We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Above Blue Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Above Blue Suites to your Saves list
Above Blue Suites
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a great week at Above Blue Suites for our first wedding anniversary. We stayed at blue lagoon suite for first 3 days and we were amazed with the room, personal jacuzzi. The accommodation was immaculate and service was fantastic. We had the pleasure of having champagne breakfast which was served at our balcony every morning admiring the breath taking views. We stayed in the golden echo suite for the remainder of our stay and this was certainly the highlight of our stay as the room was amazing! It was dressed very tastefully, we had plenty of room and a personal jacuzzi this was definitely worth seeing an experience not to be missed. It's just like the pictures on the website. Staff were very friendly and very helpful, especially Maria who provided us with plenty of helpful information and great recommendations for some very good restaurants. I would certainly recommend this as a great place to stay in Santorini.

Room Tip: Golden echo is a great choice for a special occasion or even a honeymoon! It's out of this world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to have matched your expectations and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Above Blue Suites-it is very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    25
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
199
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This review is long overdue. We stayed at the Above Blue Suites last summer during our trip to Greece and were pleasantly delighted. After travelling all day from Mykonos, we arrived at the Above Blue Suites late in the afternoon. I was a little nervous when the taxi pulled up to the hotel because it was on a deserted street with nothing around. The outside of the hotel looked very simple so I did no know what to expect. Once we entered into the check in area, it was like a hidden gem of paradise. The views were breathtaking and the grounds were immaculate.
My husband and I were traveling with our 2 other friends. There is no restaurant at this boutique hotel so we would have had to go out somewhere for dinner. Instead of having to search for a place to eat after a long day of travel the staff set up a private dinner for the 2 of us at the quiet poolside with their personal gourmet chef, It was perfect.
I cannot say enough about the hotel manager, Dimitry and his staff. They were so warm and welcoming, anticipating our every need.
We stayed in the Rose Suite which was extemely warm and inviting. The beds were so comfortable and relaxing. Rooms were extremely clean and stocked fridge every night with water, beverages and other refreshments.
The Breakfast every morning was delivered to our terrace outdoors and it was so yummy! Above Blue Suites did not miss a beat with accomodations and service! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose the Rose Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After doing a TON of research, my husband and I stayed at Above Blue during our honeymoon last May. The staff was incredibly friendly with a laid back vibe (which is what we like).

Unfortunately, the weather was not the best - a decent amount of rain and colder temps - so we did spend a decent amount of time in our room. We stayed in the Heaven suite, which was beautiful, but if I had to do it again, I would have gone with Golden Echo since the weather was too cold outside to really enjoy the hot-tub (which, for some reason, was only hot on half of the nights we were there).

All that said, it was a really beatiful spot with AMAZING views!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful and - mostly- sunny island, sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a honeymoon spot....stop looking. It doesnt get any better than this. We stayed in the Heaven Suite during the August "busy" season and had the time of our lives. Its incredibly private, peaceful, has drop dead gorgeous views from the highest point in the island, rooms are exquisitely decorated, and the staff treats you like royalty.

Some suggestions:

- use the staff for reservations/ recommendations. They'll literally reserve the best tables for you at the restaurants of your choice.

- book at least some sort of honeymoon package. We did the basic one with candles, satin sheets, and Santorini wine.

- rent ATV from Jimmy's like everyone else here has mentioned....do the drive to perivoulos (best Sandy black beach on the island we thought) and Perissa. Kamari is soso with a nice boardwalk...but youll need sandals to walk on the beach (very stoney, people burn their feet). Nice outdoor theatre there that's worth checking out though if your looking for a night time activity.

-obviously need to go to Oia to catch a sunset. For us ...we actually went down there "early" one day (7:30 am- nobody wakes up in these islands until like 10:30) and had the entire town/castle to ourselves for pics. Then, came back later that night when it was packed to see the sunset....which really is the best you'll ever see in your life.

-Caldera tour....honestly do some research on this. There's a cheap option where you can take a Viking ship with 100 people...or you can book a semi private catamaran (8 people) like we did which also went to red beach, white beach, and ended at Vlichada. Not that much more expensive really.

- if you have time and are up for it...do the hike from Fira to Oia. Gorgeous.

In summary- we had an amazing time and couldn't recommend this island/hotel any more!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable and detailed review. Your kind comments motivate us to improve even more. Hopefully, we will welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wonderful view, great location and very friendly staff. Upon arrival, they were very helpful in suggesting good restaurants and must visit attractions in Santorini. The only qualm we had was that their service levels were inconsistent. A few requests we made during our stay included helping setting up times to visit the vineyards (as they suggested this needed booking). In the end though, we ended up setting this up ourselves, as there was no follow up on it. Similarly with ordering food for an evening meal. Other requests went wonderfully though such as being able to get our breakfast organised earlier than usual. We stayed here during off-peak season, so during peak season the problem may become even worse.

Despite this minor set back, the overall attitude of the staff, quality of the suite etc was top notch overall. If you're OK organising things yourself, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your comments about your very recent stay at Above Blue Suites.

We are very sorry to read that you are not satisfied with our services though the issue with the wineries you are mentioning, is a big misunderstanding, as the receptionist understood that you wanted information about where the wineries were located and great your willingness he served.

We state that this is a misunderstanding because the hotels staff informed you that it’s better to advice the reception before you decide to visit a winery in order to call them and confirm that they will be open, considering that there is no information from them on their operation hours and all that in order to achieve maximum customer service.

There is no possibility in booking an appointment with a winery since it’s a place that operates for a big number of guests.

Besides, I think you understand perfectly that if the service of the hotel was not willing to serve the most, would not provide specific information from the outset and of course would provide bad service from the beginning to the end of your stay, something that never happened as we can read from your review.

We are very sorry for all the inconvenience caused and we committed to do our best in order to experience the real customer service that Above Blue Suites provides to its Guests, if you ever decide to visit Imerovigli and Above Blue Suites in future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had the most amazing holiday in Santorini staying at the Above blue suites.Stayed in the Golden Echo suite for 10 days, and it doesn't come cheap, so probably not value for money, but who cares. this place is fabulous. Santorini is a must see place, and you won't stay anywhere better than this hotel. Negatives??....We had to come home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Run! Don't walk to this beautiful boutique hotel in Santorini. The rooms are well-appointed. Breakfast arrives on time on your balcony in the morning. The staff was a delight. They upgraded us to ensure our special requests were met. Susana who checked us in was so sweet and accomodating. She even helped us plan out our sightseeing since we were only there for 2 days. I would book again in a heartbeat. It's definitely a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is truly rewarding for us to see that we please our guests in every aspect, as we love to take care of every detail to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Above Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Blue Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Above Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above Blue Suites represents a new concept of sanctuary where ten suites perched in the highest point of the stiff cliffs, facing the endless blue of the Aegean Sea, combine harmonically the unique architecture of the famous Santorinian caves, with the sophisticated luxury and the particular decoration, offering generously a truly romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Above Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Above Blue Hotel Imerovigli
Above Blue Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above Blue Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.