We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and an unforgettable view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avaton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avaton Resort to your Saves list
Avaton Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Imerovigli
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxation and an unforgettable view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Hello! First of all, i have to let you know that we decided to stay at this hotel by using Christian Tour (Romania, Bucharest) agency services, from 24 June 2014 until 1 July 2014. As we arrived at the airport, our guide told us that there was a problem with our reservation and we had to stay in Oia for one night, at Andronis Luxury Suites. We were a little upset about the inconvenience, but it turned out that we had a great stay at Andronis aswell - but that was another story, i will probably write a review on that aswell.

Because we had another problem with the transfer company, the hotel manager offered us a complimantary spa treatment - which was great.. so, as we arrived at the hotel we were treated really nice by the manager, she is great!

The hotel offers a wonderful view upon the Caldera, the Vulcano, the famous sunset, so i would suggest not to run to cach the sunset in Oia or Fira because you can simply enjoy the sunset at your hotel or somewhere around it, along them Caldera. It is absolutely stunning! And the pool area... wow.. we made some great pictures there! Sorry i cannot upload them now..

The services... very good! As i told you, the manager is great! The staff aswell.. realy polite and useful.

The food... you are able to choose your breakfast because you receive every day a list with foods and you are supposed to tick everything you want to have next day in the morning (you settle the hour aswell, so i suggest to complete your list and drop it at the reception in order to set your convenient time - only one time slot is available for each room, so you better hurry). You can choose: eggs, omelet, cheese, salmon, porridge, jam, honey, toast and so on... the serving is really good. Never had a more relaxing breakfast!
We also had dinner in the "Cave" restaurant.. everything was perfect! i think that every little thing in there is fresh and perfectly cooked! the choclolate souffle just made my day!

Rooms... if i remember well, we had room no. 6, right by the pool... it was nice, clean, we had wine and fresh fruits in the room (fruits refill each time). The only issue was that the toilet was in the opposite part of the room from the shower... and the shower does not have an actual door, so when i woke uo in the morning to take a shower i also woke my boyfriend because i was making noise... (from toilet to shower.. the sound of the water...etc). The design is really nice, it is like an open bath with the sink in the middle of the room, but not that practical for us because we are not waking up in the same time.

Wifi: worked well, free access; as i was entered the room my phone went all crazy (connected to internet right away and received tons of notifications :)) )

Pool area.. unforgettable because of the view! Quick tip:make sure that you choose your sunbeds early in the morning if you plan to stay at the hotel, because they are not allocated on rooms.. so you can pick your perfect spot depending on the sun. The hotel is quite small, not so many rooms...so you can easily get what you want. We didn't spend so much time in the pool area during the day, so it wasn't a problem for us.

Overall, really nice! i would definetly choose this hotel again! Nothing to complain about!
I wish you all a great vacation and a wonderful stay at Avaton resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
140
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh on Sea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have just got home from staying in the honeymoon suite and the hotel is amazing located at the top of the town with literally the best views of the caldera you just couldn't take your eyes off it. The staff were all really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Laura was superb and would literally drop everything to assist. The breakfasts were brilliant with practically everything you could ask for in abundance delivered to your room on time with a smile! We hired a car from reception for two days which gave us the opportunity to find some beaches and Laura sorted this all out for us with no hassle for us at all. You must try the spa the lady there has magic fingers both my husband and I had massages and were so relaxed after it was just what we needed. We were lucky enough to have our private terrace and pool but the main pool area was great plenty of sunbeds and this hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere. The cleaning maids were very good and came every day to turn down the bed and leave you little chocolates. We would absolutely recommend staying in this hotel it's the best in imergovilli. The only slight small point is they could do with having a dedicated bar person as it was not quick to get a drink because all the staff are always multitasking, other than this small point this hotel the service and the staff are amazing and you will have a perfect holiday! Enjoy.

