We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of this world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honeymoon Petra Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Honeymoon Petra Villas to your Saves list
Honeymoon Petra Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 150, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Gorebridge, Midlothian
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay - we never saw anywhere else that looked as good. Location was excellent & the poolside & views were out of this world. The staff were also fantastic - could not fault them - nothing was too much trouble.

Plenty of eating places closeby & the walk into Fira was enjoyable & only takes about 25mins.

If you are considering Santorini definitely consider this place - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    36
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
140
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Loved our week at Petra honeymoon Villa's complimentary bottle of wine and fruit basket on arrival followed by a complimentary drink by the pool on our first day ,
Position perfect quiet and relaxing with the most amazing horizon pool great breakfast and bar
Menu throughout the day with the most breathtaking views and amazing sunsets !!!!!!
Walking distance to fira approx 20 minutes we did it most days ,bus stop nearby comes every 20 minutes ,so if your not driving easy to get to were you
need to go.
All the staff from the owner Yianni who is there to welcome everyone daily to the reception staff Evi or Olga,bar manager matoula or the guys and girls that carry your bags or serve your meals you are
made to feel very special we would not hesitate to return to Santorini and Petra honeymoon Villas ...
Best part of our month long holiday !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a great place to come and relax and feel special . Right after check in we meet the owner by the pool who had a great demeanor and what a view from his office!!!! The food offered at breakfast and lunch was top notch and so fresh. The staff at the pool bar and servers were always there with a smile and happy to help. Great local restaurant recommendations as well. Our room was a caldera view and had a great comfortable bed and satisfying rain shower. After that not much need for staying I there :-). 110 percent recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel was everything we were looking for! The spectacular scenery was something we admired every day - from first waking and pulling back the curtains the view was simply stunning. The service was excellent from day one and on arrival we were greeted and helped with luggage and offered a welcome drink, plus a complimentary bottle of wine in our room. We had a traditional room which we loved. It was small but had everything we needed and had character, and as mentioned the view from the terrace was heavenly. We had to walk down the steps to the breakfast area and pool and that was fine. Being at the top meant we didn't have people walking past us and was very private. Coming back up the steps late afternoon was difficult on the first day but by the end of the week was easy ;) Imerovigli is charming, small and quiet but plenty of places to chose to eat. We would buy local produce (including wine) from Jimmy's supermarket (good quality) and have lunch on our terrace. We walked to Skaros rock one morning - not too far and well worth it - there is a little church hidden behind and below the rock - beautiful. We walked to Fira (half and hour for us) and we caught the local bus to Oia - again well worth the hair raising ride. We walked down to the harbour (more steps) but fantastic meal and perfect view of the renowned sunset. We took a sailing trip on the Carpe Diem, swam in the hot springs of the volcano, and enjoyed the bbq with wine - a perfect and memorable day. I would recommend this hotel and location to anyone. (and wish we were still there)!! Would we go back? TOMORROW if it were possible!

Room Tip: We had one of the traditional rooms and although small (smaller than the new rooms) we liked the aut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

What a truly spectacular hotel! Although located about a 15 minute walk from capital Fira, I must say if tranquility is what you desire with views to enjoy minus the crowds, look no further. Honeymoon Petra Villas is a unique hotel built right into the cliff face.

Owner Yani has put his heart & soul into the design of the place which includes interesting architecture & designed in such a way that the the hotel feels very quiet.

We stayed in the Petra wing which is the new area. Yes, there were quite a few stairs to tackle but is to be expected at any accommodation on the Caldera. The rooms were extremely clean & comfortable, & the bed was the best I've slept in.

All the staff were so friendly & nothing too much trouble. Would also highly recommend the semi private sunset cruise run by the owners son - on par with the hotel - an absolute Santorini highlight!!

Imerovigli is a cute little town with lovely restaurants & peaceful. We were happy spending most of our time here but did walk into Fira a couple of times.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was my second stay in Santorini and it didn't start very well after my original hotel made a booking error and we were put into the Honeymoon Villas instead.
The hotel (both my originally booked one and the Petra) did their best to make up for this error though. Just be careful if you decide to chill your welcome bottle of wine in the fridge door- ours ended up smashed on the ground after opening the door a bit too quick..

The hotels out look is back towards Fira (not towards the sunset) but if you can stake out a table at the pool area for sunset if you like.

Our room was in the lower area below the pool, our room was pretty big with a large bathroom with spa and also a separate sitting room. I'm not quite sure of the point of the sitting room, we didn't go in there once or bother with the spa as the pool is quite refreshing and spectacular.

