We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just AMAZING!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avaton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avaton Resort to your Saves list
Avaton Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Avaton resort on our honeymoon in October 2011 (regret the late review!) and booked the honeymoon suite. Wow – what an amazing resort. We were picked up at the airport by a pre arranged car and it look about 15 minutes to drive up the mountain to the Avaton resort. The resort is located in Imerovigli which is walkable but a good distance away from the hustle and bustle of the main town. I feel a better location than Oia, which is located on the far corner of the Island and you would probably need a taxi/car to get around to anywhere beyond the Oia area.

Laura, the manager was just amazing and welcomed us warmly. We actually arrived at Avaton two days early due to strikes in Athens and Laura was very accommodating in being flexible with our booking dates. She assisted us with revising our return flight bookings and showed us to our amazing room. We were treated with beautiful flowers in the room and some lovely local wine and fruits. The honeymoon suite had two balconies, one with the most private outlook with a private spa, and the other that looked onto the resort pool (we watched sunset each night from this balcony – divine).

Marcos who was managing food and beverage service and also helped us with our luggage was an absolute asset to the resort. He was so professional, friendly, efficient and just a delight to meet. Our experience would not have been the same if it were not for him and Laura. Now, to the food. Just beyond amazing. We had a number of ‘room service’ dinners, however we were so surprised and amazed that the meal was set up like a restaurant, with a table, chairs and table setting all in your room (or on your balcony) served in courses! Lots of lovely complimentary surprises, like Vinsanto wine as a dessert beverage and bread and dips for starters. We also ventured to the cave restaurant for a meal and the atmosphere was just beautiful. Breakfast could be taken in room or on the patio and you could make your selection from a number of amazing options, choosing as much as you liked from fruit, meats, cheeses, pancakes, eggs, cake and fresh juices/coffee/tea. Oh, and one night we walked to a restaurant in Imerovigli called Anogi, had the most amazing potato salad and souvlaki.

Do not hesitate to book here, rooms were modern, clean and comfortable and the service is personalised and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
120
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Avaton was our last stay on our Turkey, Athen and Greek Island Holiday in June this year.
The staff was amazing. Avaton is located at the end of the road away from the hustle of other Imerovigil Resort. We stayed in the Avaton Suite with a balcony spa which looked out over the Agean Seas and Oia. The day spa was fantastic. the room service was remarkable. the chef was fabulous. Breakfast was service to your balcony very morning. During our stay I had my birthday, that morning breakfast was serviced with champagne by the waiter singing Happy Birthday too you. On arrival Flowers were placed on our bed. Red wine and fruit were also a surprise gift. Avaton staff goes beyond to make your stay special. Thank you for the memories.

Room Tip: Avaton suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I did not stay here but will definitely do so next time. Gorgeous resort with immensely helpful and attentive staff. I went to the spa for a deep tissue massage and a pedicure. The spa was splendid. You feel relaxed from the moment you walk in. It's the small touches that help one relax - it was warm, you could hear water trickling into their spa pool, you could smell peppermint essence oil. I was met with a lovely massage therapist who knew exactly what she was doing. She was able to soothe the problem areas on my back (which is an ongoing issue for me). Every little thing was taken care of - the oil used was warm, the room was at optimum temperature, lighting was perfect, and the level of care provided really makes you feel special. I wish I had booked to stay here. Quality and comfort come first, and I really appreciated that. Next time, this place will be a definite stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We didn't originally book this hotel for our 2 days in Santorini, however it is the new sister hotel of our original reservation and we were generously upgraded! Imerovigli is amazing on its own, not as touristy as Oia or Fira yet still close and there is a direct bus you can take if you don't feel like a cab. The rooms were beautiful, modern and very clean all opening up to a shared infinity pool with the most dramatic view! On top of that the staff was very accommodating and Laura the hotel manager went out of her way to make our stay memorable. We did not try the spa, but we did eat at the restaurant there and the food was delicious. I definitely would come back to stay here next time I'm in Santorini!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My boyfriend and i spent the first week of October 2012 in Santorini.
Had the luck to stay in Avaton Resort.
The location of the hotel is really amazing, the view is breathtaking.
Enjoyed very much the legendary breakfast they serve. Also had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The quality of the food is excellent, so is the service.
The personel is very helpful and friendly.
I really try to find something negative about this hotel but there i can't.
It is perfect.
I will definetely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Santorini and stayed at Avaton resort from 28 August till 1 September this year as part of our honeymoon. From the moment we jumped out of our transfer we were greeted by friendly staff and led down the path to Avaton, this beautiful hideaway overlooking the caldera and Aegean sea! Laura was amazing, so helpful and attentive to all our questions about local attractions/restaurants/transport etc.
The rooms were clean and spacious, and service was amazing, getting a tailor-made breakfast every morning delivered to our room was also such a great touch. If you are looking for a relaxing hideaway with breathtaking views this is definitely the place to stay! Highly recommend to anyone thinking of traveling here.
Note Oia is about a 15 minute taxi drive away, it is very touristic and although they say the sunset from Oia is to die for, its not so romantic when you are sharing it with loads of people! We got the most stunning view of the sunset every night, from the luxury of our balcony with a bottle of wine. Couldn't have asked for a better spot to stay! The spa facilities are great, in this gorgeous cave! Overall, the best place we could have stayed and we will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Avaton from 14-18 Sept and we just have to say that everything from the view to the the service staff was great! Laura was fantastic she gave us excellent advice on what to do, restaurants to eat and was always happy to assist us our requests. We originally booked 3nights at the superior room and last night at the honeymoon suite. However, the team was kind enough to upgrade us to honeymoon suite for an extra night! The rooms were white, cave-ish but modern and very clean. We were particularly impressed by the maid service, the room was cleaned up twice a day and there were sweet treats left in our room every evening. The spa was excellent too, nice facilities and the massage itself left us wanting for more. We were treated to a bottle of champagne right after our spa.

Although the Avaton is a little pricey, they deserve the five star rating because their service and the hotel's facilities more than makes up for it. Would recommend for honeymooners or couples looking to celebrate a special occasion!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avaton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaton Resort

Address: P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#10 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avaton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Avaton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avaton Hotel Imerovigli
Avaton Resort Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avaton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.