Room Tip: If you want complete privacy you need the honeymoon suite as all other rooms including the avaton su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent hour honeymoon at the Avaton and what a beautiful hotel with true 5 star service.
First advise, always stay in Imerovigli. This is my 3rd time back to Santorini and this is the highest point of the island with the most magnificent view. Oia is a tourist trap.
The hotel has beautiful views, great service and an outstanding breakfast. Luxury all the way! Laura was so great in organizing anything we needed and making sure everything went well.
The spa is so relaxing. Try a wonderful massage in the cozy little cave.
The sun sets right in your room, I could get a tan from the couch. We stayed in the Avaton Suite with a plunge pool on the balcony and it was wonderful.
Highly recommend, a truly 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at Avaton Resort for 6 nights in June 2014 and loved every minute of it. The exceptional level of service makes it stand out, as does the extremely helpful, friendly and professional staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and immaculately clean and the views over the caldera are stunning. On arrival you are given a free bottle of wine, fruits and lovely flowers for your room. Breakfast is served on your balcony or outside your room overlooking the infinity pool and caldera, and is fresh and delicious, served at the time you allocate! The day spa becomes a restaurant at night which is very romantic and serves lovely meals. I think Imerovigli is the perfect place to stay as it is between Fira and Oia. Fira is crowded with partyers and cruise ships and Oia seemed more 'touristy'. Don't be fooled, the sunsets in Imerovigli are just as stunning as in Oia! We loved our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We booked the Honeymoon suite and were upgrade for two nights in the Avaton. Everything was excellent. Very quiet, amazing view, excellent cuisine but the best there is the people working in the hotel. Thanks a lot for making our stay unforgettable....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Rather than just review the Avaton, I thought I would provide a broader guide to Santorini, as this is what I would have liked before going there.

Where to stay in Santorini?
I guess that there are four main areas to stay on Santorini: Fira, Imerovigli, Oia or elsewhere. In my view I would not stay in Fira, despite its array of shops and restaurants. This is where the cruise ships dock and if you really want to share your holiday with thousands of cruise ship passengers, go for it. But not for me. Similarly, for me there is no elsewhere worth thinking about on Santorini. It's real feature is the caldera rim and the little white buildings hugging its top. So I would not stay anywhere else but either Imerovigli or Oia. Both have fantastic, but very different views. I prefer that from Imerovigli, but that is very much a personal view. The real difference between them is that Oia has lots of shops and restaurants, whereas Imerovigli has no touristy shops at all and only a few good restaurants. Oia is busier, noisier and more touristy. If you want lots of street life without the cruise ships, this is the place. If you want spectacular view, relaxation and real peace and quiet, I would go for Imerovigli. It also has at least one great restaurant in La Maison. Another thing to think about is that Santorini is all about walking. it is a three hour walk from Oia to Fira and there is only the one way to go. From Imerovigli it is around two hours to Oia or one hour to Fira, so you have the choice of two somewhat shorter walks.

Avaton or elsewhere?
There are lots of great places to stay in Imerovigli, the Avaton amongst them. Avaton has the advantages of being at the very end of the village with uninterrupted views and offers truly superb service. If staying elsewhere in the village I would want a resort on the downhill side of the main walkway and I would want to make sure that the views from my room were uninterrupted. The other thing to consider is where you will dine if eating at the hotel. The Avaton serves breakfast in your room, great view and lunch on its terrace, great view. If it is cold or windy outside they serve dinner in their cave restaurant/spa, no view.

How important is a caldera view?
To me, it is everything! I simply could not imagine being happy if I went to Santorini and stayed somewhere without a caldera view. It is the very essence of what makes Santorini so special. As above, the best views are from Imerovigili and Oia.

When to go?
I have never been to Santorini in summer, but just cannot imagine what it would be like with wall to wall people and cars everywhere. Conversely, the whole place shuts down in winter, say, November to March. That leaves the spring and autumn shoulder seasons. In April the hills are alive with flowers and it is glorious, but the water is cold if you want to swim. In The autumn months of September and October the water is much warmer. Either shoulder season would be far better than summer.

To hire a car?
While a small car can be very useful, Santorini is all about walking. If you just drive around you will see next to nothing. In fact, you will see the uglier, older, dirtier version of Santorini. By all means hire a car for a day or two, but don't think you either must have one or that, if you do, you can really see Santorini. Do go prepared to walk.

What to see and do?
My top 4 are
1. Walk, along the caldera rim from Fira to Oia. Not necessarily in one go, but you do need to do the whole of it one way or another.
2. Oia, to me the best shops and restaurants on Santorini
3. The Akrotirii ruins and associated museum, not necessarily that spectacular, but this all about how people lived here 3,800 years ago. Their art, ceramics, even the fascinating plaster cast of a small wooden table, show a level of sophistication way above those living in caves and sod huts elsewhere in the world at the time
4. Eat, drink, shop. Of course!

Santorini is a special place and I would unreservedly recommend that if you are going there, you stay in a special place. The Avaton is one such place.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you can, downstairs still great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I loved my stay! The hotel is extremely clean and the staff are very friendly. The food and views are awesome! This hotel is geared towards romance. So if you're looking to party you'll have to travel to the next town over which isn't very far. Overall, this hotel exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.6 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#14 of 45 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
3.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#27 of 45 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#8 of 45 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grace Santorini Hotel
Grace Santorini Hotel
#11 of 45 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avaton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaton Resort

Address: P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#11 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avaton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your Avaton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avaton Hotel Imerovigli
Avaton Resort Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avaton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.