The pool is said to be the biggest in the Imervoligi area and it is quite amazing but the areas around the pool have the potential to be quite busy, our first day the only lounges left we next to a pair of chain smoking Greeks with a bad case of verbal diarrhea and there were also a couple of quite loud children running around. The days after that we got there early and reserved our spot and didn't have any problems finding a quiet space as the children in the hotel also checked out.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel, which was nice but could of done with some more fresh fruit.

Yes the hotel has stairs but if you come to Santorini and stay on the caldera you must be delusional to think that there wont be any.

If I travel to Santorini again I don't think this would be my first choice as I prefer a smaller boutique hotel and from my last trip I felt that the view on the other side of Imeroviligi, and being able to watch the sunset over Oia from my room is a lot better.

Room Tip: The rooms in the bottom area are newer and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Our first time to Santorini & we stayed for a week early June. Did a fair bit of research to get hotel with views but were still amazed how such a beautiful boutique hotel could be build in to the rocks. Views over the sea were perfect. You could sunbathe whilst watching the cruise liners come in & no problems getting a sun lounger which were so comfy (and told they cost €4,000 each) - so this kinda sets the scene.

Our room was lovely, like an igloo with rounded ceilings, separate shower room (no bath) and extensive outside space. No turndown service but it didn't matter. Complimentary bottle of red & welcome drink on arrival. A few things to note - the free wifi was very hit & miss & seemed to work best in your room. Also the TV didn't have a clear picture, nor any non local channels so we didn't bother using it at all.

Only breakfast & lunch served in the hotel - although pool bar open 24/7. Staff are very friendly & can't do enough for you, but everything is very chilled & relaxed so leave your city urgency-ness at home - lunch can take up to 40mins post ordering but, when you've got fab views & a chilled glass of wine in your hand, you can't complain.

Not sure what the policy is on kids but for sure it seemed like an adults hotel & so it was calm & very relaxing. Each night we'd walk to the town (around 30 mins & we walk fast) although there is a smaller town with some lovely restaurants on the way. We'd tend to walk to Fira for a few cocktails before coming back to the town a bit nearer for dinner. All restaurants have a great view aside from a fab sushi restaurant, but the food made up for it.

Biggest tip for the ladies - don't take stiletto heels! I lived in wedges & even bought an extra pair in the fab shops in Fira. Everywhere is cobbled & uneven so you get a mini work out whilst away. Approx 70 high steps from my room to the pool so this hotel & Island is not geared up people with any kind of walking disability. On the plus side you won't put on much weight during your stay.

If we wanted a totally chilled week away we'd head back here for sure. Very luxurious & friendly. Can get a bit windy at times & chilly at night layers are key!

Be prepared for a nightmare airport going home - 2 hours of walking to check in (and queuing outside) so eat & have a few glasses before you head there to see you through.

A little gem of a hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honeymoon Petra Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeymoon Petra Villas

Address: PO Box 150, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#18 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeymoon Petra Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the magical island of Santorini, in the charming village of Imerovigli, Honeymoon Petra luxury hotel stands perched above the deep blue Aegean Sea.Family owned and run, this unique 5 star Santorini hotel has a lot more to offer than just accommodation. Its extraordinary views, rich Greek flavor and unique hospitality, distinguish it as a remarkably unique and tranquil heaven.The Pool, the biggest one on the Caldera, is hewn out of the volcanic rock and the facilities around it include a steam room and outdoor Jacuzzi, a Pool Bar and Day restaurant, a BBQ area, a breakfast area with panoramic views and large, comfortable lounge chairs and daybeds for the ultimate relaxation experience. From the pool area guests can experience some of the most awe-inspiring sunsets in the world.One of the most extraordinary luxury hotels in Santorini, Honeymoon Petra offers stylish and comfortable accommodation, taking full advantage of its breathtaking location and views of the caldera, volcano and the satellite islands of Santorini. The complex is developed in 2 wings; the Traditional Wing, a group of 9 luxury Rooms & Suites built into the rock, in the traditional style of the island, and the Petra Wing, a group of 17 luxury Rooms & Suites built from the rocks of the volcanic mountains.Honeymoon Petra Villas, a luxury hotel tucked quaintly into the rock, is 10km away from the international airport, 2km from the capital of the island Fira and closely located to the ancient fortress of Skaros.Distinguishing from other Santorini luxury hotels, Honeymoon Petra will make your stay an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Honeymoon Petra Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeymoon Petra Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Hotel
Honeymoon Petra Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeymoon Petra Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.