We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Santorini Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grace Santorini Hotel to your Saves list
Grace Santorini Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I really can't say enough about The Grace Santorini. My husband and I stayed here this fall for four nights and were truly blown away by everything. We were looking for a nice getaway and though were were initially worried about the price tag (it's spendy), we thought everything about our experience was perfect and absolutely worth it. If you are looking to treat yourself, look no further.

We got the "shared" transfer from the hotel which we had to ourselves both to and from the hotel. The driver arrived with water and cool towels and narrated our route for us as we drove. Upon arrival the lovely hostess, Dora, greeted us with champagne and brought out a map and gave us lots of suggestions of things to do. She then showed us all of the facilities and our room. We were also greeted by Joseph the manager who could not have been more friendly. He made a point to say hello to us each day and also gave us great suggestions of things to do (watching the sunrise at Ancient Thira is a must if you're a morning person!).

We were fairly active, renting an ATV and heading to Eros beach one day (spectacular) and going on a small boat cruise another day. These and other smaller excursions were all suggested to us by the fabulous staff. However, if you want complete and total relaxation, you can have it at The Grace. There's a spa and many of the rooms have dunking pools, not to mention the main pool, which is breathtaking. They also made all of our restaurant reservations and generally took of everything we needed. Speaking of restaurants, the food at the resort was hands down the best we had on the island. Really excellent for breakfast (the yogurt!), lunch (the tomato anchovie pizza!), and dinner (the tomato, shrimp orzo!). Spiro, the bartender even attempted to teach us some Greek (we're miserable at it, but he was very patient). Absolutely a five star experience and worth the expense!! We would definitely return and will look for other Grace properties when we want to spoil ourselves!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a dunking pool if possible. Also, not a good place for people who have trouble wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    23
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
244
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

... in location, service, comforts, rooms, breakfast, restaurant.

After visiting Mykonos Grace and loved it, we decided to visit Grace at Santorini. The hotel is stunning although it is not at all recommended for disable or people with kinetic problems, because of the stairs. But for all the rest is the best.

The small individuals pools, the majestic sunset and the discreet service on our balcony made our stay memorable. We have been in October last year and I can tell you that it was more enjoyful than the summer period. The colors of the sky, the clouds and the grey-blue sea shades that were reflecting the sky made every image unique. Peaceful, quiet, generous, an overall excellent experience.

Our only complaint was the tea temperature. The water was not hot enough, none of the 3days. When we asked them why, we got an answer that never heard before, but I believe was honest. They were doing it for security reasons to prevent serious burnings or injuries in case of an accidental water fall on us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Belated review from our Honeymoon September 2010. It was the end of their season when we stayed. The view of the Caldera was stunning and we could enjoy it from our jacuzzi. Everything was top notch, food, attention to detail, service. We can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

from the moment we were greeted in the square above the hotel by the porter at Grace Santorini, we knew we had chosen the right place to stay. check in was a breeze and took place overlooking the aegean sea. we met the hotel manager and was offered a glass of champagne and a refreshing towel. we were then told we had been upgraded from a deluxe room to one of the honeymoon suites. this was a delightful surprise for us and they were so generous and genuine about the upgrade. the service at the hotel is faultless. we would go for breakfast every morning and be greeted by the restaurant manager and his staff with cheerful smiles and friendly but not intrusive service. the breakfast menu changed daily and there was a huge variety of sweet and savoury dishes on offer, as well as a selection of beverages. whilst we were enjoying our champagne breakfast with a picture perfect view, house keeping timed their duties perfectly and when we walked back down to our room each morning after breakfast, our room had been made up. we also dined at the Grace for dinner on our last night and the food far exceeded any food we ate on Santorini and it exceeded our expectations of hotel food. it was delicious, fresh, presented nicely and the perfect portions. this hotel should be an exemplar to all other hotels. could not fault it in any way, except for that they make it so hard for you to leave at the end of such an amazing stay! can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: room with a private pool is fantastic. ones further away from reception and the pool offer more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Most stunning place iv stayed! Perfect in every way. Can't wait to go back stay again. Rooms are a great size, we had a plung pool inside and out. Highly recommend to anyone. Quiet and peaceful for couples. Perfect for a honeymoon

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having chosen Santorini to be the detination for our 35th wedding anniversary we were beyond excited about what this new destination would bring. Upon arrival into the airport in Santorini we were a bit surprised when the manager of our hotel was waiting to explain that she had a surprise for us. Instead of staying at the resort we have reserved they had moved us for one not to an upgraded suite at The Grace. To say that the surprise brought concern would be an understatement but that turned into we could not have been more surprised at the beauty, the facilities and most importantly the staff at The Grace.

Each greeted us by name and introduced themselves starting with George the manager. A nice touch that more resorts should follow. The room was speactacular with every amenity and a high level of finish. The pool was among the most beautiful in the world we had ever experienced. An infinity pool that truly looked into infinity. This part of the island was much higher than Oia where we would spend the balance of our trip and that brought a completely different perspective to the caldron.

