We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of most spectacular location we have ever been” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honeymoon Petra Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Honeymoon Petra Villas to your Saves list
Honeymoon Petra Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 150, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Lyon, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of most spectacular location we have ever been”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from Honeymoon Petra in Santorini. The hotel is definitely one of the best we have ever been. Everything to smallest detail was perfect, and I really mean it. The girls (Olga, Evie) at reception are friendly and helpful. The view has took our breath away, they have the best 360 view, on Oia and Fira and of course caldera. That was one of the few hotels which was accepting kids, surrounding were quite safe for small children. We stayed in Honeymoon suite and it was HUGE! One room for kids, dining room, master bedroom with jacuzzi, and shower, please see pics. The room was recently renovated with high quality materials - natural stone hand sink, mosaics in bathroom, massage shower... The suite is located near reception, very quiet and with amazing view. But bit far from pool. If you don't mind walking, that will be just perfect. Only one thing to mention, wifi doesn't work well in this area. So had no wifi in our room. The place where was the Honeymoon Suite is featured on every Santorini postcard, no joke, so don't forget your camera!....For the breakfast we had a great choice, fresh juices, local organic products. If you have kids it is the best place to stay in Santorini - the pool is the biggest on the cliff...Also they have their own sailing center, so we took the caldera sunset cruise and also we rented Santa Maria Yacht. The food is great and whole experience was perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, the hotel had total renovation recently. We stayed in Honeymoon traditional sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    36
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
140
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are going to Santorini, stay here! The Honeymoon Petra Villas are every bit as amazing as they look in the pictures...probably more. The location was perfect; close enough to Fira to walk in every day if you want, but far enough away to feel separated from the hustle and bustle. The views were magnificent, and the staff went out of their way to make us feel looked after in every way possible. By the end of the week, we were almost as sad to leave them as we were the island! The owner was often present, greeting us each morning and evening and making sure we were enjoying every minute of our stay. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of food; i was there with my three teenagers and they were all able to find foods that they liked (not always an easy task!). The daytime menu was equally satisfying. For my family, the best part of the hotel was the pool. It was larger and deeper than the other pools we saw on the island, with breathtaking views. We spent a good part of each day relaxing by the pool (and swimming of course), and enjoyed the late afternoons and evenings exploring Fira, Oia, and other parts of the island. Staff in the main office were always ready and willing to give suggestions for excursions, book taxis, recommend restaurants, etc. Overall, we had amazing experience at Honeymoon Petra Villas and would happily return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just back from a fantastic holiday in Santorini. Still an island that very few people in the UK have ever heard of!

We stayed at the Honeymoon Petra Villas in Imerovigli and what a good idea that was!

All the Hotels in this part of Santorini are of a particular type. Most of the buildings you see in the photographs, cascading over the top of the cliffs down into the Caldera, are now Hotel accommodations. Having stayed there for a week (and being pretty nosey), I have come to the conclusion that Honeymoon Villas is one of the best - if not THE best!

It is amazing! It is immaculate, well run, peaceful and stunning! I can't think of any other place on Santorini that could possibly have a better view. It is the highest point of the Caldera and the views of the Volcano, Thira (Fira) and all the goings on down below are breathtaking!

The Hotel itself is quite a sprawling affair. It has the 'Traditional' part and the 'Petra' part. The traditional rooms and suites are fairly scattered around the cliff side, with some near the reception area which is quite far from the pool and breakfast area and some which are below the pool area. I have to say, though, that they all looked lovely - with personalities all their own.

We stayed in the newer Petra part which was very nice indeed. These are near the pool facilities and are all very fresh and clean. Everything worked, including the Air Conditioning! Which is very un-Greek! (Based on my many previous Greek exploits!) Lovely bed, fantastic rain shower with limitless hot water. About 200 channels on the TV, 190 of which were German, but, well, so what...

Breakfast was superb. Served from 8am - 10am. You will be greeted by one of the girls and presented with freshly squeezed orange juice and a choice of Tea or Coffee. You then set youself loose in the breakfast buffet area and go for it! Fantastic! Pick a spot by the pool to eat or in the breakfast area above the pool if you like.

Only downside for me, personally, was the presence of the owner, Yanni. His 'office' was sitting at one of the tables where breakfast was eaten, next to the pool. He positioned himself there for a high proportion of the day, and I didn't like that. I realise that some people do though as at least he was easily available if you needed to talk to him! I found him to be bit a bit too much of a presence. Not a problem, though. He was nice enough to the guests...

Having said that, he did run a very tight ship. The place was utterly immaculate and obviously his pride and joy. Can't knock that!

Food is served from the pool bar all day until 6pm. It's a pretty extensive menu and some of the best food we ate the whole week was from the Honeymoon kitchens. Superb.

Pool was lovely too. Never busy. Probably because it was pretty cold! Very refreshing!

Fira is a very pleasant 20 - 30 min stroll away from the Hotel. We actually only went once and we timed it all wrong! Keep an eye on the number of liners that are anchored in the bay below the hotel and don't bother trying to visit Fira when there are any more than two down there! We went when there was three and Fira was basically totally gridlocked with tourists! Not good.

Fantastic place though! Lots of pretty good gift and fashion shops with more eating possibilities than you can imagine. Easy to spend a whole day there, just try and time your visit better than we did!

Imerovigli has many good Restaurants. Most have fantastic Caldera views, but our favourite, Anogi, had no views at all. What it does have is a nice buzz and good food, served with a smile! Ate there three times. Very popular, so either pre-book, eat early or just wing it and hope for the best! It's worth it!

