and hospitality luxuriously to life at the highest point of Santorini’s breathtaking volcanic Caldera, in Imerovigli. The restoration project of a Traditional Mansion owned by a family of generations of Captains that began in 1979 established Altana Hotel in 1983 as the first high standard guest house in the area of Imerovigli and certainly among the first on the Santorinian Caldera. This historical building complex dating back over a century, between 1779 and 1883 has been preserved, restored and renovated to meet the highest standards of modern luxury. The 6 apartments and 8 suites at Altana, each unique, blend traditional local architecture and aesthetics with modern amenities that tastefully cater for any true traveler's comfort. A unique sensitivity to detail and restored original objects revive the simple elegance of tradition and pay homage to the history of the mansion. A deeply personal service philosophy offers a unique hospitality experience in a setting surrounded by an endless horizon of blue in a bird’s eye view of the Santorinian Caldera, the Volcano, and the whole of the Southern Aegean Sea, including the neighboring islands. Enjoy a dip under the sun in the highest swimming pool on the island and feel free against the sea breeze. Lose your breath to the vibrant sunrises and mystical sunsets from your private veranda. Relax in your suite’s private Jacuzzi pool or rejuvenate your mind and body with a plethora of massage, yoga, chi-kung and beauty treatments. Enjoy homemade breakfast till noon or experiment with local homemade delicacies, sweets and wine-tasting at ‘Kafeneion’, our preserved cave-house bistro. Sample a world of gastronomy with our cooking lessons, gourmet degustation & private candle-lit dinner experiences, which incorporate our own organically grown produce straight from the volcanic soil of the Altana farm. Savor the atmosphere of relaxation and discovery that will inspire some of the most romantic and exciting moments of your life. Dive into the magic of something old and discover something new...welcome to Altana, let us immerse you into the magic of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Altana Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altana Traditional Houses Hotel Imerovigli
Altana Traditional Hotel
Hotel Altana Traditional
Altana Traditional Houses Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altana Traditional Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.