We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Above Blue Suites

Save Saved
You added Above Blue Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Above Blue Suites
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Honeymoon heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a honeymoon spot....stop looking. It doesnt get any better than this. We stayed in the Heaven Suite during the August "busy" season and had the time of our lives. Its incredibly private, peaceful, has drop dead gorgeous views from the highest point in the island, rooms are exquisitely decorated, and the staff treats you like royalty.

Some suggestions:

- use the staff for reservations/ recommendations. They'll literally reserve the best tables for you at the restaurants of your choice.

- book at least some sort of honeymoon package. We did the basic one with candles, satin sheets, and Santorini wine.

- rent ATV from Jimmy's like everyone else here has mentioned....do the drive to perivoulos (best Sandy black beach on the island we thought) and Perissa. Kamari is soso with a nice boardwalk...but youll need sandals to walk on the beach (very stoney, people burn their feet). Nice outdoor theatre there that's worth checking out though if your looking for a night time activity.

-obviously need to go to Oia to catch a sunset. For us ...we actually went down there "early" one day (7:30 am- nobody wakes up in these islands until like 10:30) and had the entire town/castle to ourselves for pics. Then, came back later that night when it was packed to see the sunset....which really is the best you'll ever see in your life.

-Caldera tour....honestly do some research on this. There's a cheap option where you can take a Viking ship with 100 people...or you can book a semi private catamaran (8 people) like we did which also went to red beach, white beach, and ended at Vlichada. Not that much more expensive really.

- if you have time and are up for it...do the hike from Fira to Oia. Gorgeous.

In summary- we had an amazing time and couldn't recommend this island/hotel any more!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable and detailed review. Your kind comments motivate us to improve even more. Hopefully, we will welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    22
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
174
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wonderful view, great location and very friendly staff. Upon arrival, they were very helpful in suggesting good restaurants and must visit attractions in Santorini. The only qualm we had was that their service levels were inconsistent. A few requests we made during our stay included helping setting up times to visit the vineyards (as they suggested this needed booking). In the end though, we ended up setting this up ourselves, as there was no follow up on it. Similarly with ordering food for an evening meal. Other requests went wonderfully though such as being able to get our breakfast organised earlier than usual. We stayed here during off-peak season, so during peak season the problem may become even worse.

Despite this minor set back, the overall attitude of the staff, quality of the suite etc was top notch overall. If you're OK organising things yourself, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your comments about your very recent stay at Above Blue Suites.

We are very sorry to read that you are not satisfied with our services though the issue with the wineries you are mentioning, is a big misunderstanding, as the receptionist understood that you wanted information about where the wineries were located and great your willingness he served.

We state that this is a misunderstanding because the hotels staff informed you that it’s better to advice the reception before you decide to visit a winery in order to call them and confirm that they will be open, considering that there is no information from them on their operation hours and all that in order to achieve maximum customer service.

There is no possibility in booking an appointment with a winery since it’s a place that operates for a big number of guests.

Besides, I think you understand perfectly that if the service of the hotel was not willing to serve the most, would not provide specific information from the outset and of course would provide bad service from the beginning to the end of your stay, something that never happened as we can read from your review.

We are very sorry for all the inconvenience caused and we committed to do our best in order to experience the real customer service that Above Blue Suites provides to its Guests, if you ever decide to visit Imerovigli and Above Blue Suites in future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had the most amazing holiday in Santorini staying at the Above blue suites.Stayed in the Golden Echo suite for 10 days, and it doesn't come cheap, so probably not value for money, but who cares. this place is fabulous. Santorini is a must see place, and you won't stay anywhere better than this hotel. Negatives??....We had to come home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Run! Don't walk to this beautiful boutique hotel in Santorini. The rooms are well-appointed. Breakfast arrives on time on your balcony in the morning. The staff was a delight. They upgraded us to ensure our special requests were met. Susana who checked us in was so sweet and accomodating. She even helped us plan out our sightseeing since we were only there for 2 days. I would book again in a heartbeat. It's definitely a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is truly rewarding for us to see that we please our guests in every aspect, as we love to take care of every detail to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Above Blue in early September for our honeymoon. From arriving at the airport to being dropped off one week later, everything was just epic! When we arrived Maria ans Susannah greeted us with a warm smile and a welcome drink. We stayed in the harmony suite which is at the bottom of the steps and it took our breath away. A welcome bottle of champagne was on ice in our room also. The hotel is quiet and intimate, the perfect honeymoon destination. All the staff are very attentive and nothing is to much trouble. We loved chilling in our jacuzzi, reading and relaxing with a glass of bubbly.

I challenge anyone not to enjoy this hotel. Total luxury! a big thank you to Maria, Susannah, Ilyan and all at the best hotel in Santorini! Can't wait to come back one day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are delighted that you stayed with us and had a good time. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was orginally booked at On the Rocks!!! thank god they overbooked...When I saw that place I was horrified!!! Above the blue exceeded my expectations...The best place room was big and clean. service was on point...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is truly rewarding for us to see that we please our guests in every aspect, as we love to take care of every detail to make your stay unforgettable.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great hotel we really enjoyed our stay there and will most likely return at some point. it got four out of five because of a few things that didn't live up to the price, here they are 1. room wasnt ready when we arrived 2. served my vegetarian fiance meat 3. had to call multiple times to have the heat turned on in the indoor and outdoor tubs, however the room was gorgeous the views were amazing! the food was great loved the breakfast every morning and the staff were helpfull when problems arose.
thanks above blue for a wonderfull time

Room Tip: golden echo!if not get a room on the other side the views are better from the tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure we read your review; your feedback motivates us to improve even more! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Above Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Blue Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Above Blue Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above Blue Suites represents a new concept of sanctuary where ten suites perched in the highest point of the stiff cliffs, facing the endless blue of the Aegean Sea, combine harmonically the unique architecture of the famous Santorinian caves, with the sophisticated luxury and the particular decoration, offering generously a truly romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Above Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Above Blue Hotel Imerovigli
Above Blue Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above Blue Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.