We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santorini travel guide with the Avaton thrown in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avaton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Avaton Resort to your Saves list
Avaton Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
North Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Santorini travel guide with the Avaton thrown in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Rather than just review the Avaton, I thought I would provide a broader guide to Santorini, as this is what I would have liked before going there.

Where to stay in Santorini?
I guess that there are four main areas to stay on Santorini: Fira, Imerovigli, Oia or elsewhere. In my view I would not stay in Fira, despite its array of shops and restaurants. This is where the cruise ships dock and if you really want to share your holiday with thousands of cruise ship passengers, go for it. But not for me. Similarly, for me there is no elsewhere worth thinking about on Santorini. It's real feature is the caldera rim and the little white buildings hugging its top. So I would not stay anywhere else but either Imerovigli or Oia. Both have fantastic, but very different views. I prefer that from Imerovigli, but that is very much a personal view. The real difference between them is that Oia has lots of shops and restaurants, whereas Imerovigli has no touristy shops at all and only a few good restaurants. Oia is busier, noisier and more touristy. If you want lots of street life without the cruise ships, this is the place. If you want spectacular view, relaxation and real peace and quiet, I would go for Imerovigli. It also has at least one great restaurant in La Maison. Another thing to think about is that Santorini is all about walking. it is a three hour walk from Oia to Fira and there is only the one way to go. From Imerovigli it is around two hours to Oia or one hour to Fira, so you have the choice of two somewhat shorter walks.

Avaton or elsewhere?
There are lots of great places to stay in Imerovigli, the Avaton amongst them. Avaton has the advantages of being at the very end of the village with uninterrupted views and offers truly superb service. If staying elsewhere in the village I would want a resort on the downhill side of the main walkway and I would want to make sure that the views from my room were uninterrupted. The other thing to consider is where you will dine if eating at the hotel. The Avaton serves breakfast in your room, great view and lunch on its terrace, great view. If it is cold or windy outside they serve dinner in their cave restaurant/spa, no view.

How important is a caldera view?
To me, it is everything! I simply could not imagine being happy if I went to Santorini and stayed somewhere without a caldera view. It is the very essence of what makes Santorini so special. As above, the best views are from Imerovigili and Oia.

When to go?
I have never been to Santorini in summer, but just cannot imagine what it would be like with wall to wall people and cars everywhere. Conversely, the whole place shuts down in winter, say, November to March. That leaves the spring and autumn shoulder seasons. In April the hills are alive with flowers and it is glorious, but the water is cold if you want to swim. In The autumn months of September and October the water is much warmer. Either shoulder season would be far better than summer.

To hire a car?
While a small car can be very useful, Santorini is all about walking. If you just drive around you will see next to nothing. In fact, you will see the uglier, older, dirtier version of Santorini. By all means hire a car for a day or two, but don't think you either must have one or that, if you do, you can really see Santorini. Do go prepared to walk.

What to see and do?
My top 4 are
1. Walk, along the caldera rim from Fira to Oia. Not necessarily in one go, but you do need to do the whole of it one way or another.
2. Oia, to me the best shops and restaurants on Santorini
3. The Akrotirii ruins and associated museum, not necessarily that spectacular, but this all about how people lived here 3,800 years ago. Their art, ceramics, even the fascinating plaster cast of a small wooden table, show a level of sophistication way above those living in caves and sod huts elsewhere in the world at the time
4. Eat, drink, shop. Of course!

Santorini is a special place and I would unreservedly recommend that if you are going there, you stay in a special place. The Avaton is one such place.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you can, downstairs still great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
116
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I loved my stay! The hotel is extremely clean and the staff are very friendly. The food and views are awesome! This hotel is geared towards romance. So if you're looking to party you'll have to travel to the next town over which isn't very far. Overall, this hotel exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful location at the end of Imeriviglio, and has stunning views over the caldera. The hotel is also stunningly well designed, and rooms are large, spacious, and the beds are nice, big and comfortable. This is a boutique luxury hotel, so only has nine rooms.

The hotel manager, Laura, and her team are all really friendly, and really take god care of you during your stay and make sure you enjoy it.

In addition to being a beautiful hotel, in a great setting, with nice rooms, the one thing I also want to single out is the breakfast. You order what you will have for breakfast the evening before, and this is freshly prepared for you in the morning, and then either delivered to your room so you can have it as breakfast in bed, or at your own table outside overlooking the caldera.

This is also a great place to watch the sunset each evening.

The hotel features a spa in a cave, that is then converted into a restaurant at night. Do have dinner there at least once during your stay, it has a really nice ambiance to it.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation if you want a nice and quiet holiday in a great location and be really well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Avaton is perched at the very end of Imerovigli. This is really the end of all the developments and properties -- meaning that being here is a place of upscale elegance, quiet, and tranquility. The hotel is boutique, with 9 rooms, and so it feels more like having your own private property, with an excellent concierge and butler, who are keeping just the right balance between ready to help, and allowing you to have your enjoyment of the space, amenities, and the view -- which is clear and absolutely breathtaking.

When you go, be sure to fully indulge in the lovely fresh breakfast - served daily in your room, inside or on the balcony. Then, consider a ramble - to the left is a 30-60 minute walk through the town footpaths to busy Fira. Alternatively, to the right is a gorgeous, windswept hike alongside fields, and in the springtime, blooming wildflowers.

In sum - if you want quiet, views, elegance, and calm, this is a very special place. Bring a camera.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and Laura, the manager, and her team took exceptional care of us from our reservations to departure. The pool and its cave are just one of the awesome facilities there to make our stay more luxurious, special and memorable. Avaton has a great view and wide selection for breakfast which the friendly Alex delivers to our patio every morning. It is simply spectacular to wake up to the view every morning. Again we are grateful to Laura and her team for making our stay a very enjoyable one.

Room Tip: All rooms face the caldera. If you prefer one with more privacy, choose one which is located on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel has excelent views to the caldera, in my opinion better than well renowned Oia. Services are excellent and only nine rooms, with seven or ten staff taking care of the hotel. Service is outstanding and cuisine is very good combination of greek and international taste. Wine selection is limited but excellent in quality. Don't miss the local whites (assirtiko) and reds.

Spa is excellent, professional massage services. The spa becomes the restaurant in the night, with a unique atmosphere. Breakfast have very good quality ingredients and preparation, service in rooms efficient and quality of small details is a concern of the management.

Suitable for people looking for a quiet hotel, enjoy the views and the terrace and long evenings enjoying sunset. Do not expect easy access to beaches, nightlife nearby (need a car to go to Oia or Fira).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had the most awesome honeymoon/holidays ever.
The incredible view from the caldera was surpassed by the warm and friendly service staff!
Absolute recommendation: personal breakfast on your patio/balcony!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are definitely even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avaton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaton Resort

Address: P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#11 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avaton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Avaton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avaton Hotel Imerovigli
Avaton Resort Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avaton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;