We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honeymoon Petra Villas

Save Saved
You added Honeymoon Petra Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Honeymoon Petra Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 150, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Barrie, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is the third time we have visited this hotel. It did not disappoint. We stayed in Room 20 which consisted of two rooms, one with a loft. The Villa was dug right into the cliff. A complimentary bottle of wine and a bowl of fruit awaited us. Our bedroom consisted of a very comfortable king size bed with a clean soft duvet, a sensible closet complete with safe and many lamps. A large window overlooking the water completed the picture. Dressing gowns were folded neatly on the bed along with plenty of soft towels.

We had a minifridge with a complimentary large bottle of water. There was plenty of cutlery and dishes, a sink, in fact, everything a person would want in a small apartment was available. We bought beer and soft drinks in town which was much cheaper than buying it from the hotel pool bar. There was a table and another closet in this room. The loft contained another bed which we did not use but we stored our luggage there. The bathroom was small but very functional. We had good water pressure and no lots of hot water.

This property has a fabulous pool. One can swim right to the edge of the pool and lie in the water, elbows on the edge, and overlook the caldera and the water below. Absolutely spectacular. The water was a bit chilly but very refreshing after a hot day exploring the the island. Speaking of spectacular, this Hotel has perhaps the best sunset view on the island. Forget Oia; the Honneymoon Villas Petra sunset is unsurpassed.

Breakfast was a treat in itself. Everrything one could possibly want was available. Fresh breads, hot croissants, a variety of cereals and cheeses, fresh fruits and vergetables, boiled, scrambled or fried eggs complimented with sausages and/or bacon, a medley of sauteed mushrooms and, of couse plenty of that marvellous Greek yogurt. The coffee was freshly brewed and delicious. Sitting overlooking the water, high up on the cliff, enjoying a leisurely breakfast was breathtaking.

We had a lovely patio outside our room with Muskoka type chairs and a table. It was peaceful to sit overlooking the caldera and watch the cruises ships go about their business of tendering tourists.

To emphasize how this well hotel looks after guests consider the following. We had to catch a flight early on the last day of our visit. We had to be at the airport at 5 o'clock in the morning. We were prepared to have a small box of fruit and perhaps a bun before leaving. But no, a full breakfast was waiting for us at the restuarant. Hot coffee, toast, cheese etc. What a treat. Our luggage was picked up and delivered to the pick-up point in plenty of time to catch our bus.

I could continue to sing praises concerning this property but will close with the comment that this is a hotel dedicated to customer service. They do not know how to say no to any request. Our third trip to this hotel was certainly the best. We fully intend to return to Santorini and will definitely stay at the Honeymoon Villas. All I can say is bravo to this hotel and their cheerful and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    26
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
102
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ses-Paisses, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been with my wife at Honeymoon Petra for a week this summer.
The location is fantastic and you can enjoy a breathtaking view. The pool is large, very particular and from the pool area there is a beautiful view. It seems to be suspended in a fantastic landscape maybe I was expecting something more from the room, because it was bare and simple.
Surely the beauty of the landscape and the comfort of the structure make you forget other small flaws.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently stayed at Petra Honeymoon Villas (mid Sept) for 3 nights. The grounds, pool area and views from the pool area are incredbile. We reserved a standard room which we felt would be fine for our needs for a 3 night stay on the island. However, the room was sub par to say the least as it was very dated and in need of major renovation and overall better cleaning.
The bathroom was unbelieveably small for an adult couple with virtually no lighting. The shower area is basically unuseable due to it's size and no lighting. My husband ended up using the pool shower a couple of times...which was not ideal either. We did speak to the staff about it but they were full capacity and could not upgrade us. I would have not stayed at this hotel if I knew what the accomodations were for the standard room.

The staff however was very nice, in particular Evie and Gianna were great. And, we did arrange a catamarin tour with their sailing center and that experience was incredible. Elena, Michael and the entire crew was just awesome!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite. Do not book the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed 4 days and sailed for 4 days with Santorini Sailing Center. Both were first class. Views from hotel are breathtaking. Service was excellent including reception, baggage transport, breakfast, lunch and bar staff. Imerovigli is 15 minute walk from Fira. Very quiet, away from tourist boat crowds. We will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned from Honeymoon Petra Villas. It was Heaven! The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. There are lots of steps so not for people with walking difficulties but the bags are transported for you from the bus to your room.The location is probably the best in Imerovigli, with stunning views of the caldera and the sunset. We visited as a birthday treat for my husband but it was more like a second honeymoon. This was one of the best places we have ever visited and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Petra part of the hotel as the old part is quite a walk away from the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September and had the most enjoyable experience. The hotel is at one of the highest points on the island giving it the best spot to survey the caldera with views that can only be described as unreal.
Our room was perfect with views to match, always kept very clean and tidy by staff who clearly took great trouble to ensure everything was right. We had a "standard room" which was everything we could have wished for.
The food and service at the hotel were extremely good and all the staff regardless of their duties were not just helpful but very friendly which made our time all the more enjoyable.
The location of the hotel is ideal as it is possible to walk to Thira the capital in about 30 minutes or go by a very short bus ride in the opposite direction to my favourite town Oia (a town not to be missed).
We travel extensively but have to say this place is special so if you have not got this on your list of places to visit make sure its at the top of the list together with a stay at the Honeymoon Petra Villas.
Loved Santorini, loved the hotel, loved the food and loved the locals even more.

