We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for a honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Above Blue Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Above Blue Suites to your Saves list
Above Blue Suites
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
Singapore
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best place for a honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Dimitris and staff were extremely welcoming and helpful to all our needs. They also provided great suggestions to our itinerary.

The Harmony room was spacious and beautiful, the black and white theme was very nice. Having breakfast in the balcony everyday was a perfect way to start the day! Imerovigli may be quieter than Fira & Oia, but that was how we wanted it. Anyway its very easy to get to other parts of the island, either by rental or taxi.

We had a beautiful experience with Above Blue.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    25
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
202
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We saved up and splurged on this hotel and for us it was worth every penny. It was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the scenery. We very much enjoyed eating breakfast on the balcony each morning and watching the sunset from the jacuzzi each night. The decor and layout of the room was very appealing. The bed was comfortable and the room came with some nice bonuses such as a laptop for our use, a nice sitting area, a mini refrigerator, and two flat screen tvs.

The service wasn't fantastic. They definitely did not want to come in early to check us out for our early flight off the island, but they did show up and they were on time. We had two TVs, but the problem was the same remote would work for both, so while we were lying in bed and turned the tv by the bed off, the other tv across the room would come on. The room didn't get very cool. For the price I would have liked a better working air conditioner. The jacuzzi was a little cool for my taste as well, but with views like that I barely noticed.

Overall we are glad we spent the extra money for a nice hotel with a private jacuzzi and sunset view. It exceeded our expectations. See my pictures for a perfect summary of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

This really is heaven on earth!!
We were booked into the Lagoon room for our honeymoon stay, when we arrived we were given a complimentory Bottle of Champagne, the view from our veranda was quite simply stunning as was the room. The Staff were wonderful and made us feel so special everyone knew we were getting married out there and were constantly smiling and wishing us well for the day. The Breakfast was beyond belief we had a champagne breakfast with beautifully presented food every morning. Even down to the scrambled egg in the shape of hearts!! We were a bit greedy and ticked everything on the list we were given daily, but we were served with a huge smile from the waiter even though his knee's were buckling from the weight of the tray's. On the day of the wedding we were to be picked up and taken to a little church on the mountain, everyone was exited for us and watching the weather and the lovely Dora (who was on reception and catered to our every need) she even laced me into my wedding dress. Love you Dora!! Whilst we were away they lit our verana, bedroom, jacuzzi with candles and when we arrived back everything just looked magical. I am rarely moved to tears of joy but I was on the brink the whole time we stayed there and couldn't beleive how lucky we had been to pick this Hotel above all others. My advice to anyone thinking of a wedding, aniversary, or just a holiday to remember forever is ABOVE BLUE above anyone else. I would personally like to thank all the staff for their help in making our stay so perfect. I have attached some photos of our wedding day and of course the breakfast!!! Love to all at Above Blue xxxx

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

This is a classy example how you should not run your hotel.

Just a selection of issues encountered in 3 days:
1. No toilet paper.
They either never bothered to check this, or they were using it themselves.

2. Booked a car hire - they forgot about it and lied
I have a confirmation in writing from the manager of this place confirming the car hire. When i asked about it on the day, they apparently didn't receive the reservation. After showing my document, they said, they forgot.

3. Breakfast - not worth the money
They have these fancy sheets allowing you to choose breakfast, but they never stick to what you say.

4. Service is terrible
I've asked not to be woken up early, but the service people knock hard on the door at 8am. Then I tell them, please come back later in the afternoon... and guess what: 30 minutes later they turn up knocking again

5. The manager is rude (the lady that is).
I tried to reason with her over the problems but.. forget it. She became rude and horrible claiming how many million EUR she runs and how we're wrong

6. Rooms are not for the claustrofobic types, as there's only a tiny vent where air gets in. Otherwise you're in a cave.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We ended our Honeymoon month with a stay here at Above Blue suites. We stayed in the Siren Suite. George and staff were super helpful from the moment we signed in, to the moment we left. The views, unbelievable. The food, perfection.
It's a slight walk to Fira, so if you have bad knees or not prone to long walks, you may want to rent a vehicle or taxi to Fira. It's maybe 10 mins. walk up and down stairs and cliffside terrace's. There is nothing better than waking up to a gourmet breakfast on your balcony high above the sea. Nothing compares!
We only experiecned 1 issue, which was when we arrived via ferry, the transport I had arranged with Above Blue was not there. To make it worse, nobody in the port had a phone number (ours had been lost) and all the internet connections were down. We had to wait for a taxi driver who knew of Above Blue - as at that time it was still brand new.

