We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chromata Hotel to your Saves list
Chromata Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Chromata is a beautiful hotel. The view of the caldera from every point of the hotel is stunning. We stayed in a junior suite that was cave style - the suite was lovely, spacious and very clean. The food at the hotel is great and the infinity pool is perfect to chill by. We found the service to be exceptional with the staff going above and beyond to help us plan our stay etc. We would stay there again and would definitely recommend to our family and friends!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    49
    7
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
265
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I did lots of research for a hotel in Santorini and all I wanted was a cave style whitewashed hotel with a view and this hotel delivers. The views of the caldera and of the Aegan sea are amazing! The hotel serves you breakfast every morning on your private patio, I think this is what it apart from other hotels. I can't believe how peaceful and quiet this place is. The pool isn't huge but perfect for this boutique style hotel. The entire staff was very friendly and welcoming. My only gripe was that I would have wished my room was a little bigger. We booked a junior suite and the layout was a bit strange. The room was long and narrow but no big deal when you're in paradise. There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. (literally a few steps away) It was too hot to walk into Fira so we rented a car and drove into oia another day to watch the sunset. If you don't rent a car expect to pay 15 euro per can ride. Our rental was around 35 euro so it paid for itself.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Chromata hotel for 5 nights this past week to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary and it was the BEST vacation we ever spent!
To start off, our luggage didn't arrive from Athens and we were upset by this turn of events, however, the Chromata staff made it their utmost priority to track our luggage themselves and contact the airport all night until our luggage was safely placed in our room! I cannot explain just how helpful they were and how reassuring just to make us feel comfortable! Christina the hotel manager is an angel! Very friendly and super helpful by answering all our questions and suggesting excellent restaurants and places to visit. She took care of all our reservations and bookings. The tours suggested by the hotel were amazing as we did a private wine tasting seminar, a massage at the spa, and a helicopter ride over the island at sunset time. Alex, the ambassador of the concierge service took care of our tours and was amazing company. The entire staff is amazing but one name i also remember is Maria. It was great being welcomed by her smile every morning as we passed by the reception area.
Our room was spectacular, we almost didn't want to leave it! The view from our private balcony was breath-taking and breakfast is served there every morning. We took a million photos! And because it was our wedding anniversary, Christina surprised us by having the staff place rose petals in the room with chocolates by our bed.
The hotel is impeccably clean, they paint the hotel daily to keep it fresh and white! The service is amazing, everyone is super friendly and make it their top priority that you enjoy your stay! If we ever go back to Santorini, we would never think of going anywhere else but at the Chromata hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our welcome to Chromata was unparallel to any other. The view itself was breathtaking and Mary ensured the team carried our bags down the stairs to our room. After a tour of the beautiful facilities including infinity pool, sauna, spas and restaurant we were given a bottle of wine and fresh fruit to welcome us. Very delicious! Throughout our entire stay Christina, Mary and the team ensured we were more than comfortable. Any request made was never a problem and they ensured we always had enough information about the area. When I injured myself in town they even offered to drive me to the hospital and stay to assist with any translation! Definitely above and beyond excellent service. We would recommend Chromata to couples who enjoy indulgence and relaxation. The hotels location is a 20 min walk from Fira or a bus from Oia. A truly wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Both my wife and I have just returned from an amazing week at the Chromata Hotel, and what a week we had, The Chromata Hotel is a 5* Hotel amongst 5* Hotels, I will start by mentioning the cleanliness of the rooms and hotel – you could perform open heart surgery in the rooms after they had been cleaned ! The staff are constantly cleaning, painting, improving everything and they literally don’t stop all day!

When you arrive Christina (the Hotel Manager) greets you with a warm and sincere welcoming and a tour of both the Hotel and the history of the area, she and her team are absolutely fantastic, every single member has a “can do” attitude, and those guys literally cannot do enough to try and make your stay as good as it possibly can be (a couple of members that really stood out were Rasvan and an Esmeralda).

The Hotel’s view is something that words cannot really describe until you see it – it is breath taking the caldera is truly something you must see for a few days to truly appreciate it, you can spend literally hours watching the cruise ships sail in and then a plethora of little boats ferry the passengers to the shore.

In my opinion this was one of the nicest hotels we have had the pleasure of frequenting and would have no hesitation what so ever in recommending this hotel to anyone.

I will say a couple of comments – this is a high end hotel , and you will pay high end prices in ALL the three villages Thira, Oia, and Imerovigili are expensive, the average meal for two people is around a £100 pounds which if you can afford it is OK but if you are staying for a while the cost can mount up, Also post 10.30pm there is not a lot to do which can be somewhat tedious if you are again staying for a while.

We would rate this hotel a solid 9.75 out of 10 we loved it and the Chromata is a fantastic Hotel that we will never forget. Thank you Chromata you were awesome !!! ;-)

Room Tip: If you can afford the little extra to stay in a bigger room it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Chromata is THE best place to stay. Away from the craziness of Oia and Fira, but close enough to access, this hotel has THE best views in Santorini. The rooms and service were impeccable and the food, first rate. I can't say enough about the helpfulness of the staff. Our room was just beautiful and perfectly clean, as were all the facilities. We stayed 4 nights and I would go back in a minute. Christina is so helpful, organizing car rentals and doing everything possible to make the stay perfect.

Room Tip: I think any room would be great here. Rooms ! & 2 have a bit more traffic because they are clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Chromata for 3 days and must say it was outstanding! The place has and incredible view! The service and the facilities are flawless! The room is very comfortable and clean! Hope can come back other times!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Address: Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#9 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chromata Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chromata Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.