We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chromata Hotel to your Saves list
Chromata Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous and memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

First, the location is awesome. The town is close to everything but not full of touristy places. Nearby Fira can easily be reached by walking. The service was friendly, helpful and impecable. Clearly, all the staff works very hard. The premises are beautiful and tastefully decorated. The rooms are well appointed. All rooms have a patio overlooking the water.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Spaff,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you as well for mentioning the great service your received from our staff.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    49
    7
    13
    8
See reviews for
22
266
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed in the junior suite and was impressed by its size. The views are stunning and what made the hotel stood out was its service. I had arrived at 6 am and the manager that welcomed me at the hotel made breakfast for me and left a note for the kitchen staff who arrived at 7.30 am to serve me more breakfast. Also instead of the 2 pm check in, the GM, Mike kindly let me check in at 11am when the room was ready and served up diet coke and sparkling water. The gestures were much appreciated. The hotel is very well maintained and despite a 'hurricane' on the first night, you can see the staff diligently cleaning the hotel the next morning to ensure a pleasant stay for the guests. All in all, Chromata is a beautiful hotel with great service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Shu28,

We’re very happy to hear that you were impressed by the size of your junior suite and that you found the service great. On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to let you know how grateful we are that you have chosen us for your Santorini vacation destination.

We appreciate you sharing your experience here and we hope to welcome you back again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We loved Chromata Hotel for its really amazing view, the wonderful and perfect breakfast but especially for the really great staff. Everyone at Chromata is so nice and we really had the feeling that every guest is treated here in a very special way, not just like a 'normal guest' what we really appreciated and what made our holiday at Chromata so special. It was amazing that they even made Pizza for us although they do not offer it on their menu.. just because we told Mike one evening that we like pizza. We couldn't believe so much attention - we loved the Pizza and they really surprised us with this! We also enjoyed the nights at the bar where we had the possibility to talk with the staff in a more private way.. Mike, Tassos, Yannis, Giannis and all the others - thanks so much, this was a great vacation for us! hope to see you again someday!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Julia,

thank you for the kind words and great review! We truly appreciate it and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Caldera view suite. We're also very happy to know that you particularly enjoyed the "pizza surprise", we're always striving to do more!

Your nice thoughts will be shared with our entire team and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just returned from 5 nights at this beautiful 'cave-like' accommodation in stunning Santorini! Our room (Junior Suite, number 18) was perfect! Inside was clean, large, including a lounge chair and dining area and the large outdoor patio, included two pool beds and a table and chairs. View was spectacular...and the infinity pool overlooking the Caldera was perfect! There is a cold and hot spa in two different locations within the complex. Staff were extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble! They recommended fabulous restaurants, all very reasonable, so take their advice! We highly recommend all restaurants/tavernas we visited including Metaxi Mas, (a taxi ride to the village of Exo Gonia is required), Anogi, Nicholas and The Aegean all within walking distance. Be aware, as with most of the accommodation along this area, there are a lot of stairs!

Room Tip: Junior Suite, number 18, fabulous location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Suesanne,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay, nothing make us happier than when our guests have had a wonderful stay with us. It's always great to hear, I'll pass your comments on to the entire team.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at Chromata with my husband, for our wedding in May 2014.

The team at Chromata, especially Michalis and Tasos, worked hard to accommodate all our "crazy" needs (things can get wild over a wedding period). The staff was always friendly, nice and eager to help out. They booked taxis, mini vans, shuttles for us and our guests any time we called (finding taxis in Santorini can get really challenging). They expedited dry cleaning my wedding gown and my husband's suit before the wedding. The day of the wedding they were even able to get me a second mirror for the room I was getting ready in a matter of few minutes!

We stayed in the junior suite and booked the honeymoon suite for the wedding day as well. Both rooms were gorgeous, with amazing caldera (sea) views and hot tubs overlooking the volcano.
We had private patios in both rooms where we could order breakfast/lunch. The food by the way was amazing.

We are definitely coming back to Chromata in the future. We couldn't expect anything more from the hotel and the staff! The experience overall was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear guests,

We’re thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and that our staff was able to provide detailed touches to your trip that made your wedding as you've dreamed of.

Thank you for sharing and we hope to welcome you back for your wedding anniversary soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The team at Chromata worked very hard to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Mike the manager was so helpful, booking dinners, organizing rental car and being attentive whenever we needed.

We stayed in the jacuzzi room which, which we were up graded to. We dont enjoy jacuzzi's so that part was wasted on us. The views from every room are great, and waking up to have breakfast overlooking the caldera was lovely. I read the comments from the guest complaining about the humidity, and the island was humid last week, and our room was a little damp. We asked Mike to drain the jacuzzi, and that helped. No problems on the bathroom which was huge and had a very large shower. The property like most others on Santorini is overlooked and the rooms are close together but the design of the balconies does afford some privacy.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend Chromata.

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the pool, if you dont want to listen to the pool music from breakfast onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was satisfying to read that you enjoyed the view from your room and the quality of the service.

Awaiting to welcome you again at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I have been to Chromata in September 2013 and loved it. Part of the Small Luxury Hotel, the room was great, breakfeast at the room's balcony with an amazing view was breathtaking, as well as the pool view. But the highlight was the service! They booked restaurants (all great by the way!) car rental, and during the whole stay we have a cell phone to speak to the hotel and concierge from wherever we were! Alex, the concierge speaks portuguese and was very very helpful whenever we needed!!! Thank you so much for making this trip so special!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room close to the reception! Lots and lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Chromata Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Claudia,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for mentioning the great service your received from our staff and particularly from Alex, our concierge. We are indeed lucky to have him in our team!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Address: Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#10 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chromata Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chromata Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.