We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can this place be anymore perfect?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chromata Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chromata Hotel to your Saves list
Chromata Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Can this place be anymore perfect?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Chromata - what can I say. Perfect! It not only met our expectations but also exceeded them. The lovely girls in the office and the guys running our bags up and down to our rooms, along with the service staff - everyone does a great job! We were upgraded to a suite due to my partners birthday and OMG - how lucky were we. Everything is first class and oh so comfortable - the beds - a little piece of Greek Island heaven. The breakfast, delivered to your room where you can eat on your balcony area soaking up the views and the sun - perfect. The pool and lounge area very welcoming and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. A bit of a walk to Thira town centre, but along the cliff side - the views and breathtaking and you don't realise the distance - plus you can always get a taxi back for 5-10 euro. Would definitely recommend to any of my friends thinking of visiting Santorini - and would be back in a flash! An extra special thank you to Xanthi for making my partners birthday all that more special with our upgrade and restaurant booking.

Room Tip: Any room will give you a view - there are some with their own sun chairs and some with private spas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    51
    7
    13
    8
See reviews for
22
274
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were upgraded to Chromata from the Sunrocks and got the superior honeymoon suite at the Chromata. Our stay there was fabulous! The suite was luxurious and our room was magnificent! It was huge, had a jaccuzi, spa, and a private balcony overlooking the volcano! Breakfast was served on the balcony every morning in front the spectacular view of the volcano and massive luxury cruise ships sailing in and away the caldera. The breakfast was so delicious... the delightful greek pie, local cherry tomato, tasty cheeses, all made it very special!

The staff was welcoming and very friendly. Special mention to the boys who restlessly brought our breakfast trays to the balcony every morning, and our heavy luggage up and down the stairs too! The eternal pool and bar area complemented the magnificent view of the caldera and volcano.

The location of the hotel was good, only 20minutes walk from Fira, the gorgeous town centre of Santorini. We didnt mind the walk at all. The bus taking us to Oia was at close proximity to catch as well. Unforgettable stay at this hotel, would recommend at any time!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked at the Sun Rocks hotel but were moved to Chromata as Sun Rocks closed for the season. We loved this hotel. The staff were wonderful and the setting is amazing. We had a lovely room with a private jacuzzi. Breakfast was made to order and served on our own private balcony overlooking the sea. A wonderful stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury,England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night as the one we had booked next door was full and they had arranged for us to stay here. The Chromata was just next door and of similar style in that it was a cliff side cave constructed hotel. However this was a real luxury place probably one of the best we have stayed in, it starts with a fantastic view of the caldera and the infinity pool, each suite has its` own private terrace with sun loungers table and chairs, the room itself was amazing large screen tv with lots of channels, large bed, sofa, separate luggage room with fridge, an enormous bathroom with another room containing a double Jacuzzi bath.

We were serves a champagne breakfast in our suite the food was very good.

There is a nice pool bar and restaurant, top class staff.

The only downside was that we were only there for one night, I have looked at the regular prices and they are as you would expect for a special place like this quite expensive but if we got the opportunity we would be back tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had actually booked a room at a sister property, Sun Rocks, but we were offered the opportunity to transfer to Chromata and stay in the Chromata Suite. After looking at the room we immediately packed our bags and moved! The suite is simply amazing, and everything at the hotel is at the same level. The staff is incredibly friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay pleasant. The hotel is conveniently located, and is about a 15 minute walk from the main part of the town. The views and facility are all first-class... I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were booked to stay at the Sun Rocks hotel but they ended up transferring us to their sister hotel - Chromata. We were met at the airport by the shuttle driver and from that point we were in paradise. The staff at the hotel were the best we have ever had the pleasure to experience. We had a superior suite that was very private. We loved it. Our room was cleaned and attended to up to three times a day and I don't think I can say enough about the boys at the pool. I really wanted to take them all home. I'm sorry I don't have all your names but there were two Georges and one that I thought was George (he has glasses and worked at night and was so cute!) There was nothing that they would not look after for you and were so happy to do it. Anything we asked was replied to with "of couurrrse" Everyone was sweet and kind.
The pool while small still had enough room to accomodate everyone in the hotel as there are only 22 rooms. It was perfect.
The breakfasts were delivered to your room each morning (you selected from a large menu) and we were never dissappointed. I don't believe I had ever had better chamomile tea.
You could not take your eyes off the view - it seemed to changed every time and yet it was always mesmerizing. It was the perfect end to our holiday. Thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Chromata is beautiful. From the minute we made the booking directly with the hotel we received excellent service and also got a fantastic price on our Superior Suite. Then, on arrival it got even better as we were lucky enough to be upgraded to the best suite in the hotel - the excellent Chromata Suite.
As well as a very large bedroom, seating area & large bathroom with shower & jacuzzi bath we got an additional dressing room & outside/inside jacuzzi & large terrace with table, chairs & sunloungers. If, like us, you value your privacy, splash out on a more expensive room so that you have the choice of sunbathing on your own terrace rather than being a little squeezed in around the pool.

The staff were extremely helpful & the meals excellent. The public areas were very tasteful - the pool, jacuzzi-in-a-cave & clifftop jacuzzi were all great spots to relax but mostly we just relaxed on our terrace as it was the view that stole the show - absolutely stunning.

We hired a car which you can park in a busy little area right by the hotel & we were very glad we did as we wanted to explore the island. Immerovigli is well away from the bustling madness of Oia and although it is a pleasant enough little place, for us, Oia was the jewel in the crown. We hated the masses of cruise-ship tourists that alighted every morning (up to 5 cruise ships a day would anchor in the bay just below Chromata & this was the quiet season!) so we made sure we had an early breakfast at Chromata & drove to Oia by 8:30am and it was deserted - just us and the locals - perfect. By 10 am you couldn't move as the tiny streets were packed solid so if you want to expereince the beauty (& get the best photos) without the crowds - get there early. We would return late afternoon (as it is only a 15 minute drive & parking is easy) when it gets quieter as a lot of cruise ships move on then although the madness returns at dusk as everyone rushes to the castle for the sunset. Tip - whilst everyone else is jostling for space at the castle, you will get much better photos halfway along the path to the windmill, overlooking the church bells.

The staff at Chromata can recommend great restaurants all over the island & we tried many in Oia with great views but for the best food you cannot beat the little taverna in the square at Imerovigli - the Tomato Balls, Grilled Vegetables, Greek Salad & fried Calamari is some of the best Greek food we've ever had - & at great prices (but it is always packed so bookings are essential).

If you are ealy risers or want to set off exploring it could be a little frustrating not being able to have the wonderful full breakfast before 8am (you can have an early risers breakfast but it is not the same) but hey, you are on holiday! Our other observation is that this is definitely a honeymooners destination so we found that the other guests kept pretty much to themselves. But without a doubt Chromata is a superb hotel - luxurious, stylish & with incredible views - all at a price considerably lower than most other hotels on the island in the same league - no wonder it was full.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but it is worth paying more for a larger room as your outside space is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chromata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chromata Hotel

Address: Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#10 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chromata Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, preserving the Cycladic architecture, Chromata 5 star hotel both astounds and enchants visitors on so many different levels; from the hauntingly beautiful interiors within each of its 22 rooms and suites conveying the heavenly lifestyle of the island, to the uniquely captivating infinity pool from where one can literally breathe in the sheer essence of the volcano. Hidden oasis of calm on its back the Chromata's alfresco Pool Cocktail Lounge and Gourmet Resto offer three types of views: volcanoscape, poolside charm and natural splendor for long languorous afternoons stretching into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chromata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chromata Hotel Imerovigli
Chromata Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chromata Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.