Room Tip: If choosing a standard room make sure its on the opposite side of the main path to reception as thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Petra honeymoon villas for our honeymoon, having just came back two days ago. This hotel is truly impressive and we still cannot get over the stunning views. Imerovigli is the quietest and most beautiful village in Santorini, it is not as crowded with tourists and is ideal for honeymooners and people searching for peace and quiet while enjoying spectacular views. The village has the most ideal spot on the island so you really get the best, 360 degrees, stunning views. But the Honeymoon Petra villas is the place where you should stay - it has the most outdoor space, it is architecturally impressive, and the views it offers are the best I have ever seen. The outdoor area really offers unbelievable views, the pool bar area is to die for and the different levels on which you can find super comfortable sunbeds and sofas offers you the chance to discover every time more and new elements of this stunning view. The service in the hotel is more than amazing, everyone working there is incredibly lovely and friendly, while really professional and they make you feel like you are part of the family. Evi and Olga are truly amazing and by the time we left I felt like we were friends! The owner of the hotel, Ioannis, is a really friendly and generous person, he not only treated us drinks at the pool at night and let us know interesting details of how he built this spectacular place, but was also so generous as to treat us our final night stay in the hotel!!! He is a really interesting individual and if you see him around you should definitely talk to him, the history of how the Petra hotel was created is worth knowing. The hotel is truly spectacular, the rooms are very stylish, we were so lucky to be upgraded to a delux double, which is really spacious, very nicely decorated in a modern but slightly rustic style, the bathrooms are really lovely and the outside space truly breathtaking - every guest gets to have their own sunbeds with an amazing view, you could spend eternity staring outside your window or balcony and never get bored of this spectacular place. The breakfasts were really lovely, there was a huge selection of everything you could want and you get the pleasure of choosing a different spot on the many levels with tables, all offering a different view. The sunsets are absolutely amazing in Santorini and the hotel offers - and everyone we spoke agrees on this point - the best views on the island. You really have to experience the sunsets from the prime spot on which the hotel is situated. I cannot get over the amazing infinity pool and the great time we had drinking freshly squeezed juices in the pool while enjoying the spectacular views. Santorini is a unique and stunningly beautiful island and everyone should experience it in their lifetime. The Petra Honeymoon Villas is the best place you can stay in in Santorini: the views will leave you totally impressed and the lovely staff will make you feel at home with their generosity and impeccable hospitality. I really cannot wait to return to this place, it was the most amazing place I have ever visited.

Room Tip: any room on the new wing is very nicely decorated in modern, yet slightly rustic, style and has incr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honeymoon Petra Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeymoon Petra Villas

Also Known As:
Honeymoon Petra Villas Hotel
Honeymoon Petra Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Hotel
Honeymoon Petra Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece
Address: PO Box 150, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#27 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeymoon Petra Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the magical island of Santorini, in the charming village of Imerovigli, Honeymoon Petra luxury hotel stands perched above the deep blue Aegean Sea.Family owned and run, this unique 5 star Santorini hotel has a lot more to offer than just accommodation. Its extraordinary views, rich Greek flavor and unique hospitality, distinguish it as a remarkably unique and tranquil heaven.The Pool, the biggest one on the Caldera, is hewn out of the volcanic rock and the facilities around it include a steam room and outdoor Jacuzzi, a Pool Bar and Day restaurant, a BBQ area, a breakfast area with panoramic views and large, comfortable lounge chairs and daybeds for the ultimate relaxation experience. From the pool area guests can experience some of the most awe-inspiring sunsets in the world.One of the most extraordinary luxury hotels in Santorini, Honeymoon Petra offers stylish and comfortable accommodation, taking full advantage of its breathtaking location and views of the caldera, volcano and the satellite islands of Santorini. The complex is developed in 2 wings; the Traditional Wing, a group of 9 luxury Rooms & Suites built into the rock, in the traditional style of the island, and the Petra Wing, a group of 17 luxury Rooms & Suites built from the rocks of the volcanic mountains.Honeymoon Petra Villas, a luxury hotel tucked quaintly into the rock, is 10km away from the international airport, 2km from the capital of the island Fira and closely located to the ancient fortress of Skaros.Distinguishing from other Santorini luxury hotels, Honeymoon Petra will make your stay an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Honeymoon Petra Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeymoon Petra Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.