Overall. No complaints. Luxurious from start to finish. 5 stars!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Everything about this hotel was amazing. The staff went above and beyond anything I expected. Every recommendation they made was right on the money, and they made all sight-seeing or rental arrangements for us. They served us a delicious breakfast on our private terrace every morning. The room was tastefully decorated and spacious with every amenity we needed (flat screen tv, laptop with internet, mini-fridge, iPod docking station, safe). The bathroom was a sight to behold. We had a cave-like hot tub in our bathroom. And the views were spectacular...mind-blowingly beautiful. I think that if you're going to go to Santorini, Above Blue Suites is the place you should stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We came here on our honeymoon. The views are spectacular, the rooms are clean and well designed. The loaner laptop is useful, and the breakfasts are incredible. The cab from the hotel drops you off in a non-descript cul de sac and a small gate leads you to a stunning view of the caldera. The hotel is built on the slope of the caldera and one or two rooms are clustered around the entrance, small office, and pool, while many rooms are located on either side of a staircase which leads down the cliff from the pool area. The lower rooms see less passing foot traffic.

We split our stay between the golden echo suite and the heaven suite. Both are great, with golden echo being a lot larger and having lots of mood lighting options, an extra indoor pool/tub, an extra TV, and a daybed. We were there near the end of the season, so while it was warm during the day and free of crowds, it was a bit too cold to use the main pool or the in-room pool in the golden echo. The in-room pool isn't a hot tub and doesn't have a warm/hot water option. It would be great during the summer after a day out hiking or at the beach. The heaven suite was smaller but had everything we needed.

Each room has the same porch set up with a hot tub and a table and chairs, and we spent a lot of time on our porch. The heaven suite had a slightly better view, but either view was spectacular. The hot tubs were great, but since they are outside they ask you not to run the jets early or late to cut down on the noise. In mid-October the calmness and quiet in the mornings was amazing, especially coming from NYC. Each porch is mostly private, though the upper rooms have their balconies close to or beside the pool, so if you go a bit down the cliff face from the pool, you get a more private porch to sip your coffee on or watch the sunset.

Things you should be aware of: It is an island and the water is desalinated and not potable, so you can shower and brush your teeth with it, but pick up some bottled water at the nearby store or from the minibar for drinking. Not sure what their sewer/septic system is, but you aren't supposed to flush any sort of paper out of most toilets on the island--hence why the staff comes around to change the trash bags out a lot. The cord in the shower is a "I've fallen and I can't get up" safety thing--don't pull it repeatedly thinking it controls a light somewhere like I did or they might call to see if you are either hurt or just being an American. Things run a little behind on the island sometimes--allow yourself extra time in case things are running 15 minutes behind and don't stress out over it.

Imerovigli is the highest point on the island and is a 45-60 minute walk to Fira and a much longer walk to Oia. The isolation is nice if you are seeking to avoid the cruise ship bustle of Fira, and there are tavernas within a 10 minute walk and small grocery stores very nearby. The walk to the taverna was one of the more enjoyable parts of the evening—if you take the cliffside path at the bottom of the stairs of the hotel, the views are stunning. You can also walk 10 minutes in another direction and be in the middle of nowhere with an amazing view and no people around. Some very nifty Venetian ruins are very nearby that you can poke around in, though you go down 282 steps and then up again to get down there. The staff pointed us to a lovely taverna that we made our evening base of operations (Taverna Imerovigli)and recommended a great local winery (Sigalas) and arranged for transportation (expect a 15 euro cab ride with stunning views or maybe a 10 euro bus ride). The Sigalas winery isn’t far from Oia, so you can cab over there and check out that town afterwards.

We hiked by many of the hotels that we were initially considering on our way to other places, and the only one that looked to be on a par was Anastasia apartments, though they are very isolated so you end up renting a car and dealing with finding parking if you want to go anywhere. I'm glad that we went with Above Blue for our first visit to the island because it was a perfect place from which to explore the island on foot. If you want to hit the beaches from above blue, consider renting a car for the day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Above Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Blue Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Above Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above Blue Suites represents a new concept of sanctuary where ten suites perched in the highest point of the stiff cliffs, facing the endless blue of the Aegean Sea, combine harmonically the unique architecture of the famous Santorinian caves, with the sophisticated luxury and the particular decoration, offering generously a truly romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Above Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Above Blue Hotel Imerovigli
Above Blue Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above Blue Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.