We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Above Blue Suites

Save Saved
You added Above Blue Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Above Blue Suites
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Above Blue Suites for 3 nights at the beginning of April. We stayed in the Moonlit Suite and the view was simply amazing. The staff were wonderful and helpful and full of suggestions for things to go and do. We really enjoyed having breakfast on our balcony each morning as we could relax with the most spectacular views. On arrival we were treated to a lovely cocktail and glass of champagne by the pool. Cannot wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guests, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review and just say how pleased we are that you had such a great time. We sincerely hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    22
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
172
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Above blue suites has a wonderful view and I stayed there for 2 nights. When I got in Athens, I found my luggage had been in Turkey, not in Athens. I was so embarrassed and had no idea what I should do, but lady staff of Above blue suites helped me cantact the Airport and when I came back from trip of Santorini, my bag was in the room I stayed. There are two staff and they speak English very well, also kind. Except so late night, they always got a call and help us many times. Breakfast was so nice and we could choose what we want to eat. Room was tidy and clean all the time and there were towels enough everyday. Eventhogh we couldn't swim in the swimming pool due to the bad weather, we really enjoyed staying there!!
I love Santorini and Above blue suites.

Room Tip: People who want to stay at Above blue suites should choose a room with Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the delightful review and for taking the time to post it. We are glad that the Above Blue Suite's team has lived up to your expectations, and we all look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's taken me a long time to write this review (as we actually visited in late 2011) but Above Blue was simply amazing. We stayed in the Charm Suite, which was at the front, and it wasn't a cheap stay, but it was perfect! We didn't want to leave.

The best features - the view, breakfast on your balcony and the beautiful rooms.

Will stay again if we ever return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guests, thank you so much for your amazing review! We are delighted that 2 years after, you are still remembering your stay in our hotel. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a great week at Above Blue Suites for our first wedding anniversary. We stayed at blue lagoon suite for first 3 days and we were amazed with the room, personal jacuzzi. The accommodation was immaculate and service was fantastic. We had the pleasure of having champagne breakfast which was served at our balcony every morning admiring the breath taking views. We stayed in the golden echo suite for the remainder of our stay and this was certainly the highlight of our stay as the room was amazing! It was dressed very tastefully, we had plenty of room and a personal jacuzzi this was definitely worth seeing an experience not to be missed. It's just like the pictures on the website. Staff were very friendly and very helpful, especially Maria who provided us with plenty of helpful information and great recommendations for some very good restaurants. I would certainly recommend this as a great place to stay in Santorini.

Room Tip: Golden echo is a great choice for a special occasion or even a honeymoon! It's out of this world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to have matched your expectations and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Above Blue Suites-it is very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This review is long overdue. We stayed at the Above Blue Suites last summer during our trip to Greece and were pleasantly delighted. After travelling all day from Mykonos, we arrived at the Above Blue Suites late in the afternoon. I was a little nervous when the taxi pulled up to the hotel because it was on a deserted street with nothing around. The outside of the hotel looked very simple so I did no know what to expect. Once we entered into the check in area, it was like a hidden gem of paradise. The views were breathtaking and the grounds were immaculate.
My husband and I were traveling with our 2 other friends. There is no restaurant at this boutique hotel so we would have had to go out somewhere for dinner. Instead of having to search for a place to eat after a long day of travel the staff set up a private dinner for the 2 of us at the quiet poolside with their personal gourmet chef, It was perfect.
I cannot say enough about the hotel manager, Dimitry and his staff. They were so warm and welcoming, anticipating our every need.
We stayed in the Rose Suite which was extemely warm and inviting. The beds were so comfortable and relaxing. Rooms were extremely clean and stocked fridge every night with water, beverages and other refreshments.
The Breakfast every morning was delivered to our terrace outdoors and it was so yummy! Above Blue Suites did not miss a beat with accomodations and service! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose the Rose Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After doing a TON of research, my husband and I stayed at Above Blue during our honeymoon last May. The staff was incredibly friendly with a laid back vibe (which is what we like).

Unfortunately, the weather was not the best - a decent amount of rain and colder temps - so we did spend a decent amount of time in our room. We stayed in the Heaven suite, which was beautiful, but if I had to do it again, I would have gone with Golden Echo since the weather was too cold outside to really enjoy the hot-tub (which, for some reason, was only hot on half of the nights we were there).

All that said, it was a really beatiful spot with AMAZING views!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful and - mostly- sunny island, sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a honeymoon spot....stop looking. It doesnt get any better than this. We stayed in the Heaven Suite during the August "busy" season and had the time of our lives. Its incredibly private, peaceful, has drop dead gorgeous views from the highest point in the island, rooms are exquisitely decorated, and the staff treats you like royalty.

Some suggestions:

- use the staff for reservations/ recommendations. They'll literally reserve the best tables for you at the restaurants of your choice.

- book at least some sort of honeymoon package. We did the basic one with candles, satin sheets, and Santorini wine.

- rent ATV from Jimmy's like everyone else here has mentioned....do the drive to perivoulos (best Sandy black beach on the island we thought) and Perissa. Kamari is soso with a nice boardwalk...but youll need sandals to walk on the beach (very stoney, people burn their feet). Nice outdoor theatre there that's worth checking out though if your looking for a night time activity.

-obviously need to go to Oia to catch a sunset. For us ...we actually went down there "early" one day (7:30 am- nobody wakes up in these islands until like 10:30) and had the entire town/castle to ourselves for pics. Then, came back later that night when it was packed to see the sunset....which really is the best you'll ever see in your life.

-Caldera tour....honestly do some research on this. There's a cheap option where you can take a Viking ship with 100 people...or you can book a semi private catamaran (8 people) like we did which also went to red beach, white beach, and ended at Vlichada. Not that much more expensive really.

- if you have time and are up for it...do the hike from Fira to Oia. Gorgeous.

In summary- we had an amazing time and couldn't recommend this island/hotel any more!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable and detailed review. Your kind comments motivate us to improve even more. Hopefully, we will welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Above Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Blue Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Above Blue Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above Blue Suites represents a new concept of sanctuary where ten suites perched in the highest point of the stiff cliffs, facing the endless blue of the Aegean Sea, combine harmonically the unique architecture of the famous Santorinian caves, with the sophisticated luxury and the particular decoration, offering generously a truly romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, Escapio, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Above Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Above Blue Hotel Imerovigli
Above Blue Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above Blue Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.