We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honeymoon Petra Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Honeymoon Petra Villas to your Saves list
Honeymoon Petra Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 150, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ses-Paisses, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Breathtaking view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been with my wife at Honeymoon Petra for a week this summer.
The location is fantastic and you can enjoy a breathtaking view. The pool is large, very particular and from the pool area there is a beautiful view. It seems to be suspended in a fantastic landscape maybe I was expecting something more from the room, because it was bare and simple.
Surely the beauty of the landscape and the comfort of the structure make you forget other small flaws.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    37
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
23
144
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently stayed at Petra Honeymoon Villas (mid Sept) for 3 nights. The grounds, pool area and views from the pool area are incredbile. We reserved a standard room which we felt would be fine for our needs for a 3 night stay on the island. However, the room was sub par to say the least as it was very dated and in need of major renovation and overall better cleaning.
The bathroom was unbelieveably small for an adult couple with virtually no lighting. The shower area is basically unuseable due to it's size and no lighting. My husband ended up using the pool shower a couple of times...which was not ideal either. We did speak to the staff about it but they were full capacity and could not upgrade us. I would have not stayed at this hotel if I knew what the accomodations were for the standard room.

The staff however was very nice, in particular Evie and Gianna were great. And, we did arrange a catamarin tour with their sailing center and that experience was incredible. Elena, Michael and the entire crew was just awesome!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite. Do not book the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed 4 days and sailed for 4 days with Santorini Sailing Center. Both were first class. Views from hotel are breathtaking. Service was excellent including reception, baggage transport, breakfast, lunch and bar staff. Imerovigli is 15 minute walk from Fira. Very quiet, away from tourist boat crowds. We will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned from Honeymoon Petra Villas. It was Heaven! The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. There are lots of steps so not for people with walking difficulties but the bags are transported for you from the bus to your room.The location is probably the best in Imerovigli, with stunning views of the caldera and the sunset. We visited as a birthday treat for my husband but it was more like a second honeymoon. This was one of the best places we have ever visited and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Petra part of the hotel as the old part is quite a walk away from the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September and had the most enjoyable experience. The hotel is at one of the highest points on the island giving it the best spot to survey the caldera with views that can only be described as unreal.
Our room was perfect with views to match, always kept very clean and tidy by staff who clearly took great trouble to ensure everything was right. We had a "standard room" which was everything we could have wished for.
The food and service at the hotel were extremely good and all the staff regardless of their duties were not just helpful but very friendly which made our time all the more enjoyable.
The location of the hotel is ideal as it is possible to walk to Thira the capital in about 30 minutes or go by a very short bus ride in the opposite direction to my favourite town Oia (a town not to be missed).
We travel extensively but have to say this place is special so if you have not got this on your list of places to visit make sure its at the top of the list together with a stay at the Honeymoon Petra Villas.
Loved Santorini, loved the hotel, loved the food and loved the locals even more.

Room Tip: If choosing a standard room make sure its on the opposite side of the main path to reception as thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Petra honeymoon villas for our honeymoon, having just came back two days ago. This hotel is truly impressive and we still cannot get over the stunning views. Imerovigli is the quietest and most beautiful village in Santorini, it is not as crowded with tourists and is ideal for honeymooners and people searching for peace and quiet while enjoying spectacular views. The village has the most ideal spot on the island so you really get the best, 360 degrees, stunning views. But the Honeymoon Petra villas is the place where you should stay - it has the most outdoor space, it is architecturally impressive, and the views it offers are the best I have ever seen. The outdoor area really offers unbelievable views, the pool bar area is to die for and the different levels on which you can find super comfortable sunbeds and sofas offers you the chance to discover every time more and new elements of this stunning view. The service in the hotel is more than amazing, everyone working there is incredibly lovely and friendly, while really professional and they make you feel like you are part of the family. Evi and Olga are truly amazing and by the time we left I felt like we were friends! The owner of the hotel, Ioannis, is a really friendly and generous person, he not only treated us drinks at the pool at night and let us know interesting details of how he built this spectacular place, but was also so generous as to treat us our final night stay in the hotel!!! He is a really interesting individual and if you see him around you should definitely talk to him, the history of how the Petra hotel was created is worth knowing. The hotel is truly spectacular, the rooms are very stylish, we were so lucky to be upgraded to a delux double, which is really spacious, very nicely decorated in a modern but slightly rustic style, the bathrooms are really lovely and the outside space truly breathtaking - every guest gets to have their own sunbeds with an amazing view, you could spend eternity staring outside your window or balcony and never get bored of this spectacular place. The breakfasts were really lovely, there was a huge selection of everything you could want and you get the pleasure of choosing a different spot on the many levels with tables, all offering a different view. The sunsets are absolutely amazing in Santorini and the hotel offers - and everyone we spoke agrees on this point - the best views on the island. You really have to experience the sunsets from the prime spot on which the hotel is situated. I cannot get over the amazing infinity pool and the great time we had drinking freshly squeezed juices in the pool while enjoying the spectacular views. Santorini is a unique and stunningly beautiful island and everyone should experience it in their lifetime. The Petra Honeymoon Villas is the best place you can stay in in Santorini: the views will leave you totally impressed and the lovely staff will make you feel at home with their generosity and impeccable hospitality. I really cannot wait to return to this place, it was the most amazing place I have ever visited.

