We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with a huge potencial” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Peninsula Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1215, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Lod, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice hotel with a huge potencial”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

this is a good hotel with a beautiful location.
the bad:
the hospitality was avarge at best, the "bellboy" didnt even helped us with our luggage (if not for me at least for my 48 KG girlfriend) down the stairs, it was shameful that another guest helped us!! the bartenders were ok but boring, not like other hotels in greece. the food was avarge and the same for the 7 days we ate there. until 23:00 every night there were very noisy activities. there were no bar at the down pool, and every trip to get a drink was 60 stairs up and down. the bar at the beach is not serving anything but beer (we had the all-inclusive program).

the good:
we had free WIFI in the room!!! but i guess because it was close to the lobby...
we had a great room with a gerat view and all new furnture (but not all the rooms like this)and the house keeping was very good and very nice also.

for conclusion, we had a good time at the hotel but for allmost the same price we could have book a 5 stars hotel with a spa and better food and ext`.

i would recomend the staff to compensate with a great hospitality what they lack in facilities (like an in pool, spa, parking, more than 1 bar)

Room Tip: rooms 1000-1007. great view and a free wifi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    169
    86
    44
    23
See reviews for
151
164
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely hotel, wonderful views! Staff friendly and all spoke several languages! Food good, varied and always fresh. Entertainment stopped at a reasonable hour so no late night noise from the bar! Pity the same can't be said for neighbouring hotels! A choice of 3 pools , a sea terrace or two beaches. Nothing not to like! Would return!

Room Tip: Consider all inclusive as only a small resort and not much alternative nearby for food or drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for a week towards the end of august. Had to change rooms due to the noise which didn't cause any problems with the staff. They were always willing to help with even
the smallest of things. Our second room was much quieter. The location is amazing with a couple of nice pebbly beaches only a 5 minute walk away. The pools in the hotel are great. The breakfast was filling. I would definitely come back. Oh, the wifi in the rooms is rubbish so dont even bother trying to get it to work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here from the 3rd to the 21st August. We had a fab time. the views were so beautiful. The staff were great.We are not pushy people and a lot of people on this holiday were rude but I put that down to where they come from. {most were non English speaking) Some of these people expected the staff to wait on them hand and foot. one even raised his big overly large hand and clicked for someone to attend to him. These people need to catch a grip and have some manners. The food was great and always fresh. Yes the food is not overly warm, but I never went hungry.We always had something different most meals and some repeated dishes as we were there so long. The Bar staff were great best is (Petro). Lots of steps- good for exercise. Music played to 12 each nite. I had ear plugs so no complaints. Drinks good. Rooms great and cleaned each day except Sundays. Hotel is very far out of the way so if going on trips take water with you as this can take 2hrs on a bus with all the stops at other hotels. We went on a creation nights and it took 2 hours to get there. Best to hire a car for trips. If hiring a car only need 2 or max 3 days. We drove to the water park and had a great day. Went into Heraklion for a day lovely to visit but so glad we stayed in or hotel as it is very busy. Although the hotel is lovely we did go into the nearest town which is 15 to 20 min walk or a 2 euro bus from the front door. its only a beach front with alot of bars and restaurants but all the food is the same as what you get at the hotel. But nice to go out for a few nights. The hotel entertainment was just ok. Not catered for English speaking people. But still fun. Lots for kids. yes you have to pay 2 euro for each sunbed and umbrella used but we did not care as we spent days down at the jetty its fab. Top pool very noisy with kids and music blasting from speakers. Middle pool area had no bar but the views are just fab, so we went to the jetty which served beer or water for all incl. the view and jumping into the sea from the jetty are amazing we snorkelled each day. Over all this holiday was relaxing and fun and we would go back.