Ate at The Blue Note, round the north side of Imerovigli, one night which was stunning! Time your meal with the sunset. Food was pretty good, especially the Burger!

Did the Volcano trip on the Saturday which was enjoyable. My wife especially enjoyed it as the guide was a very handsome chap apparently! In fact most of the ladies seemed to enjoy the trip! He was a good looking bloke, but he also new his stuff! He is a volcanologist who does some tour guiding as opposed to a tour guide who had to buff up on volcanos. He leapt about the volcano with great enthusiasm and told us the whole story of Santorini and how it got to be the way it is today. Good day.

Weather is consistently hot! Breezy at times, but hot! Bring a good book, some good suntan lotion, an empty belly and enjoy!

We'll be back...

Jimmy and Sandra Hamilton

Room Tip: The Petra rooms and the Traditional rooms are all very nice, but the Petra Rooms are probably better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorebridge, Midlothian
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay - we never saw anywhere else that looked as good. Location was excellent & the poolside & views were out of this world. The staff were also fantastic - could not fault them - nothing was too much trouble.

Plenty of eating places closeby & the walk into Fira was enjoyable & only takes about 25mins.

If you are considering Santorini definitely consider this place - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Loved our week at Petra honeymoon Villa's complimentary bottle of wine and fruit basket on arrival followed by a complimentary drink by the pool on our first day ,
Position perfect quiet and relaxing with the most amazing horizon pool great breakfast and bar
Menu throughout the day with the most breathtaking views and amazing sunsets !!!!!!
Walking distance to fira approx 20 minutes we did it most days ,bus stop nearby comes every 20 minutes ,so if your not driving easy to get to were you
need to go.
All the staff from the owner Yianni who is there to welcome everyone daily to the reception staff Evi or Olga,bar manager matoula or the guys and girls that carry your bags or serve your meals you are
made to feel very special we would not hesitate to return to Santorini and Petra honeymoon Villas ...
Best part of our month long holiday !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a great place to come and relax and feel special . Right after check in we meet the owner by the pool who had a great demeanor and what a view from his office!!!! The food offered at breakfast and lunch was top notch and so fresh. The staff at the pool bar and servers were always there with a smile and happy to help. Great local restaurant recommendations as well. Our room was a caldera view and had a great comfortable bed and satisfying rain shower. After that not much need for staying I there :-). 110 percent recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel was everything we were looking for! The spectacular scenery was something we admired every day - from first waking and pulling back the curtains the view was simply stunning. The service was excellent from day one and on arrival we were greeted and helped with luggage and offered a welcome drink, plus a complimentary bottle of wine in our room. We had a traditional room which we loved. It was small but had everything we needed and had character, and as mentioned the view from the terrace was heavenly. We had to walk down the steps to the breakfast area and pool and that was fine. Being at the top meant we didn't have people walking past us and was very private. Coming back up the steps late afternoon was difficult on the first day but by the end of the week was easy ;) Imerovigli is charming, small and quiet but plenty of places to chose to eat. We would buy local produce (including wine) from Jimmy's supermarket (good quality) and have lunch on our terrace. We walked to Skaros rock one morning - not too far and well worth it - there is a little church hidden behind and below the rock - beautiful. We walked to Fira (half and hour for us) and we caught the local bus to Oia - again well worth the hair raising ride. We walked down to the harbour (more steps) but fantastic meal and perfect view of the renowned sunset. We took a sailing trip on the Carpe Diem, swam in the hot springs of the volcano, and enjoyed the bbq with wine - a perfect and memorable day. I would recommend this hotel and location to anyone. (and wish we were still there)!! Would we go back? TOMORROW if it were possible!

Room Tip: We had one of the traditional rooms and although small (smaller than the new rooms) we liked the aut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honeymoon Petra Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeymoon Petra Villas

Address: PO Box 150, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#18 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeymoon Petra Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the magical island of Santorini, in the charming village of Imerovigli, Honeymoon Petra luxury hotel stands perched above the deep blue Aegean Sea.Family owned and run, this unique 5 star Santorini hotel has a lot more to offer than just accommodation. Its extraordinary views, rich Greek flavor and unique hospitality, distinguish it as a remarkably unique and tranquil heaven.The Pool, the biggest one on the Caldera, is hewn out of the volcanic rock and the facilities around it include a steam room and outdoor Jacuzzi, a Pool Bar and Day restaurant, a BBQ area, a breakfast area with panoramic views and large, comfortable lounge chairs and daybeds for the ultimate relaxation experience. From the pool area guests can experience some of the most awe-inspiring sunsets in the world.One of the most extraordinary luxury hotels in Santorini, Honeymoon Petra offers stylish and comfortable accommodation, taking full advantage of its breathtaking location and views of the caldera, volcano and the satellite islands of Santorini. The complex is developed in 2 wings; the Traditional Wing, a group of 9 luxury Rooms & Suites built into the rock, in the traditional style of the island, and the Petra Wing, a group of 17 luxury Rooms & Suites built from the rocks of the volcanic mountains.Honeymoon Petra Villas, a luxury hotel tucked quaintly into the rock, is 10km away from the international airport, 2km from the capital of the island Fira and closely located to the ancient fortress of Skaros.Distinguishing from other Santorini luxury hotels, Honeymoon Petra will make your stay an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Honeymoon Petra Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeymoon Petra Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Hotel
Honeymoon Petra Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeymoon Petra Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.