We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Service and fantastic location maked our honeymoon unforgetable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chromata Hotel to your Saves list
Chromata Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Esslingen
1 review
“Perfect Service and fantastic location maked our honeymoon unforgetable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

room No. 16 is not recommendable, and room No. 10 is a dream

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    49
    7
    13
    8
See reviews for
22
266
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

good place for honey moon! stunning views, you will remember life long!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cananda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Chromata for 3 nights during our honeymoon. The view probably best in the area. Peggy was awesome and really adds to the hotel. We didn't use all the hotels facilites but the housecleaning staff was great as well. We came back to our room and our clothes were hung up or folded and our toiletry items were organized and placed in a wooden box on the desk.

Our room had a dip pool in the bathroom. Perhaps if the pool was in the main part of the room or on the balcony it would be worth spending the extra for. The rooms are cave like and the bathroom is at the back so there is no ventilation. There was a strong sulphur smell. It just wasn't somewhere we wanted to hang out and even if the weather was extremely hot I still won't want to be suffocating in the bathroom to cool down. We booked through a travel agent so I don't know what we paid per night and I'm a hesitant to look it up.

Other than the pool our room was great but be prepared for stairs. All the hotels are built on the edge of the cliff so they have many stairs. There was also free internet and you could take the lap top to your room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We recently just returned from an 11 night stay at the Chromata Hotel. First of all when we parked our car and walked around to the hotel, the view was the most breathtaking view we had ever seen, obviously our hotel was in the best location. We were greeted by Peggy and Rhoula with an ice cold glass of champagne; we were just mesmerized by the stunning view. We were shown around the place and then shown to our room; we had been upgraded to a suite. The room was very large and had a huge bathroom. I have read from other guest that there was an unusual smell from the bathroom, we did smell something a little weird but I guess it is just from lack of ventilation in the cave like rooms, but it didn’t both us at all. We had a large balcony with an amazing view. I read a review from one guy that said his balcony was dirty until the last day, I kind of find that really hard to believe because although we did see cats around, we never saw any cat soil on our balcony and the maintenance guy must of cleaned our balcony 3 times a day, any drop of sand for example was cleaned up nearly as quick as it dropped. The hotel was spotless, and the guy that said there were dirty towels, I really find that hard to believe too, they were constantly cleaning all day long.
The service at the hotel is the best we have ever received in any hotel we have stayed at. They couldn’t have helped us more. One day we locked our keys in our car as we were about to board a boat to another Island, we called Peggy and she took care of everything, when we came back that evening our car was open and the keys left for us. They booked all our trips, restaurants, helped us in every way possible to make our stay welcome. The wait staff too was amazing, we couldn’t off asked for better service. The attention Peggy gave us was amazing, she definitely make a huge difference to our vacation, she was fun, friendly, informative and she was like our best friend when we left.
The only negative for me with the hotel was the cold pool, my husband didn’t mind it but it was too cold for me. The hotel is closing down in October till April for a complete remodel; they are going to be extending the pool and putting in a poolside bar which would have also been nice. After hearing the plans for the new upgrades it will certainly be a fantastic place to stay. Also the location of the hotel is fantastic. There are 4 or 5 restaurants within a minute from the hotel and quite a few little shops and bakeries. The walk to Fira is great, about 20 mins but we are really glad we didn’t stay in Fira; it was nice to be away from all the hustle and bustle. Oai is 20 min drive and we thought Oai was fantastic, we wished we had stayed there a c couple of nights. Chromota is in between Fira and Oai and is just the perfect location to be in. Santorini is one of the most beautiful places we have been to. Also we drove around most of the Island and the best beach we found was Kamari Beach, it’s the beach you see when you fly in, great beach town, loads of great Taverns and shops. We also did the wine museum, which was OK, not sure I would do it again. We booked to go on the catamaran from the place across the street from the hotel, which was a fantastic day.

Oh and the breakfast every morning on the balcony was fantastic. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a week at the Chromata from 25/08/09 to 01/09/09 and were blown away from the time we arrived till the time we left. We were greeted with a smile and a glass of Champagne while trying to take in one of the most breathtaking views we have ever seen.
We were originally booked into the "On The Rocks" hotel but were changed due to our room being unavailable. The room we were given was huge and had a large dip pool (approx 8ft round by 4ft deep) which came in handy when the heat got too much (room 8 if you still have to book).
The staff cannot be praised enough. They were there when you needed them and and in the background when you didn't. This made for a thoroughly chilled out and relaxing holiday. Don't go if you expect a gaudy chandelier type hotel as you will thoroughly disappointed but if you prefer quiet sofistication, this is the place for you.........

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

I have travelled extensively throughout the world and this is by far THE best hotel i have ever stayed in, mainly due to the unrivalled quality of the customer service my wife and i received during our week long (4th-11th August) stay at Chromata. We were on the first week of our honeymoon (second week Naxos) and after all the stress of planning a wedding and a generally hectic year, we couldn't have found a more perfect place to relax!

From the moment we arrived until we reluctantly checked out we were treated like Royalty. A Champagne reception, our bags carried all over the place by the porter, friendly smiling staff who always say hello and don't just scuttle past you, beautiful public spaces/pool area/balconies, and our room always immaculate when we returned from our days exploring around the island. Obviously the views are incredible, breathtaking as well, but this hotel is so much more than that!

Don't believe any of the rubbish reviews you read about this place, i have just sat here creased with laughter at some peoples comments; someone complaining about having a real metal key instead of an electronic one was my personal favourite, and cracked marble?!?!? What a bunch of loonies!

Yes, of course there are steps here, the hotel is on the side of a cliff! But whoever wrote that his 24 year old ultra fit, hill walking wife found them difficult must be on crack. I'm a 27 year old, 5'8'', fifteen stone (technically obese) pasty Englishman who hasn't exercised for well over a year, and I had no problem. Honestly it gets me so angry that these people winge about the most ridiculous things.

Our special thanks must go to Peggy and Themistocles for their excellent, unbiased recommendations and opinions of restaurants/car hire/boat trips etc that made our honeymoon so fantastic, cheers guys! We will definitely return and will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Toby and Nicola Cruse. North Yorkshire, England.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

I never imagined there would be a hotel where you'd have the sense of pure bliss.
This is how we felt staying in Chromata. The location is perfect, there is absolute
calmness, the staff can read your mind... is there more you can ask for?
We had a second honeymoon in Chromata,
I hope there will be a third one soon, sipping wine at the edge of the caldera, surrounde by people who are professionals and really enjoy what they do!
Thank you Roula, Phgh, Themh, the hotel chef and all the staff.
We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Address: Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#10 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chromata Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chromata Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.