We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning scenery, service and sophistication” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Santorini Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grace Santorini Hotel to your Saves list
Grace Santorini Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery, service and sophistication”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Just got back after one week's holiday at the Grace. From the moment we were received and greeted to our final farewell, we experienced first class service. A rare combination of high level attention without pretence and insincerity. The location is one of the best that we have experienced, as was the design and level of detail of the hotel. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff, even ordering our favourite Tanqueray No10 for our Martinis (thank you, Yannis). The hotel is superbly managed by Joseph and Martina, who exude such pride in their job. The chef (although not all typical Greek cuisine) is a young master. Many thanks to you all.
Derek & Michael

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    22
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
239
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

The Santorini Grace was near enough perfect from the minute we walked in. The setting is beautiful, our room (honeymoon suite booked as a special treat) was fantastic and the staff and service was excellent. I have to say the staff really made it very special, from Spyros, the bar manager to Dan, our waiter on a couple of occasions, they made us feel so welcome and offered a service that was beyond my expectations without them being too familiar / over-friendly.
We stayed two nights and had dinner on our private terrace / balcony the first night, which was probably one of the best meals we'd had in Greece (we'd been to Mykonos and Paros before santorini) and although we had planned to eat out in Imoverigli the second night, we ended up eating at the restaurant by the infinity pool as it looked so inviting. Again, food was lovely. I would highly recommend this to anyone and was not aware that some rooms were near a public footpath (see previous review). Perhaps on that note it is worth asking for a room that is fairly private.
Room service was immaculate, little treats like fruit kebabs and ice tea cocktails offered when by the pool a nice touch. We got engaged and as soon as the staff found out we were being offered champagne left right and centre! It was just wonderful and you cannot beat the view. Highly recommned a trip to Ia, further north of the island, but don't waste your time on Thira/Fira - cheap and nasty market town. Firostefani, next door to Imoverigli is also lovely, shame I can't comment on Imoverigli as we stayed in the hotel the whole time as it was so nice! Go, you won't regret it, and a good tip (so the waiter told us) is to go in September when prices are halved and probably more affordable....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

AVOID the Grace if you want guaranteed romance and privacy!!! The Santorini Grace is wonderful if you have a room that is NOT on the public hiking trail/pathway, BUT, if you have a room directly on the public pathway (about 10 to 15 of the ~60 rooms) you will have absolutely no privacy.

When we arrived at the Santorini Grace, we were put in a suite that was directly on a public walkway. Our door was literally 3 to 4 feet from a public walkway, close to a little tourist-stop church which had a patio where hikers would hang out, and was also the entrance to a popular hiking trail. At different times, we saw many people lingering on the patio for upwards of 30 minutes to an hour, including groups taking pictures and chatting, a group of children playing, a couple making out, etc...

Having strangers walking by/hanging out/taking pictures all day, literally 3-10 feet from our balcony, rendered our plunge pool, and entire balcony totally useless. I was completely shocked that the hotel had built their rooms right down to the public trail. (I believe these were the newly built rooms.) The adjoining hotels that we could see (many charging less per room) did NOT build their rooms all the way down to the public trail.

The response from the female manager was that "this is Santorini, you don't have privacy anywhere here", but that was ABSOLUTELY NOT TRUE, and was also a very annoying response. Yes, the hotels in Oia and Fira were close together, but when we walked through these two vilages we could NOT see directly into any of the hotel rooms. There were a couple of other (cheaper looking) Imerovigli hotels that had pool areas directly on the public pathway, but this was certainly not true a the majority of Santorini caldera hotels. Also, our room was one of three rooms that was directly across from a little church with a patio where groups of tourists would congregate.

At the Grace, in the rooms along the pathway, anyone walking along the trail could actually SEE DIRECTLY INTO THE ROOM. Passersby had a direct line of sight to our bed, and even into the bathroom, from the trail. It seemed to us, like the Santorini Grace must have gotten greedy, and over-expanded-- building one level too close to the public pathway, and creating a VERY bizarre, uncomfortable, anti-romantic, and possibly unsafe set-up.

Because we wanted to be able to keep our shutters and windows open, we asked to be downgraded to a less-nice room that was not directly on the public walkway. After we moved to the smaller, but more private room, we had a great time. Other hotel guests, and hotel staff could see our balcony, but that was completely fine! We really enjoyed the small balcony, and spent a good amount of time on it-- eating breakfast or watching the sunset, drinking in the spectacular views.

If we had checked into the smaller room directly (not on the public trail), we would have absolutely loved the Santorini Grace, and probably have given it a very good to excellent rating. The staff was lovely-- everyone was knowledgeable, helpful, and extremely nice. The infinity pool was beautiful and dramatic. Unfortunately, our experience with the female manager, and the public-trail-adjacent room really soured us on the Grace.

Overall, we LOVED Santorini and highly recommend visiting, but emphatically recommend finding somewhere other than the Grace to stay, unless you can guarantee your room won't be on the public pathway. The Grace gets a terrible rating, because being in a room where we had to keep the windows closed for privacy, and wouldn't have been able to use our balcony, would have majorly detracted from our experience. If you can't keep your windows and balcony doors open, what's the point of paying to stay on the caldera?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I'm not really sure where to start with my praise of the Grace hotel. First things first, if you are planning a honeymoon make your destination Santorini. It is hard to believe that a place this beautiful exists.

I'll start with the location of the hotel. We traveled to Oia and Fira during our stay and I have to say that Imerovigli is definitely the place to stay if you want peace and quiet. When we arrived on the first day and were escorted to our room my wife and I couldn't believe how quiet it was on the property.

