We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Santorini's Balcony

Save Saved
You added Santorini's Balcony to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santorini's Balcony
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Thira-Oia Road | On the famous Caldera, Imerovigli, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here July 2011. Chose this hotel based on Internet presentation. The bus dropped us off at the address and we couldn't identify the hotel. Once we figured out where reception was (at the very back of hotel) we met Socrates. He is the proprietor of the hotel. We travelled with 2 other couples and upon arrival Socrates held out 3 room keys and proclaimed "you pick". Once assigned our gambled rooms we found that one couple received the penthouse room, another couple received an acceptable room (although the toilet leaked everywhere), and the third couple received a room where your feet dangled into the shower while sitting on the toilet. There is no bar, as advertised. If anything the pool is the only accurately advertised Internet asset. The breakfast that was included was all gone by 10 am and was not worth worrying about.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Stay in town, which is more than 2 km away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This place is a real find, it's an unpretentious traditional hotel with spectacular views and very friendly service. If it's luxury and minimalism you want, this isn't the place for you. It has a rustic charm and is excellently positioned on the edges of Imerovigli away from the crowds, but close enough to walk into for an evening meal. It's a great base for exploring the Island, 45 minutes walk to Fira and a 2 hour trek to Oia (if you like walking), we didn't hire a car, but found it very easy to get around using the buses. Imerovigli is certainly beautiful and I was often content just to potter locally. I would recommend this hotel for those who want quiet and relaxation.

Room Tip: We noticed that non Brits often looked at more than one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This beautiful hotel is set looking out over a cliff where you get amazing views of Oia, the water, volcano and the prettiest sunsets. All this can be seen from sitting in the pool.
Antoni and his team were so accommodating and went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful time.
This hotel is set in a great location away from the busyness of Fira. The hotel was so beautiful and relaxing we hardly wanted to leave to go anywhere else on the island.
Situated near a walking track which takes you to Oia or Fira with a restaurant and supermarket close by.
This place is truly breathtaking and we would definitely love to come back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed in this lovely hotel for 5 nights in July of 2012. It's a very nice boutique hotel located in a wonderful spot seeing the volcano, all the way to the end of Oia (Ammoudi Bay) with an uncovered view. The sunset is "breathtaking!". The location is close to both Oia and Fira... The quietness combined with the service of the hotel is very attractive... I enjoyed the pool which is never crowded. The owner, Anthony, is a wonderful and really genuine guy, very warm and always helpful. The staff was always nice. It was my first visit to Santorini and therefore I was more than happy to have stayed in such a nice place. Also great value for money since it was the peak season. Suggestion: Enjoy (fully) the sunset in your balcony with a nice glass of wine, you just can't get enough of it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just amazing! Everything you can wish for if you are looking for a simple and quiet place. It is in the middle of nowhere, you have one restaurant nearby and one supermarket but you need to take the bus or walk to get to Fira or Oia. But I think this is exactly why it has so much charm. The hotel is situated near a walk path that will take you to the mountains and then to Oia (around 2h walk in plain nature). The accomodation is rather simple, good bed, minimum cooking ustensiles. Very good wifi in the rooms.
On the downside:
The breakfast is not amazing, very very simple stuff (one cake, usually a bit dry, eggs, ham and cheese). The juice is not fresh, it's artificial. No lunch or dinner provided, you have to buy your own stuff, which is cool, every room has its on terrace you have privacy and the sunset is right in front of you.
There is no umbrella near the pool or on the terrace which is very annoying because as much as you enjoy the sun, it gets very hot during the day and I think it's really a must that the owner should invest on.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have just returned from a weeks stay at Balcony. It was fantastic from start to finish. Tony our host and his team were so accomodating and helpful. His welcome was geniune and made us feel at home immediately. The uninterupted view was unspolit and breathtaking You can be sure to enjoy the sunset with your glass of Vinsanto from the comfort of your lounger and no crowds. The accomodation was charming balancing the traditional style with modern comforts and beautiful attention to detail including fresh flowers in our room. The room service was every day and everything was immaculate. there is an authenic taverna at the end of the road which served delicious traditional food and a picturesque short walk along the cliff brought you to Iris a family run Taverna with breathtaking views. There is a bus stop just benind Balcony which you can get to Oia in 15 minutes and Fira in 10 minutes. This is an undiscovered jewel of Santorini if you want beauty, peace, comfort and charm this is the place for you..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I've been meaning to write this review for a while now, but I am just getting the time right now, so better late than never!
My wife, 1 year old son, and I stayed here last year in May (2011). It was low tourist season in Greece and we had the hotel almost all to ourselves. This was wonderful! We had been slightly worried about how our baby would react to the time difference, crying, moodiness, etc. so we asked to be put in a room a bit away from everyone else so that if he got loud it wouldn't bother any other guests. Mr. Sacrates was so kind and said that he was sure that our room was perfect. It was! I'm guessing that he had already thought about "the baby factor" when he saw that we had reserved a baby bed for our room.

Our room was more like a suite than a normal room, it had a little kitchen and a big bathroom, and the bedroom was just lovely. We were really happy about the little kitchen set up as we had to make and wash our sons night time bottle. So that was perfect. Socrates even gave us free milk for the first night because we had forgotten to buy some before the stores closed.

In all I would just like to say that yes, we chose to stay there because of the view on the caldera, pool pics and all, but we will return there because the people are what makes this place different from all the other hotels on the rim. Just plain Good People.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santorini's Balcony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santorini's Balcony

Address: Thira-Oia Road | On the famous Caldera, Imerovigli, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Specialty lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santorini's Balcony 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Santorini's Balcony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santorini`s Balcony Hotel Imerovigli
Santorini's Balcony Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santorini's Balcony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.