We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gold Suites to your Saves list
Gold Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli Thira, Imerovigli 84700, Greece (Formerly Andromeda Gold Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed her in late August and were debating whether to stay in Oia but we made the right choice! If you are looking for serene and picturesque, this is your place. The barman was so lovely and breakfast delivered daily was nice touch. Pool area is small but unless you plan on staying in its not really an issue. Highly recommend for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: The rooms at base have the best uninterrupted views of the Caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
127
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple nights in September. The view is absolutely amazing but many hotels in Imerovigli offer the same or similar view. The common lounge area by the pool is quite small so we had difficulty getting a lounge chair and umbrella during the day as they were all taken. As such, we ended up spending a lot of our time on our private mini-terrace while we were relaxing at the hotel. It gets very quiet at night, which is not surprising since Santorini doesn't exactly have a big night life scene. Breakfast was very good and was served on our mini-terrace each morning within half an hour of ordering. We had asked for an upgrade before arriving. In response, they offered us a free upgrade to a superior suite (private terrace with jacuzzi) at their sister hotel, San Antonio hotel, which is about a 10 min. drive north of Gold Suites. I could say that the customer service I had experienced at Gold Suites had been seamless from start to finish.

There is a convenience store that is right across the street that carries water and other food products and a grocery store about 5-10 mins walk away. For those who are looking to go to Oia and Fira, there is a bus service that runs to and from these towns with stops close to Imerovigli - fare is about EUR 2-3 pp. There is also an excellent restaurant - Anogi - that is about 10 mins walk away with traditional Greek fare - highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Gold Suites for six nights in September. Overall, we were really dissapointed with our stay for a number of reasons. There are far better options available and I wish I had done more research before booked.

We booked this hotel based on reviews that claim it is a luxury property - I do not agree with this, it is not "luxurious" at all. Yes, it has spectacular views but so many properties have spectacular views on Santorini. The hard product was incredibly basic and underwhelming. To me, it is a three star property with an amazing location and they hope you are too busy enjoying the view to notice the shortcomings.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (we were early) so we had a nice lunch by the pool. Upon returning to reception, we were told that we had been upgraded from our Junior Suite to a Deluxe Suite which was very nice of them. We were off to a good start but then it became rapidly dissapointing.

The bad


- The thing that annoyed us the most was that our terrace had no umbrella and when we asked for one, they simply said they didn't have any. Yes, you read that right. A fully exposed terrace in the Greek sun and there was absolutely no shade available. Subsequently, apart from breakfast, we used our terrace for a total of 15 minutes the entire stay. I have never stayed at any hotel or resort that doesn't have umbrellas for their outdoor areas. There were a few on the pool deck but why have rooms with terraces and not have a supply of umbrellas for guest use??
- Other reviewers have mentioned "Peggy". Well we never met her the entire stay. No one from management bothered to introduce themselves or ask if we were enjoying our stay at any point during our six nights
- The towels were the worst towels I have EVER seen in any hotel. They are old, grey, stratchy and small
- The toiletries. Sure, everyone brings there own but a hotel that advertises itself as a luxury property needs to provide top quality toiletries. Instead there was a motely collection of cheap showergel, plain soap and shampoo. It is such a shame they didn't use the opportunity to offer something from Greece such as the amazing Korres range that is stocked down the road in the pharmacy. There was also no tissues left in our room although we found a box of cheap tissues stashed in the wardrobe when packing to leave.
- The bathroom had grimy rust stains all around the base of the bathroom cupboard. The bathroom cupboard front was an old wooden lattice looking thing that belonged back in the 1980's
- The steam function in the shower didn't work
- Our room was cleaned but twice we were left without any toilet paper
- The property lacked any "wow" factor in the rooms or common areas. By comparison, the Astra Suites


The good

- The view is spectacular
- The walking trail to Fira and Oia is at the front of property so it is very easy to walk everywhere you need to go. We spent two hours every morning hiking before breakfast and found somewhere new each day
- Breakfast was plentiful (we needed it after 2 hours hiking) and is served on your terrace each morning
- The female receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. She kindly made all of our dinner reservations and recommended great places

Overall the hotel comes up very short and the dissapointing thing about it is that it could so easily be a great property with a bit of attention to detail and some top quality fittings and extras.

If you are used to luxury high end properties, best to keep looking at other options on Santorini. We wouldn't return to the Gold Suites and cannot recommend it above a basic, budget style property with a spectacular location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I debated for a while if I should stay at this hotel out of the variety that is available in Santorini, and I am a SLH member, but I am glad we chose this hotel. It is situated in the best location I could see out of the rest of hotels (Once there I looked around) and the views are to die for. I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. The staff was fantastic and made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, Hants
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at Gold Suites in September 2013. Had a pleasant flight with Easyjet and arrived safely in Santorini and our pick-up was waiting for us as arranged with Peggy. On arrival we were greeted in Reception very well and told that we had been upgraded for 2 nights to a Senior Suite (we had booked Junior). This was lovely surprise and on entering the room it was beautiful with white washed walls and gold trimmings then they opened the curtains on to the balcony where there was a jacuzzi WOW!! the view was breathtaking. Breakfasts were plentiful and always delivered on time and with a smile.

