We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Mare Hotel

Save Saved
You added Regina Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regina Mare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was in Regina Mare hotel for a short visit that made me thinking of going back very soon and for more days. It 's an amazing place to stay with absolutely perfect views, a very polite an helpful stuff, an amazing breakfast, very clean and with very cozy rooms. I totally recommend it to everybody who is thinking about visiting Santorini.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    40
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just got back from a very relaxing break in Santorini. The hotel, staff, views and food were really good. Imerovigili is a beautiful place to stay, but not for people who are disabled as there are hundreds of steps to and from Fira. Our hotel was very clean, had really helpful, friendly staff and lovely breakfasts, it was hard not to eat to much. The walk to Oia is a must. The volcano and Akrotiri Trips very interesting. We would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The double rooms are quite small, so one of the bigger rooms would make your stay more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Greeks”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 NEW My family and I stayed at Krokos Villas at the end of June 2012 and we absolutely loved it! Our rooms were perfect for what we were looking for and very clean. Our balcony was amazing. We had breakfast outside every morning on the balcony. The breakfast was one of the best breakfasts we ever had as they were homeade daily each morning. Thalia and all the staff were so kind and amazingly generous with everything that we needed. Thalia made the best food ever and we endulged on the breakfast every morning as there was more than enough to choose from that we had ever seen. Coming from a Greek family myself they were very much like my own as they were very warm and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and go back again to the same place. The only thing that might be challenging for someone is the stairs but the wonderful staff take your luggage up and down the stairs themselves for you. The prices were also very reasonable for Santorini as this was my second time going. If you ever go to Santorini i would recommend this hotel hands down!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Let me start by saying that the taxi/bus drop off for the regina mare hotel is a bit far away from the hotels entrance...either we could walk down approx 50 stairs to reach the hotel or take a long sloping road to reach the hotel. My parents (65 plus age) were a bit hassled and disappointed with this climbing/walk....but this was soon forgotten when we saw the rooms/view and the kind of hospitality we received, read on...
The view from the pool/breakfast area is stunning...as mentioned in all the other reviews....i have not stayed at any better view hotel in my life... the website photos do not do enough justice to the actual place ! The hotel is located just 5 minute taxi ride (5 euro one way) to fira and 20 minute taxi ride (20 euro one way) to oia. We loved the calmness, the view and the sunset from this hotel and would certainly go back there if we do travel to santorini again !
We were a family of 6 adults who were in rooms around the pool area but were the superior rooms...and we enjoyed the sunsets much better than the time we had watching from oia town.
We were warmly welcomed by the entire staff at arrival and were given welcome drinks and amazing delicacies. They also informed us that they had taken special care in ordering breakfast for my parents during our stay (we had informed them earlier that my parents are diabetic and required low calorie food) This was a nice and personalised touch as no other city hotel took this much care.
They prepared some delicious vegetarian pizzas and couple of other dishes for our dinner on the first night and the food/cooking/presentation was just excellent...yum yum.
It was my birthday on the very next day of arrival and the hotel had organised a flower bouquet and a huge cake for me...this was very touching, and the cake was simply divine ! As we had gone early in the morning for a full day volcano/hot springs tour, and came back late at night, the manager stayed back till 11pm (instead of leaving for her home at 8pm) just to greet me for my birthday and to hand over the cake and flowers to me ! This is what i call TOP CLASS hospitality, and i salute the entire staff at Regina Mare. Special thanks to the manager there, i guess her name is karolina (sorry about the short memory)
On the day of our departure, we had to leave the hotel at 8am for the airport, the entire kitchen staff came 1 hour early so that they could serve (large spread) breakfast to us at 7.30 (usual breakfast time is 8am onwards) This was also very touching... I have never experienced such warm hospitality in my travels to over 20 countries !!!

