We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous- no complaints!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chromata Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chromata Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chromata Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous- no complaints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Amazing place with delicious breakfast served to your own private terrace, beautiful modern and white furnishings, excellent service, delicious and high quality poolside food & cocktails, and spectacular views. Also the best sunsets on the island are a 4 minute walk away (ignore those who claim Oia has better sunsets- we saw both), and we dined at the most delicious restaurant also 4 minutes away called Mezzo. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Stella,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued condescension.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    45
    6
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
255
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our stay at Chromata in July. The views are amazing, accommodations are nice, and staff is very helpful and friendly. We also particularly liked the breakfast that was brought to our patio each morning.

Room Tip: Room 5 had a Jacuzzi in it. We did not use the feature and thought it made our room very humid. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Jamie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Santorini!

Sunny Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at Chromata for a week in July and would definitely recommend. Hotel is in a beautiful setting on the cliffs overlooking the sea and everything is stylish and immaculate, from the infinity pool area to the hotel rooms. The hotel cave rooms have lots of nice touches, such as an iPod dock and Nespresso machine (!), lovely big bathroom and balcony with sea views, however what really stood out for us were the friendly staff and great service. Everyone was so kind and accommodating.
We originally thought of staying in Oia but decided on Imerovigli in the end and were so glad we did. It's a lovely place, lots of nice restaurants, a 20 minute walk from Fira and a short drive from Oia. Imerovigli doesn't get overrun by the cruise ship crowds like Oia seems to and it's just as beautiful and has perfect sunset views without the crowds.
Overall, fabulous relaxing stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea views so there isn't really a bad choice. We stayed in room 6 (a double I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear LucyAnne,

Thank you for such kind words in your recent review! It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. You could not have composed a better and more balanced description of how one can have the best time of their stay here.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wonderful small hotel up the cliff few minutes from Thia. Xllent service n very helpful staff. Large n minimalist room. Access to a winderful beach 20 mns by road. We highly recommend it and hope to get back there next year! Xllent quality price ratio

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. It is extremely rewarding to receive such positive comment and this is perhaps the greatest motivation one in the hospitality industry might have.

Sunny Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We (our 18 year old daughter and us) stayed four days at this incredible Hotel. The rooms, the view, service, people, food are beyond wonderful. This is probably one of the nicest places we have been to in a long time. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Any of the suites at the hotel. They are cave like rooms beautifully designed with great bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued condescension.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited Chromata after reading reviews for our minimoon and let me tell you we had the perfect stay!

we stayed for 5 nights and i think this was about the right amount of time needed.

On arrival we were greeted and shown around the hotel before being taken to our room. We didnt get an upgrade for being on our honeymoon because they didnt have the availability which was a shame but it wasn't a major issue because we we treated like royalty anyway.

when staying in this hotel you are made to feel like you are the king and queen. the staff always have time for you and nothing is ever too much to ask.

the rooms were cave like so a bit smaller than what you would usually expect but to be honest if you want huge rooms then santorini is probably not the best place for you. the bathrooms were quite spacious with an overhead shower as well as a detachable shower head.

The room comes equipped with an ipod docking station with music on an ipod as well. Also on arrival we had a chilled bottle of wine in our room and fresh fruit as well.

the house keeping staff gave atleast 2 bottles of water to us daily as well as small dark chocolate pieces which was yum!

The hotel were happy to make reservations for us at restaurants and also gave us a phone to take out and about with us incase we needed to call them which was useful.

The breakfast in this hotel is probably the best i've ever had at a hotel. you order what you want off the menu and they bring it to you. as much or as little as you want. the breakfast varied from every type of egg you could want, toasties (ham/cheese), toast, fruit salad, amazing pancakes, croissants, cereal and so much more as well as a huge selection of drinks! Yannis who works at the hotel even remembered what I had for breakfast and reminded me the following day if I wanted that again when I forgot to order it! He is amazing! as are the rest of the team who are like one big hapy family.

if you order the day before you can have your breakfast bought to you on your balcony so that you have a view which we did a couple of times and it was perfect!

in terms of the location it was the best place to stay as it was in between Thira, which is more touristy but where most things happen and Oia, which is in my opinion the best place to see the sunset.

there are a number of good restaurants nearby like the Aegeon which just recently opened and the food is great and also bella thira, la maison are all walking distance.

Do not think twice about booking the Chromata if you want a relaxing time. You will feel like you're the only one staying at the hotel because of the level of service you get!

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms over look the caldera so whichever room you get it will be a good view! we stayed in Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Vikki,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extended and adorable review!

We are happy to know we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a wonderful stay. It is our aim to have guests leave happy and amazed and thinking about their next trip back.

More importantly, congratulations on your Honeymoon ! We are so grateful that you chose to spend such an important romantic and lifetime memory escape at Chromata Hotel!

Sunny Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

3 nights were not enough in such Hotel.

An outstanding view on the Caldera (best in Santorini), a very comfortable and neat place to spend the holiday - specially that we were on our honeymoon...

I would start with the staff:

Mike, the manager is a real professional person able to handle all issues that guests MIGHT have!

Tasos & Mike (afternoon / night shift) are two adorable persons... They really did a lot while we were staying there... I can never repay them (unless they visit us in Lebanon )

Staff, Hotel, Food and surely the View are far the BEST OF THE BEST !

Thanks a lot for this outstanding experience...

1 more tip: choose room #21 (it's the best )

Love, Joe & Amanda

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Joe,

What a delightful review to read ! Rest assured, it has been a pleasure for Mike (who extends his best salutations) and all his team to take care of you. We will always be here for you and ready to welcome you again in our arms and hearts !

Have a wonderful time back home and take care !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#8 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#14 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chromata Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Escapio, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chromata Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.