We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definetely go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avaton Resort

Save Saved
You added Avaton Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avaton Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 hotels in Imerovigli
Piraeus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Will definetely go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My boyfriend and i spent the first week of October 2012 in Santorini.
Had the luck to stay in Avaton Resort.
The location of the hotel is really amazing, the view is breathtaking.
Enjoyed very much the legendary breakfast they serve. Also had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The quality of the food is excellent, so is the service.
The personel is very helpful and friendly.
I really try to find something negative about this hotel but there i can't.
It is perfect.
I will definetely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
102
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Santorini and stayed at Avaton resort from 28 August till 1 September this year as part of our honeymoon. From the moment we jumped out of our transfer we were greeted by friendly staff and led down the path to Avaton, this beautiful hideaway overlooking the caldera and Aegean sea! Laura was amazing, so helpful and attentive to all our questions about local attractions/restaurants/transport etc.
The rooms were clean and spacious, and service was amazing, getting a tailor-made breakfast every morning delivered to our room was also such a great touch. If you are looking for a relaxing hideaway with breathtaking views this is definitely the place to stay! Highly recommend to anyone thinking of traveling here.
Note Oia is about a 15 minute taxi drive away, it is very touristic and although they say the sunset from Oia is to die for, its not so romantic when you are sharing it with loads of people! We got the most stunning view of the sunset every night, from the luxury of our balcony with a bottle of wine. Couldn't have asked for a better spot to stay! The spa facilities are great, in this gorgeous cave! Overall, the best place we could have stayed and we will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Avaton from 14-18 Sept and we just have to say that everything from the view to the the service staff was great! Laura was fantastic she gave us excellent advice on what to do, restaurants to eat and was always happy to assist us our requests. We originally booked 3nights at the superior room and last night at the honeymoon suite. However, the team was kind enough to upgrade us to honeymoon suite for an extra night! The rooms were white, cave-ish but modern and very clean. We were particularly impressed by the maid service, the room was cleaned up twice a day and there were sweet treats left in our room every evening. The spa was excellent too, nice facilities and the massage itself left us wanting for more. We were treated to a bottle of champagne right after our spa.

Although the Avaton is a little pricey, they deserve the five star rating because their service and the hotel's facilities more than makes up for it. Would recommend for honeymooners or couples looking to celebrate a special occasion!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fagernes, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Me and my sister traveled to Santorini and Avaton Resort and Spa September 1st to September 8th. From the moment we arrived in Imerovigli we felt completly welcome and taken care of. The view is to die for!! A member of the staff (sorry, I didn't catch his name) met us and helped us with our bags down the narrow path to Avaton. When we arrived at the hotel, Laura greeted us and showed us around the property. We also got a glass of sparkling wine, nice touch. After a quick tour, she took us to our beautiful room. We stayed in a superior room, with a nice private veranda by the pool and an amazing view of the caldera. So pretty!!

This hotel is for adults only and you can really tell. It is so nice and quiet all the time! As the hotel only have 9 rooms the amount of people staying here are limited, which is nice when you want a relaxing vacation. When we were laying by the pool there were so much space and we never once felt bothered by the other people staying there. It is only one word to describe it; relaxing! The spa-music they play all around the hotel makes the atmosphere really amazing and soothing.
Everyday the room were cleaned at least twice and it looked spotless. The cleanliness at this hotel is really good.

Another thing I would like to point out is the amazing food. The guy in the kitchen (sorry, can't remember his name either..) is so nice and service-minded. He really made our stay fantastic! He will cook you the most amazing breakfast. Just fill out a form the night before (there is a lot to choose from) and he serves the breakfast at your veranda/balcony at a chosen time. Not only was he a great chef, but he was also always smiling and asking us how we were. Truly a great staff member who really makes this hotel so special and perfect! We also had lunch and dinner at the hotel a few times and the food was simply devine. Try the club-sandwich for lunch and eat it by the pool; so good!

We also tried the spa a couple of times. The lady in the spa is very professional and nice. I tried the chocholate delight- treatment and it was fantastic!! Smelled so good and it was 100 % relaxing. We also had spa mani/pedis which was great! The heated pool inside is also very nice. The whole atmosphere inside the spa is super-relaxing.

I have probably forgotten something in this review, as there are simply so many good things about this resort. Our stay here was perfect and we enjoyed it so very much. We will definitly come back next summer!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms and suites are upstairs, but I think the view was just as amazing from the downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in Avaton for 5 days and we enjoyed luxurius accommodation.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull.
The spa of Avaton is the best spa on the island, and the food is excellent.
The panoramic view of caldera and the Aegean sea its infront of you.
U can enjoy the amazing sunset from your balcony.
Very close to the capital, easy access to the hotel with few steps.
Perfect maid service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amybu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Avaton Resort on our honeymoon.

I cannot begin to praise this beautiful hotel enough. The hotel itself is gorgeous and well located with the most spectacular views of the caldera and sunset. It is located within a 2/3 minute walk of a small shop/minimarket and 5 minutes from a larger set of shops and also 2 great restaurants/tavernas called Estia and Anogi. We ate at both and the food was brilliant and great value for money. The infinity pool at the hotel is fantastic and the perfect place to cool down and take in the views. The simplistic design is stylish without being pretentious and everything is well kept and spotless. Lovely spacious rooms, lovely shower and comfy bed. The staff are all very friendly and so helpful. I have never seen staff work so hard to make your experience truly memorable. A great team. I was 6 months pregnant and they were always asking how I was and if I needed anything.

The food - wow! Breakfast is incredible. You get a menu card the day before and chose what you like (from a large list of crepes, cereals, pastries, cooked breakfast, yoghurt, fruit etc and fantastic juice) then you chose what time you would like it delivered to your balcony/terrace or you can eat it on the patio area. Absolutely delicious and spoilt for choice. We also ate in the restaurant one evening and again the food was exceptionally good and beautiful surroundings.

The spa is a beautiful space and as we were on our honeymoon we were treated to a rose petal and milk bath with champagne which was beautiful and very relaxing. Again, another really great example of customer service as the bath usually contains essential oils but the ladie in the spa took them out as they knew I was pregnant and didn't want to use anything that might not be suitable. They also made sure the wated in the hydropool was slightly less hot to make sure I was comfortable. These little things make a big difference and are a great example of how attentive and lovely the staff are.

I could not recommend Avaton enough. They made our week absolutely perfect and was possibly the most beautiful hotel and setting we have visited. Would love to return but have brilliant memories of Santorini, Imerovigli and Avaton resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Avaton hotel combines classic cave architecture with chic, modern styling and incredibly attentive service to create an atmosphere of tranquil bliss! Laura really looked after us and made sure we had a truly memorable stay - breakfast and sunsets on the balcony will be fondly remembered. We had some fantastic food at the restaurant, especially the octopus...but I recommend steering clear of the squid ink risotto! All in all exceeded our high expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avaton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaton Resort

Address: P.O. Box 97, Imerovigli, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#11 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avaton Resort 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Agoda so you can book your Avaton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avaton Hotel Imerovigli
Avaton Resort Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avaton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.