Room Tip: any room on the new wing is very nicely decorated in modern, yet slightly rustic, style and has incr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent a week at this wonderful hotel in August. We were promptly picked up at the airport by a friendly, smiling driver and transported to the hotel in an air conditioned coach with a complimentary cold drink. We were then taken to reception where we were greeted by Evi and then given a tour of the hotel. It has about 25 rooms, so not too large or not too small.

I have to say, the reason it is the best, is that the place is the lifelong passion by the owner Mr Yannis. You can tell he has put his heart and soul into the design and service to ensure a perfect holiday. He is also a very interesting man to speak to. He is on site and oversees the operation daily and everything runs like clockwork.

To describe the views out to the Caldera as stunning breathtaking is an understatement! Photographs cannot capture the beauty and serenity. It is also the most perfect place to watch the sunset, the tables are aligned for the best view and you can have drinks socially watching the sun go down. We made nice friends with the other guests who stayed there.

We stayed in the New Honeymoon Suite which was immaculate and brand new feeling. The bed was very comfortable, the sitting area was spacious and very modern, and the bathroom was well equipped with a large walk in shower and wonderful jazuzzi tub.. Both our room and the pool area/hotel complex were immaculately clean and well maintained by hotel staff. Rooms were cleaned when we were at breakfast and we had very plush pool towels to use.

The staff at the hotel were AMAZING. Mr Yannis and the breakfast/barstaff girls were just fabulous. We were always greeted with a big smile and a chat. Nothing was ever too much trouble. We have never been so well looked after and made to feel at home as we felt at Petra Villas. On the very first morning, we were told at breakfast if there was any special request, it would be no problem and they would get it for us. And thoughout the day, the girls who were the pool staff, everything was done with a huge smile and to absolutle perfection.

As part of the stay, you are connected and have complete access to the Santorine Saling Centre. Mr Yannis son runs the boats. We did an day out on the sparkling water. Here too, every little detail was perfect, all done with a smile and nothing we wanted was a problem.

In conclusion, we are booking same week next year and this time for a longer stay. It was so relaxing and we were made to feel like king and queen. There are alot of choices in Santorini to stay at, we were completely satisfied in everyway and there is nothing better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honeymoon Petra Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeymoon Petra Villas

Address: PO Box 150, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#18 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeymoon Petra Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the magical island of Santorini, in the charming village of Imerovigli, Honeymoon Petra luxury hotel stands perched above the deep blue Aegean Sea.Family owned and run, this unique 5 star Santorini hotel has a lot more to offer than just accommodation. Its extraordinary views, rich Greek flavor and unique hospitality, distinguish it as a remarkably unique and tranquil heaven.The Pool, the biggest one on the Caldera, is hewn out of the volcanic rock and the facilities around it include a steam room and outdoor Jacuzzi, a Pool Bar and Day restaurant, a BBQ area, a breakfast area with panoramic views and large, comfortable lounge chairs and daybeds for the ultimate relaxation experience. From the pool area guests can experience some of the most awe-inspiring sunsets in the world.One of the most extraordinary luxury hotels in Santorini, Honeymoon Petra offers stylish and comfortable accommodation, taking full advantage of its breathtaking location and views of the caldera, volcano and the satellite islands of Santorini. The complex is developed in 2 wings; the Traditional Wing, a group of 9 luxury Rooms & Suites built into the rock, in the traditional style of the island, and the Petra Wing, a group of 17 luxury Rooms & Suites built from the rocks of the volcanic mountains.Honeymoon Petra Villas, a luxury hotel tucked quaintly into the rock, is 10km away from the international airport, 2km from the capital of the island Fira and closely located to the ancient fortress of Skaros.Distinguishing from other Santorini luxury hotels, Honeymoon Petra will make your stay an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Honeymoon Petra Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeymoon Petra Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Hotel
Honeymoon Petra Imerovigli
Honeymoon Petra Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeymoon Petra Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.