The Room: I was very impressed with the quality and size of the rooms. I've traveled to several European countries and these were the largest rooms by far that we have stayed in. We were in one of the honeymoon suites. The first one we were in was on the very bottom of the property. It was very nice, but they were having some trouble with the A/C in the room. Being typical Americans we asked to be moved rooms. They couldn't the first night, but were very accommodating when another honeymoon suite opened up the next day. Honestly the only time it was uncomfortable was during the day, and we were fine with a fan blowing on us at night. The second room they moved us to was even better, and a little more secluded than the first. Sunset views from any of the rooms are amazing! Better than in Oia!

Food: We ate at several places on the recommendation of the hotel and they were all great, but some of the best food we had was at the hotel restaurant. My wife and I enjoyed every meal we ate at the restaurant. Breakfast was great, and we had it in the room one morning, but its hard to beat the view of the dining area.

Service: This is where the Grace hotel really stands out to me. Everyone on the staff was amazing, and they always had a smile on their face. My wife was in need a doctor (minor illness) and they called one and he came straight to our room. When he prescribed medicine they even sent someone to the pharmacy to pick it up for us! No request was too much, and they really made it feel like a home away from home.

I can't say enough about the Grace Hotel. Our five days there were perfect. We plan on going back as soon as we can. Also, if are looking for something to do please go on a boat excursion with Santorini Sailing. It was the best day we spent on the island!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I would start by saying the island especially where the santorini grace is i.e Imerovigli is a great canvas on which to paint a picture and its location on the cliff face of the caldera is stunning but that still leaves room for slip ups but the grace makes none. Chic, quietly attentive and beautiful are easy adjectives to apply to this hotel which offers an fabulous level of luxury without being stuffy. Clean sheets everyday and a plunge pool outside every room are a small insight into the 'no stone left unturned mentality' that purveys throughout. Breakfast is a feast of things both Greek and international (recommend the strapatsada and tahini oatmeal) served against a backdrop of the sea and the surrounding volcanic islands by a team of staff who genuinely seem to care about making your stay as pleasurable as possible. The team spirit they have cemented amongst themselves is infectious and only adds to the impression that this hotel is as close to paradise as you will find in these Greek isles. The restaurant which shares that same romantic setting provides great food but another mark of their desire to please is having bought picnic food for a dinner on our balcony they were more than happy to provide plates and cutlery not something all establishments would happily swallow. I would add as an island a week is probally plenty time to explore all it has to offer but if reading, eating, swimming, strolling and dozing are all you are looking to achieve you could probally spend a year here. Its true the walk from the road to the hotel involves a fair few steps but if you cant hack the the effort for the unfolding treat you receive in return I would respectfully suggest you are either tired of life or spoilt to the point of blindness. A return trip is as guaranteed as the stunning nightly sunsets

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I suppose my fascination with the Greek Islands started with the 'Shirley Valentine' movie but didn't do anything about it until 'Mama Mia' (despite the dreadful casting of Pierce Brosman). It all looked too good to be true - so out of the chosen film locations I chose Santorini and based on the awards and TA feedback I booked the Grace. Good decision!! It is a lovely, lovely hotel built into the side of steep cliff bang in the centre of the Caldera with 180 degree views across the Caldera to Oia and Fira. All those pictures you see in the guide books of white walled buildings hanging over a cliff with the brightest sunset visible to the naked eye is all here. But what make the place really special is the people. Smiley, helpful, happy people who make you feel special in an honest, non- sycophantic way. From your hosts, Joseph and Martina, to the bar/restaurant/pool staff led by Spyros (top man!), Spyros (chef), Clio, Phillipe, Yannis and the rest of the guys there to Alex and Vasis in the reception/concierge roles. Faultless. Go there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed at Santorini grace before in september 2008 when it had only 9 rooms and one pool. So we were curious how it looked like with double the size and the new infinity pool. We loved also our second stay here, although it lost a bit its cozy, familiar style (it's still a small boutique hotel!). The clientel are couples of all age groups. The scene is relaxed, not as hip as in the hotel in Mykonos but still stylish.
We asked for the same room as last time (now room 63) on the lowest level opposite the little church and with a small pool. We liked this room because you have full view of the sea, skaros rock and are far from the rest of the hotel. Yes, there are people passing by on their way to skaros rock so you don't have full privacy but this didn't bother us. Some other rooms in the new hotel section have bigger pools but are closer together and the room architecture is less charming than in the old part. I think no room has 100% privacy but all have stunning view of the caldera.
The new pool has a dramatic setting and is the best part of the hotel. They should add some more loungers and umbrellas though there are not enough for all guests. Food quality increased much since our last stay and is now on a good level. We had several times lunch and dinner at the hotel, especially we enjoyed dinner on our terrasse in front of the room while watching sunset, magical! For breakfast you can select from a vaste menu including champagne. Our only negative point here is, that we and all other guests waited sometimes more than 30 minutes to be served. This was not the fault of the waiter but because there were just not enough waiters to serve all guests at the same times. They had many rooms services for breakfast so they were even more busy. Beside this, the service is still very good and the waiters friendly and helpful. Over all, we would choose this hotel again for its design, its view and the good service and staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Santorini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Santorini Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#17 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grace Santorini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Santorini, of Grace Hotels Group, is an exclusive luxury boutique hotel in a spectacular location high on the Caldera. It has been designed to integrate perfectly with its unique environment and offers 180 degrees unobstructed views. From its setting on the exclusive Imerovigli hillside in northwest Santorini, guests can enjoy the famed Aegean sunsets over the Cyclades. This graceful property with its individually styled suites and bedrooms appeals to those seeking the ultimate romantic escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grace Santorini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santorini Grace Imerovigli
Hotel Santorini Grace
Grace Santorini Hotel Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Santorini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.