Room Tip: Choose Sea view. Take ear plugs for early nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I just have to say I was staying at Peninsula Hotel from 28.8.-7.9..2013. i just have the best holiday ever!! I have to say all the staff were so helpfull§! And the best the Bar staff (Emir and Pedro) they were realy realy great!!!! I went just on my own and was just great relax! All you need it just there!! If you will have all inclusive it is the best choise and if you want to just realy and in the evenings there were all the entertaiment every night. Or if you just want to you could relax at terace where was so great view to the sea and there where so quiete place!!! I just have to thanky to all the staff at the hotel!!!! Only one tiny little thing the stairs to the beach!!Oh my god!! But after eating all the realy good food it si good to do little sport :-) !! Just for elder people it is little bit hard! Anyway I had such a great time there!! There is even bus coming to the village Agia Pelagia or to the Heraklion directly from the Hotel you just pay 2euros to the village or 3.50 to the Heraklion! But it is worth it!! So I can realy recomend this hotel to every one! I just love there!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We (a family of 4) have just returned from the Peninsula Hotel. We really enjoyed more or less everything about the hotel and location. The food was excellent, accommodation very clean and spacious, and the setting beautiful. The facilities were excellent. The nearby beaches and sea were very clean although a little crowded as this is the height of the season. We found the staff extremely accommodating and helpful. There were no hitches of any sort during our time there. We would very much like to return.

Room Tip: We had a family room that was located near the pool and the beaches. It did require a walk via steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We returned from The Peninsular Hotel earlier this week and were extremely impressed with the hotel. We feel we must defend the hotel management and staff against the comments dated 8 August. We found the bar and catering staff to be helpful, well trained and friendly; the food was good, plentiful and varied with many delicious local dishes. The Reception staff dealt with problems as effectively as they could, though we were disappointed that there was not a spare key to our room – we may be a couple, but are not joined at the hip and sometimes want to go in different directions! Regarding the incident in the Snack Bar toilets – it should be noted that these are unisex and there are no locks on the doors (for some reason) – it was therefore not uncommon for those using them to be disturbed by others.

The Entertainment Team were lively, professional, innovative and thoroughly enthusiastic – we were three generations (ages 9 to 68) and there were plenty of activities that appealed to us all. There was also a great mix of international holiday makers who got along extremely well, despite the different languages – there always seemed to be someone who could translate!

The location of the resort itself is stunning, with views all around and the tiny church close to Reception is worth a visit. The rooms were clean, the air conditioning was efficient and there always seemed to be hot water.

The swimming pool by the restaurant sloped very quickly but even those of us who were less than 6 feet tall coped well, particularly when the Entertainment Team left floats for us to use! There were also three children’s pools, of varying depths for the little ones
.
We were disappointed when asked to vacate the pool for one afternoon to allow it to be prepared for a Baptism party in the evening. There was major confusion by many residents as whilst all the access points to the pool area (and therefore the main route from the Bar to the restaurant) were closed off very politely with white muslin barriers, no “diversion “ signs were evident and that meant travelling various sets of steps up and down to get to where one wanted to be!! We felt somewhat let down on that day because of the restricted access, the lack of entertainment, even before the pool was closed, and a slightly lower standard of food. Although we were forewarned, we did feel that we had been downgraded slightly compared to those attending the party. HUGE PRAISE, though, to the unflappable Maitre D’ who, with his staff, had the pool area ready for use before breakfast the following morning despite a 2 am finish by the party goers!

All in all we felt it was an enjoyable holiday, lovely surroundings and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Not near the pool - can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 1215, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Hotel is located on the North coast of Crete, just 25km from the island’s capital Iraklion. It is situated ideally on a unique location surrounded by the sea offering a breathtaking view. It is within close proximity to most prominent attractions of the island and is the ideal choice for relaxation and comfort away from the stress of everyday life.The hotel’s mission is to offer high-quality services in combination with traditional Cretan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peninsula Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Agia Pelagia
Peninsula Agia Pelagia
Agia Pelagia Peninsula
Peninsula Resort & Spa Crete/Agia Pelagia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.