In the end we would recommend The Grace to anyone wanting to truely relax in a place where every view and every picture could be a postcard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have read the amazing Tripadvisor reviews before but I could never imagine that such an amazing hotel with a top world-class service could exist in Greece (which unfortunately lacks a lot in the hotel service and facilities). We stayed for 4 days in Grace Santorini : 3 days in a Deluxe Room with Plunge Pool and 1 day in a Junior Suite with Plunge Pool . Unfortunately all of the higher room categories were fully booked at the time of our booking (4 months before) – we initially wanted the VIP suite.


I had some doubts before I made the reservation concerning the location since I had never been to Santorini. I was not quite sure if Imerovigli was the right choice to stay in Santorini in order to enjoy the best views. I thought Oia would have the best views, since it is alsofamous for the most beautiful sunset but I was completely wrong. Imerovigli actually is situated in the highest point of Santorini and has some views really out-of-this-world. I really doubt that they exist worldwide more breathtaking views that the ones that Santorini offers – and especially the ones from Grace Santorini. The mountain in front of Grace (Skaros Mountain) looks ugly in the pictures but its really impressive live. As other users have already mentioned be prepared to walk a lot of stairs. This is not a problem of the hotel of course but it is due to the nature of the caldera of Santorini. In any case Imerovigli actually was the best choice to stay in Santorini not only because of the amazing views , but also because it was much more quieter and less touristic than Oia (where the huge numbers of tourists can get annoying).

The hotel is not very big and has a great modern minimal design. The pool area of the hotel is stunning. We could stay there for hours gazing the incredible views. This is especially amazing during breakfast time (which is taken in the same area). The breakfast is a fixed menu that they change every single day (they leave the printed menu in your room on the night before – a nice touch). However you can always order whatever you like if you don’t like the things in the menu. I loved also the fact that due to the exclusive feel of the hotel and the small size it the pool/dining area never got crowded. Especially during sunset or during breakfast the pool area had very few hotel guest (during the noon it got fuller) so it felt amazingly private the entire scenery.

The deluxe room with a plunge pool was amazing and had a really huge bathroom. On the other hand the junior suite, although being a higher category, it was not at all better that the deluxe room. Actually this is the only issue I could make during my stay. The size of the junior suite was slightly bigger (it had a very small seating area), however the bathroom was smaller and the most crazy thing is that the plunge pool was smaller as well (comparing to the plunge pool of the deluxe room)! In addition the junior suite didn’t offer any privacy at all because the street that goes to Skaros Mountain literally passed from the entrance of our room (I also don’t know safety-wise if this could be an issue). This happens with all rooms in the lower side of the hotel that directly face the street to Skaros. To be fair this is an issue that most Santorini hotels face (privacy is a no-no at Santorini since all hotels are literally built next to each other). Nevertheless we felt that the room of the smaller category was similar – if not a bit better- than the Junior Suite we got on our last day of our stay. In any case the stay to both rooms was excellent but I had to mention this in order to select your room wisely.

Just to be clear the private plunge pools are small in size but they all have some stunning views and they are heated as well. Actually on our deluxe room pool the water was not as warm as the plunge pool we had in our junior suite (maybe the heating system war operating better in the latter). Therefore since the plunge pool of the Junior Suite was very well heated it was really wonderful to stay there for the sunset.

The service at Grace Santorini was really immaculate. First of all, most of the personnel knew you after the second day. The assistant manager Georgia is amazing and actually gave us some extremely helpful advises in order where to and where not to go (the latter was really useful since we avoided some tourist ‘traps’). Everyone who works at Grace is extremely polite and tries to help with really everything you want. I want to applaud them as well for the small touches they provide: for example one day we didn’t wake up early for breakfast and the guy from the bar came to our room to offer us some coffee. The down service is really great as well since they offer you a different kind of cookies/dessert every day in your room. Oh and I shouldn’t forget the free champagne bottle with a big fruit basket they offer you on the first day of your stay.

One thing you should keep in mind if you don’t know many things about the island is that Santorini is not a beach destination. If you expect amazing, white sand beaches then you will be really disappointed because they do not exist. Due to the volcanic nature of the island you will only find beaches with black sand and not clear waters. For that reason I really recommend to stay in a hotel with an amazing pool area or have a private pool in your room as is Grace Santorini.

Grace Santorini excels in every single aspect. It is very expensive (although this is the norm for most Santorini hotels of this level of luxury) but the magical experience it offers really compensates you. Santorini is an extraordinary island but Grace hotel has made it a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Santorini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Santorini Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#13 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
#16 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grace Santorini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grace Santorini, of Grace Hotels Group, is an exclusive luxury boutique hotel in a spectacular location high on the Caldera. It has been designed to integrate perfectly with its unique environment and offers 180 degrees unobstructed views. From its setting on the exclusive Imerovigli hillside in northwest Santorini, guests can enjoy the famed Aegean sunsets over the Cyclades. This graceful property with its individually styled suites and bedrooms appeals to those seeking the ultimate romantic escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Escapio, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Grace Santorini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santorini Grace Imerovigli
Hotel Santorini Grace
Grace Santorini Hotel Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Santorini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.