We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Antonio Suites to your Saves list
San Antonio Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli | Outside Imerovigli on the way to Oia, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Imerovigli
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel is really, really good. It´s not the best hotel I have ever been to but its definitevely worth a trip. I wouldn´t stay here for a whole week though. I changed the hotel after 4 days and went to Andronis Luxury Suites, I decided that before I made the trip.

Here some facts:

What I really didnt like:

-the toilet is almost in the middle of the room with no curtains or door! That means if you aren´t really comfortable going to the toilet in front of your partner he or she has to leave the room and wait on the terrace...which might be too much asked for in the middle of the night :)

- There are only around 10 sunloungers around the pools...which are occupied from the morning on (they put their towels there at 6 am in the morning I think, like Germans :). So if you haven´t got a room with a private jacuzzi this might get on your nerves quite soon!



Things I really liked:

- The food is really good, although the breakfast could really be better. The prices aren´t too expensive. Main courses at lunch around 12-15 €, dinner around 20-30€. The food is international and greek.

-We got an uprgade to the most expensive room with a private terrace and jacuzzi and I must say: I wouldn´t like to stay here without it, so this was the best thing that happened to us. If you book this hotel: pay the price for this room, otherwise you will probably regret it. Note that the other room are party directly in front of the pool and everybody can look in (if you didnt close all curtains), no privacy at all!!

- the infinity pool is a bit small but the view is amazing and the pool itself beautiful.

-the furnishing and design is really beautiful and island-style with a lot of light colours

In general: the hotel is really good if you want to chill and hide. Here you can be by yourself if you book the private terrace. People here are pretty much of all ages and nationalities, although it seems like here are a lot English people. The staff is really nice and friendly, although some of them don´t understand a single word of English (housekeepers, poolboys, technicans etc. but I think thats normal!) People here aren´t too stylish which I like since you can be comfortable whatever you wear :) (which is a contrast if you already have that in your day to day life).

you have free internet access with wlan and it works really good. We had a lot of power breakdowns though.

And it really hot here in July: Up to 34 degrees, which is far too hot for me. It might be much more relaxing to come in September or May.

Ah, and don´t forget to bring stuff against mosquitos. We had like 15 of them in our room the first day.

I hope I could help!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    48
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
291
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

After arriving in Santorini and being told that the hotel we originally booked made a mistake and overbooked, and thus didn't have our room available (on our honeymoon!), they put us at San Antonio Suites. Not only was the hotel not in the area we had hoped to be in, but because of the other hotel's mistake I was determined not to like it. However, San Antonio suites is impossible not to love! Aside from having the best view on the island, the hotel's pool is the most beautiful infinity edge pool I've ever seen, the setting is truly unreal (built into the cliffs), and the hotel is beautifully appointed. Two years after our visit, I still dream about the yogurt and fruit served at their breakfast buffet, and our hikes around the surrounding mountains are some of my favorite memories. You'll need to cab or rent a car to get to the main areas of town nearby, but if you're looking for a romantic escape, this hotel is the perfect place. The suites are lovely and simply designed (characteristic of the island) and the suites with outdoor hot tubs are glorious - there's nothing like sitting in your private stone hot tub overlooking the caldera under the stars. And I usually hate jacuzzis! Also, as my husband and I are used to traveling around Europe for months at a time and are used to exhorbitant laundry prices at five star hotels, so it was a delight to have loads of laundry done for next to nothing! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful (they went out of their way all the time) and I truly cannot say enough about the setting, it is a perfectly appointed, magical hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge for the suites with private hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Great hotel with amazing views of the caldera. Very pleasant and helpful staff. It's in a quiet place between Oia and Fira, it's good to have a car. Short drive to picturesque Oia. Restaurant was also very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Hotel is located between Oia and Imerovigli. It is good because it is very quiet and private, and protected by the wind, but you should rent a car to move around.
Service is very good - staff is very friendly (to us and to the other guests, as we noticed), room service twice a day. There was an offer with an immediate upgrade when we booked the hotel, and as promised this is what we got. Breathtaking views of the Caldera, especially when having breakfast, which is almost brunch.
Very romantic, definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

San Antonio Suites exceeded all expectations. We could not have wished for a better place to spend our honeymoon. The location is spectacular. Set in the mountains overlooking the Aegean sea, an amazing infinity pool, exceptional service, exquisite food and wine, five star acccomodation. All of this comes with special finishes touches that make the difference.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel is the most magnificent place I have ever been!
My husband and I wanted to go to a special place for our 10th anniversary. A friend of ours who loves Greece and Santorini suggested we should go to that beautiful island for an unforgettable occasion.
And it was that…superb and unique!! We just did not want it to end!
Our suite was a small paradise…it was as if someone had taken care of even the last minor detail.
The view was extraordinary…this hotel is indeed carved in the rocks between Oia & Imerovigli and we felt like we were the only people on earth! The staff was more than polite and genuine…we even had a dinner at the hotel’s restaurant the day of our anniversary…this was a unique experience!! All these delicious and fresh dishes, the local wines, the alluring endless view…it was as romantic as our wedding day…I wish I had arranged that in San Antonio!
No hesitations for San Antonio…it is more than worth it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Think Eden East - from Couples retreat minus Marcel the host :) The hotel was literally built into the mountain. We were upgrated the first night to a suite with our own Jacuzzi looking out over the calderas. and that is not the best part - i would stay here again in a heartbeat litrerally for the breakfast - you look out onto the sea as you sip on your latt - sheer heaven! the staff was amazing and the hotel was modern, well kept and just wonderful.

Room Tip: Request a room upgrade - doesn't hurt to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Antonio Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Suites

Address: Imerovigli | Outside Imerovigli on the way to Oia, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#9 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty six luxurious suites, harmonically crafted into the encompassing interior of the rock, merge into shapes following the earth's own command. Façades covered with red solidified lava and black volcanic stones, outdoor lounges full of comfort and uninterrupted views to the Caldera... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your San Antonio Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Hotel Santorini
San Antonio Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.