I would rank this hotel as number 1 in the area, met with some german and british (travellers staying at the same hotel) who had been to santorini 6 times and 8 times respectively and they were staying at the regina mare for their first time, and even they said that they had never experienced such hospitality and had such great views from the other hotels they had stayed in the past !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folegandros, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were both quite nervous on our arrival, unsure as to what to expect having spent so much time researching hotels for the first stint of our honeymoon. However we had no reason to be at all, we were in the already mentioned room 5, and the photos on the website do not do it justice. The room is one of the higher rooms with the most incredible views from the balcony, and the bed! The bathroom is a shower room made from cool dark stone. We spent 4 nights there and everything was perfect, the breakfast and lunch was incredible - never before has chocolate cake and potato dauphanoise been served up at breakfast but as homemade delights alongside all the fruit, eggs and other treats it was irresistible. The warm welcome, lovely pool and the fact it is not overlooked by the cliff side path make this is an absolute must. Go!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This review is valid for the honeymoon room (not the suite), number 5 (better situated than the other honeymoon room). This is in fact the room you see at the photos.
The room itself is big enough for a couple, well decorated and quiet. The MUST is the view, you have the most privacy at this balcony than in any other room. You enjoy the best sunset in the island. You can see a part of the volcano, Thirassia (the island in front) and the town of Oia. Nothing else in front of you. It is some stairs down but not really a problem.
The hospitality is excellent, in fact never felt as welcome as in Regina Mare in any other hotel in the world. The food is excellent too, you can enjoy breakfast or lunch at the balcony.
Concerning the umbrellas near the pool; in fact not enough for everybody but if you have this room you don't care, you have the best sunbeds in your balcony and you just go down for a swim at the pool. During our stay there were more German people, a very clever nation...the had the best idea to put their towels early in the morning at the sunbeds to prevent anybody taking them. A big BRAVO for them.
Our holidays became more exciting when the girls at the reception responding at our demand for information proposed for us a sunset cruise with a sailing boat (catamaran named Dream Catcher). This is definitely a thing to do.
Resuming, this was my 8th time in Santorini, Regina Mare is the best value for money hotel I've been till now. Choose honeymoon room number 5 if you can.
Big thank you for the team

Room Tip: Room 5 honeymoon studio, their best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in the Regina Mare at the end of June and had an absolutely wonderful time.
The hotel was luxurious but managed to keep a lovely homely feel too. A well struck balance.
(Do not be put off by the fact that, as I write, it is ranked 24 of 44. The scoring is so close and a quick glance at the Top 25 hotels in the World is revealing as 2 of those are in Imerovigli, an unbelievable achievement given the size of the town!)

We were met off the bus by a porter who works at the total who guided us and carried our bags to the hotel. Very useful as it is a bit of a maze to start with!

On arrival we were given a complimentary drink and snack and looked out at the most amazing view across the caldera.

Our room (number 10) had its own balcony overlooking the pool with a table where we enjoyed our breakfasts and, more importantly, a bottle of wine each night watching the magnificent sunsets.
The room was very well equipped with a fridge (excellent for wine storage!), a very comfortable bed and a very nice bathroom with a lovely powerful shower.
All are kept spotlessly clean.

The breakfasts, as others have mentioned, are legendary!
There are the usual cereals, yogurts, fruits, cheeses, cold meats, sausages, bacon, eggs etc. but these are accompanied each day with a variety of different home made delights. The only problem is there is not enough room in the stomach to try all the tempatations!

Imerovigli is beautifully loacted and, in my opinion, the best spot on the island to appreciate the magnificent sunsets.
It is quiet but does have a number of restaurants (about 10, I have reviewed a few of them), and a convenience store within easy walking distance (about 5 minutes).
There are no bars in the town.
The capital, Fira, is about 30 minutes walk downhill and by following the coast makes for a lovely scenic stroll.
Alternatively buses from Oia to Fira stop at Imerovigli and take about 5 minutes (1.80Euros). They are pretty frequent passing once every 20 minutes or so and a taxi from the centre costs only 5 Euros.
Fira, has everything you need. Many restuarants, bars and nightclubs and well as the usual assortment of shops that you would expect in a holiday destination.

Being very small, the island itself is very easy to get about. We used the buses to go to the beach, Akrotiri and to get back from Oia (having walked the costal route, 2.5 hours).
All are very reasonably priced (around 2 Euros per trip) and frequent.

Finally, to cap it all off, my wife left some jewellery in the room and the hotel kindly forwarded it on to our UK address.

All in all a magnificent holiday in a beautiful setting!

Room Tip: I would suggest trying to get a room above pool level as you then have a totally unobstructed view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regina Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Mare Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#30 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Mare Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Regina Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Mare Imerovigli
Hotel Regina Mare
Regina Mare Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Mare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.