We were moved on day 3 to the original junior suite we had booked which was a shame but still a nice room, much smaller and lower down in the complex just under the pool. Unfortunately the weather turned and due to a cold wind blowing most days at breakfast we could only see the beautiful view form our room which was a shame. However, it didn't spoil our holiday and we enjoyed the rest of our time there.

Fira is a lovely 20-30 minute walk from the hotel and a beautiful walk through the little alley ways and streets with the wonderful Caldera view for company (beware you can get lost and end up on someone else's balcony!). We had some lovely meals during our stay and found lots of different places which all had their own charm. We walked also to Oia which was lovely took around 90 minutes not recommended on a really hot day as there is very little shade but the town is beautiful and well worth the walk. That said you could get the bus which took about 15 mins so easy enough to get back from and they run up to around 11.30pm.

We had a wonderful holiday and would recommend Gold Suites it was wonderful and the staff and management are outstanding, thanks for everything. I would definitely stay here again if visiting Santorini. Gold Suites is a lovely place to relax and unwind but if you don't book a deluxe suite then beware as you may have to wait for a sun lounger at the pool. There are only 6 available we managed ok but I would think in the height of summer things may have been different.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived at Gold Suites on a windy Santorini evening and were quickly and efficiently checked into our room. The room was beautiful, very tastefully furnished and spacious. We were however a little perturbed by the glass door to the toilet - stylish, but not to everyone's taste! To my mind there are still some things that should remain private. As we had not eaten since breakfast we ordered room service, which was tasty, served promptly, if a little pricey. The 25euro bottle of Santorini wine (which was excellent) can be bought for 9euros in the shop just across the road. We sat on our private (more later) terrace anticipating the view, which was not to disappoint us.

The following morning we awoke to the view which was truly spectacular and which is the making of Gold Suites. We were surprised by the lack of activity, perhaps it was our over excitement, but at 8 o'clock in the morning there was no one else in sight! It was lovely to have breakfast over looking the caldera and we just soaked up the atmosphere. Breakfast was adequate, although there was a lot of choice, portions were small, but it was an advantage to have it served on the balcony. For most of our stay it arrived within half an hour, though on our final day it failed to arrive at all.

After a busy few days in Athens we had planned to take it very easy in Santorini, enjoying the sunshine and just relaxing. Therefore we had paid the extra for the Deluxe Suite with the "private heated pool" and "intimate dining area". This was where our disappointment lay. "Private" and "intimate" have very specific meanings to me and my husband and having sundry individuals wandering through the terrace does not warrant these descriptions. Imerovigli is a essentially a labyrinth of hotels and even the Minotaur would get lost. Consequently our balcony was also constantly being overlooked by tourists who had taken a wrong turn; our favourite was a group of 3 Australian pilots who actually wandered onto our "private" terrace looking for a restaurant!

The room was kept very clean, although we had to ask for towels on one occasion, but the turn down service was hit and miss.

Imerovigli is a small village, but is within walking distance of Fira along the very pretty coastal path. It is quite a hike, with some steep bits and lots of steps. Be careful you stick to the paths or you could well end up on someone else's terrace! In the village itself there are only a couple of restaurants and even though we visited in September it was still necessary to book at Anoti's, which seems to be the most popular. The food there was good, but we also had a great meal at the restaurant next door. We also had a fabulous meal at Da Costa which is the first restaurant you get to when you take the coastal path to Fira, the view over the caldera at sunset is wonderful, their service friendly and it is the first time I have ever known my husband fail to finish a meal.

If you travel later in the season as we did, be prepared for the windy evenings. We were blessed with gorgeous weather during the days, but the temperature does drop at night.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Gold Suites; the view is truly spectacular and its position is excellent. Nevertheless, in my opinion Santorini is playing on its exclusive reputation and prices reflect this. Although the Suites were beautiful, there is plenty of choice and the view would be the same wherever you stayed on this side of the island.

Room Tip: We booked a Deluxe Suite for the privacy, however at least you know there are going to be other peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We returned to Santorini in September 26 years after our first visit with friends we met there in 1987. The hotel was lovely, very clean. We stayed in adjoining junior suites enjoying and amazing view and and a wonderful room. Fruit platter and wine on arrival We enjoyed great breakfasts on the patio each morning and sunsets every evening. The Gold Suites are in a good position on the path to either Oia or Fira, not far from the local tavernas, bus stop and supermarket. The buses are a great way to get around. We booked a transfer from the airport and back direct with the hotel, very pleased we had done that when we saw the taxi/bus queue. Only slight complaint, on some occasions there were insufficient sunbeds round the pool, only 6 and the pool bar only played reggae music, it was on a loop and became quite tedious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Suites

Address: Imerovigli Thira, Imerovigli 84700, Greece (Formerly Andromeda Gold Suites)
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate complex of 14 Luxury Suites, built on the highest point of the Santorini’s Caldera cliffs, at Imerovigli, facing the Volcano and the famous Skaros Fortress. Suites have traditional Cycladic architecture with modern touch and luxurious design with lavish details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gold Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Gold Hotel Imerovigli
Gold Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.